11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168pmps 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29337&p=301564&hilit=do+Lou#p301564Monday

I am sorry I have been MIA I just had to step back from this board this past week not sure if anyone can understand/relate but it I was starting to really feel bad if I did not have time to visit everyone so I just decided one morning to take a break, and I have been pretty down about Do Lou lately, been busy with the kittens, and in general just trying to spend a LOT less time on the computer. That being said I hope everyone is doing well :mrgreen: WCR he is doing OK not eating as well and we are up to 4U again and well to be honest this entire FD thing has just gotten to me I think a BIG part of it was I had hoped he would maybe be OTJ by this time and of course I doubt thats going to ever happen and as much as I love this cat soooo much I feel so tired down sometimes since DH and I have not gone anywhere in over a year now but then I feel so guilty for feeling this way since Do Lou is my number one boy.... anyway I think I have just had too much stress and going bk to work just sucked big time.
All P's in place and kittens and Lily are doing well.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((Lisa)))

No apologies needed. I did wonder where you were, though so it's good to hear from you and know the kittens and Do Lou are doing well. To be honest, as much as I'm on the Board, there are days when I do take breaks and my posting is very limited. You need to take care of yourself so you can take care of your kittens, other cats, and Do Lou. There's only so much energy to go 'round.

Don't ever lose hope. Do Lou may go OTJ or maybe not. And, he may go OTJ and need to go back on insulin at some point. These are cats and they do what they want in their own time and in their own way. In other words, they are in the lead in this sugar dance -- we just have to learn to follow. It's humbling.

I can totally relate. I've curtailed a great deal of travel for work/professional purposes to say nothing of travel for pleasure. But, those are my choices. I suspect you would hard pressed to give up the kind of bond that has evolved between you and Do Lou as a result of his FD. The primary reason this is so hard is because you care so much about Do Lou.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((((Lisa))))
its ok to take a break, you need it, and you know that LL is always here for you.

Do Lou and your furry family are very lucky to have you and DH as parents. Don't ever forget that.
(((((((((((major hugs)))))))))))
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((Lisa)))
Never feel bad about taking a break....we do miss you and hope you are ok but we all need a break.
Our lives do change to care for a diabetic kitty. I have found a few vet techs that will come over to shoot Putty when we need some time off. It took a while to find them but it was well worth the wait and the cost to allow us a full day out in hopes of having one of them stay overnight with Putty some time down the road. As much as we love our kitty's it is important for you to have a little bit of a life also.

You are such a good caretaker of Do Lou. I hope things get easier for you very soon.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

((((((((((Lisa)))))))))) We missed you! I know the feelings all too well, I think we all feel the same. It's like the board as well as the FD is taking over our live . Friends and family can't relate and so we turn even more to the support we get here. There are several others I've seen drift away, I probably should too, but we have all become so close. But there is life out there and we can't hide from that either.

Take care of yourself and DoLou. We are glad when you can join us, but understand when you can't.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

I'm sorry you've been feeling down and tired. I understand you breaking away for a bit. I'm glad you have those cute little kittens to help cheer you up. I wouldn't mind having some cute little kittens to give me an extra smile a day :-D

That +3.5 is a nice blue. I hope he continues to come on down nice and slow, and you find ways to enjoy your day.

When I have had to go away for a day or more, I've always found a way (although somewhat inconvenient) to bring J.D. along with me. Like he's my kid. Which he is :-D

It's nice to see you Lisa. Come on Do Lou, make your ma happy :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

Hi Lisa - I can totally relate to what you said and are feeling. I think taking a break is a good thing. Bottom line: do what is best for you & DoLou. I have been less than active commenting in other's condo, just barely getting mine posted. As my sister says: Oh well. We all understand, can relate, & have limits. Sometimes this rollercoaster ride is so depressing but always remember Scarlet: Tomorrow is another day! And, in addition to getting worse, things can get better too....take care. Susan
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((Lisa))) You just passed your one year mark, no? Ours was in early August. :YMSIGH:

I guess I don't have too many cheery words to say....but if it is any comfort to you, I am in the same mood lately. Does sadness love company as much as they say misery does? I always had a glimmer of hope since Raja went OTJ last Dec...I had a glimmer of hope that Shadow would find himself in better shape and maybe, maybe follow one day.

Well, the Honeymoon is over for Raja after 9 months and Shadow is still being crazy with his numbers.

Wha-Wha...Debbie Downer...I am beginning to see the years stretch out before me...doing this same routine forever. I know that he is enjoying good health and for that, I am very thankful.
BUT....
So many newly dx people come and go and here we sit. Doing the same thing over and over again. The intensity of the treatment is taking a different flavor nowadays since I have been not seeing that glimmer that I once hoped for. That glimmer of hope that he will go OTJ...or that Raja's efforts will ever be a lasting OTJ. So, I know how you feel right now I think....

We don't know what the future holds for Do Lou and Shadow...or even Raja. We keep doing what we need to do to keep them safe and happy. For myself, I am going to try to fit in a little more time for myself....for my health. I am not feeling too well lately...something crept up while I was focused on something else I guess.

I do know a few things though. After reaching that one year mark, I had to take stock with some soul searching. I realized that no mater what the future holds, my two and I have become very close. I have learned so much about FD as well as so many other things. They are healthier...and I am more in tune and in touch with them. I will keep on doing what needs to be done FOR them....no matter what. So maybe my thoughts of OTJ were pipe dreams...maybe not. Who really knows? It won't be the first time that things didn't turn out as Patty had hoped... :lol:
Time will tell. But, for myself and my two, we are in a much better place than we were in the past......

I am sorry about the going back to work...and I am sorry that the year has passed for you two too....but we are among people who understand us and what we are doing. We have a close community here...can you imagine what it would be like without LL?? We laugh and we all cry together...so I am here with you today. Hey there is a neat Ledge that we can go to to retreat....I haven't been up there in awhile...I think I need some Ledge time. I will be up there if you want to join me. We can have a one year hangover party....okay? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

Lisa, I'm glad you took a bread, but I missed you. :YMHUG: FD can get anyone down. The others are right, you need to take care of yourself and not give up your life. I think you should train DS to test and shoot or find a pet sitter that will test and shoot and go on a trip with DH. You can't put your life on hold no matter how much you love Do Lou. Blackie has been diabetic for almost 6 years and now with his other health issues, he consumes a lot of my time, attention and worry. But I have found a sitter (my SIL) and we are going to Hawaii in January. Sometimes we just need to have our batteries recharged. I hope Do Lou's numbers come down and that you're feeling better soon. ((((Lisa))))
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

NO! NO! NO! on feeling any guilt, lisa!

we've missed you too...but can totally relate to the guilt over not getting to all condos. it's been a struggle here too (cuz i'm so long-winded) but every time i miss someone's condo i feel like i'm missing out or ignoring someone i care about...and there are a lot of us here in the family!

and here's something i havent shared with anyone yet...i'm finding it hard to post binks' run of good numbers when i know how many folks have been dealing with this for so long and are not seeing the good results that we seem to be enjoying right now.
it feels like celebrating when others are not as fortunate.

all i can tell you is you need to take time for lisa as well as Do Lou...and we can only offer you our support and caring.

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

((((Lisa))))

There really are no apologies needed. I know exactly how you feel. I am sure that any of us that have been at this for a while know the feelings. We all need a break - know for sure that I do too. There are days when I just can't spend my day here. Know too the days when I feel bad because I can't get to so many people. We've been at this for close to 2.5 years for Mannie. I too had dreams of OTJ, now I'm not so sure. I doubt that Mannie will ever make that, but then again you just don't know. I do know that he is healthier than he has ever been, and for that I am grateful. We too haven't had time away in those 2.5 years, can't imagine how that will change. I've substituted - days trips when I can. Know too that old friends cannot relate what it is like to deal with FD - they all get that glazed over look whenever I bring him up, wonder why I bother for "just a cat". no - way more than just a cat. Silly misguided folks. I am grateful for the board, for people who are in the same boat. And I remember all to well what it is like to deal with this, and work at the same time.

I am glad that the kitties are well, Do Lou is healthy. you take care, feel better soon. I have missed you here!
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

((((((Lisa)))))))

We've missed you!! And I've been wondering about DoLou.

I'm glad you took some time for yourself.....that is good and healthy.

I'm also glad you felt comfortable sharing w/us how you were feeling. We understand and we care about you!!!!!!


Lots of hugs for you and DoLou.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

Lisa, it's fine to take breaks from the board, I think everybody has to do that sometimes. We all do have a life, and need to live it. I agree with Miriam and Ele, you should find someone to test and shoot for you and get away with DH...even if it's just overnight, it's a start. If you are worried about someone else shooting, reduce the dose while you're gone....he will get back on track. It's important, you deserve it and you need to do it...you can't take care of anybody else if you don't take care of yourself FIRST.

We just passed 6 months, it looks like we're heading the same direction. I see how much better Tinkles feels and I do enjoy knowing that all of the effort I put in iS making him feel great...so that is rewarding for me. I have very deliberately not gotten my hopes up for OTJ from the beginning......if it happens, it's icing on the cake. I know that many people do all the right things and work very hard and it just doesn't happen. It's not something that is completely under our control....we do the best we can, and if it is meant to be, it will be.

Hang in there Lisa...
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

Lisa :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: we all totally understand...I hope everyone has made you feel better. It is so tough to balance FD/work/life/family relations/friends and also for you kittens. We always miss anyone who is gone for a bit but we are always here and understand....it is time consuming keeping up with everyone but we are always drawn back because we understand more than anyone. I'm sorry you are feeling so discouraged about Do Lou...I think we all have those hopes and dreams of OTJ but sometimes we just have to focus on the day at hand. We all care so much for you and DL...funny how those bonds form. But pls take care of yourself..we will be here.
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((Lisa)))

I'm glad to see you here. Sometimes when we're down, it helps to talk it out with people who walk in our same shoes. No apologies necessary, we all understand exactly how you're feeling. I don't have time to get to as many condos as I wish, sometimes life gets in the way.

I didn't realize it had been DL's recent anniversary since is Dx. It is only normal that a big date like that would get you down.

It would be good if you can find a helper so that you and DH can get away. It's important for couples to spend some "me time" together.

hope to see you again soon, if you ever need a shoulder, I'll cry right along with you.

(((Lisa and Do Lou)))
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

well you guys have been just crying all over the keyboard.... makes me realize how much I miss all of you even though I needed to step away for a bit and like many of you pointed out I am very thankful for this board and the help it has given us for Do Lou is much better now then he was a year ago or even when he first started lantus I hate it when I feel like I am being I guess selfish in a way for I so want to get away for just a weekend and then the guilt comes for fear something might happen while we are gone I think we still may try in Dec to go to TN and take him with me to see how it goes since DS is still not real comfortable with shot giving but maybe I will have convinced him by then to do this for me who knows I am sure part of my problem is approaching holidays which I love but also get really stressed about so honestly I think I have maybe just had too much stress lately and not enough relax time who knows but I want to thank all of you sooooooooo much you have really made me feel so much better today ((((((((((HUGS)))))))) to all of you
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

(((((lisa)))))
i'm coming to this late, but wanted to add my hugs to the others.

the ups and downs... it's a lot to handle because we care so much. i enjoyed almost 3 years with alex otj, then back on insulin, off again, and now back on since march. it does help to find someone who can test and shoot so you can get away every once in awhile. i finally found someone to do that this past year. other than that, we take all four of our kitties with us when we travel by car. they've adapted better than i ever thought they would.

please take time for yourself whenever you can. you're important, too!
 
Re: 11/14 Do Lou amps262+3.5 168

((((Lisa)))) Like everyone, I can relate too. Have you seen me on the board as much lately as I used to be? Nope, I've needed time away too. I do at least check in most days, but I can't spend hours each evening here anymore. Other things were starting to suffer and I had to look for balance. I'm not sure I've found it yet, but I'm getting closer.

Pssssst... don't tell anybody, with Lucy I was all nose to the grindstone, but with Jazzy I have actually skipped a shot or two so I could go out and play. She survived. Lucy used to go to my parents' house with me when I would go for holidays (3 hour drive). She hated the ride and didn't love being stuck in the guest room at their house, but she survived. It *is* harder to leave home, but it is possible. I have also become more creative about finding things to do close to home.
 
I just checked out your website and saw the video of Do Lou. He's such a beautiful precious boy. And also viewed your other videos....So how did you get the one kitty in the bathtub full of bubbles? Too funny.....And the kitten playing w/the drooler's toy....what a hoot. All you furbabies are so fortunate to have wonderful place in your home and your heart.

Still giving you lots of hugs today Lisa.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top