11/14 Eddie AMPS 409 +4 382 PMPS 412 +4.5 346

He went into SRT at 27u BiD and now he's at 15u. I'm wondering where this is leading as it's been only two weeks post-radiation.
But his over blood sugar numbers were way better at 27 units. He's spending a lot of time over renal threshold now. I hope you can find a dose where he's in good numbers more often. I rather suspect the steep descent as you called it, at 16 units, was more due to a bounce breaking cycle and increase on the same cycle.
 
But his over blood sugar numbers were way better at 27 units. He's spending a lot of time over renal threshold now. I hope you can find a dose where he's in good numbers more often. I rather suspect the steep descent as you called it, at 16 units, was more due to a bounce breaking cycle and increase on the same cycle.
That may be the case re: the 27u, which were pre-SRT. I'm not counting on SRT effects really but I am looking at the fact that while at VCA Eddie's insulin doses were all over the place. I haven't even posted what was happening while he was at that clinic and how haphazard the doses were while at the same time he was getting 3 fractions of SRT. He was then sent home with an increased Prednisolone dose, which he has been on for two weeks. I have just reduced his dose back to pre-SRT numbers so that might need to be factored in here. What really got my attention were the low numbers he registered with the 16u dose, which, for sure, could be simultaneous bounce breaking and increase. I just cannot emphasize enough that there were days at VCA when he was not given insulin, when he was given 1/5 of his regular dose, etc. etc. There's more to say but currently I'm just getting through the anger about the reality of his treatment vs. the actual treatment, which I found out only when I asked the IM vet to request his records as they were not responding to me.

I'm being hopeful (and I'm hoping this is realistic) that he's settling into a better place. Only time (and Eddie) will tell.
 
The SRT was long enough ago that what they did at the clinic doesn't factor into his current dosing. We typically look at just the last couple weeks of numbers. I was comparing his pre SRT numbers (which were pretty good the two weeks before) to now.
 
Back
Top