11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-57

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Yes, sadly Cassanova is back on the juice hopefully just temporarily. At least this go round I know exactly what caused him to lose remission. Steroids! Two days ago, while I was preheating the oven and had a big pot of stew on the stove. The big guy decided to jump up on the counter and then walk on the stove to see what smelled to good that mommy was cooking. This little adventure got him two burned front feet. So off to the vetty bean to get the damage looked at, while the burns aren't serious the salve that I got for them does contain a small amount of steroids, and it is just one of those things that while the paws are healing I'm just going to have to shoot around. Sigh!

I feel bad that it happened at all, I keep forgetting that he doesn't have the same manners as the rest of the Fur Gang and I let my guard down while there was a real and present danger to him going on. Just I have gotten so use to my other kids knowing that counters and especially the stove is a no-no for kitties that I wasn't thinking about the fact that I have one in the house that is a counter climber. It took a blink of an eye for him to go from yapping at me and following me around to on the stove and burned. Just that quick, I saw him set up for the leap, scolded him, and then turned my back for a split second to run into the pantry to grab something. He's been so good about not getting on things he shouldn't or if he is thinking about getting on stuff and me just scolding him and then him taking that scolding to heart and not doing what he just got into trouble for that I assumed (ya I know what happens when you assume) that he would again forget the idea of getting on the stove..I was wrong!

So for now, I'm back to shooting two. Although my vet seemed to think he would be fine just to let him heal and for the steroids to leave his system before starting him back on insulin. I, personally, think that since I have in my arsenal the tools to both help his pancreas control the extra blood sugar and to keep him safe while he is on it and catch when and if he starts back towards OTJ it is just silly not to use them. His paws are already damaged because he decided to be a stinker, I can't see any reason to also allow him to run the risk of organ damage because of elevated BGs. Even if they are steroid induced.

Autumn on the other hand, is well Autumn..Right now I'm still not sure what length of cycle she wants to run on, since I actually shot her 12/12 yesterday and again this morning because she once again was rising at +12 from last night. So I guess the new game plan is to just chase numbers with her. Assume it's 16/16 but shoot whenever I catch her turning the corner and heading back up. Which is going to make her spreadsheet a nightmare until I can figure out someway to record her data that makes sense. Back to the drawing board.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

I hear you about the counter jumpers. Ace jumped up on the stove on day after I had just taken a pizza out of the oven. He touched the cookie sheet just a little and the warm cook top and took off. He pretty much stays away from the range now, but will go on the granite.

Dallas has become a PIA. he now is getting up on the counter constantly while I try to make breakfast for them. I think I am putting him down more than I am putting the kitten down on the floor.

I am still having a problem with Ace climbing the screens. this morning he took a swipe at the couch. He had caps put on last night, pulled some off by the time we got back from petsmart. He is missing 1 at the moment, but boy he needs to straighten up and fly right or he will be going to the vet!

I think you are doing the right thing being proactive on Cas' numbers.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Poor Cassanova and poor you. prop has done the same thing in her early years and had big blisters and bloddy feet for a while. Bigget problem was the litter box since the litter got in the wounds. Hoping it just for a short while he is back on insulin.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Ya he's not a happy camper right now, as they have his paws wrapped up like a mummy. Which they made look pretty darn easy when they were showing me how to do it when I change the wrappings...Yeah looks easy until you are trying to do it on a 17lbs cat solo and he already doesn't want to sit still and your messing with footsies that hurt.

On the upside, is while I was baking the French bread yesterday he didn't want to be anywhere near me or the oven. Hopefully this is a lesson learned for him and he will remember how bad he felt after he has healed up. Not counting on it though as he is a pretty slow learner. :roll: Especially when it comes to food. That boy is a garbage disposal. About the only thing right now that perks him up is if I say the magic word....Noms! Then he completely forgets his paws hurt and comes trotting to eat, although right now it is kind of funny to watch him walk as he does that famous cat paw shake with each step, because of his now oversized bandaged front paws..

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Poor dude! How scary. I can't imagine trying to re-wrap the bandages! They always make it look easy at the vet. My vet pills my persian with ease. I end up bloody!

Smart of you to keep on top of things.

At the shelter we call those type of cats "dim boys". Sweet sweet cats, but not a whole lot of marbles rolling around.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Poor Cassanova! Kiss better ... cat_pet_icon

I'd do exactly the same with the insulin if one of mine were in a similar boat. In addition to the worry about organ damage, I'd also be nervous of the liver getting a liking for higher numbers again. I hope he heals quickly.

MommaOfMuse said:
Assume it's 16/16 but shoot whenever I catch her turning the corner and heading back up. Which is going to make her spreadsheet a nightmare until I can figure out someway to record her data that makes sense. Back to the drawing board.
I saw a custom spreadsheet set-up by a poster on TR who had it set up with one row per cycle and non-applicable hours on a given cycle greyed out to make it more readable. I've borrowed that idea to do a mock-up of a basic spreadsheet layout that might give you some ideas for Autumn's new spreadsheet layout, Mel. Have a look at the end tab on Saoirse's spreadsheet: it's labelled 'Non-standard Cycles'. There are no stats or colour coding on it. I just included the key headers and some mock data.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Aine,

Woman you are BRILLIANT!!!!! And I swear you can read my mind and actually get what I'm thinking and toying with down in usable form. dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat I'm so stealing this idea..thanks a ton. That just saved me hours of swearing at the computer lol



Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Sorry to hear he's back on the juice :-(

Do you routinely test your kitties that are OTJ in case they need to go back on again? I would not have thought of that.

Juliet
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Glad to be of service! :smile: (Unlike Marvin, who thinks you ought to know he's feeling terribly depressed...)

It's great to be able to do some little thing to help you for a change, Mel. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

KittyMom777 said:
Do you routinely test your kitties that are OTJ in case they need to go back on again? I would not have thought of that.

That's another great thing I find about this place, Juliet: all of the really practical advice that comes from direct experience of the day-to-day care of diabetic cats.

Spot-checking an OTJ cat will alert you to any potential problems coming down the line so you can hopefully stop them in their tracks.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Yes and no, it kind of depends on the cat and how long they have been OTJ. With Cassanova since he was so recently off the juice I was still testing him when I do Autumn. And stepped it up when he got hurt since I already know that steroids can increase BGs as well as pain. So caught him early, I hope. With Maxwell who has been OTJ now for 4 years and counting most of the time no I don't test him anymore with the exception of on is anniversary date of being officially OTJ or whenever he just seems sick or off in any way. Sometimes he is tested as often as once a month, sometimes I'll not test at all for a year. Although he probably gets tested more during the summer months not because of keeping an eye on him as much as He, Autumn and I help out at a summer camp here locally for diabetic kids. We go there every year and give a short presentation on blood glucose monitoring and insulin injections. I use the cats to make it less scary especially for the really young kids and it also seems to give the kids more self confidence and will power because if a little kitty cat can do this and purr through it, then of course they can, after all they are bigger and tougher than a cat. :lol:

Also doesn't hurt at all the Maxwell is a big gentle giant of a cat and loves people, especially children. So he is very willing to let them try out ear pokes and catching blood for testing on his ears as long as they also cuddle and pet him. :-D And give out treats, can't forget the treats! Autumn isn't nearly as fond of little people, but she does love the attention and since she is still insulin dependent and was left untreated for a long time before I adopted her, she is a good example for them about how much of their health they can and will get back if they follow doctor's orders about shots and testing. Hopefully over time she will also get better about having kids handle her like Maxwell, but if not, she is still a great hit at the camp, because she is so soft and pretty, if slightly grouchy at times. She is however probably the better of the two because she is tested so often to have me demo with. Maxwell while easy for the kids to handle and social with everyone, he can be a stinker for me to test, mostly because he's learned test means treats, and summer camp means lots of treats and he is just ready to go collect his treats. Autumn on the other hand will jump to her spot on command and sits quietly during the presentation, while Maxwell is usually walking around doing his best Meet and Greet. Cassanova gets left at home, he's an 8 second ride to test, not because he is mean or dislikes being tested in any way shape or form, but because he actually LOVES it, so much so that he is busy loving me, the meter, any cat that is nearby etc. It can be a rodeo just trying to hang on to an ear of a cat that is busy rubbing himself on every surface near him...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

MommaOfMuse said:
he's an 8 second ride to test, not because he is mean or dislikes being tested in any way shape or form, but because he actually LOVES it, so much so that he is busy loving me, the meter, any cat that is nearby etc. It can be a rodeo just trying to hang on to an ear of a cat that is busy rubbing himself on every surface near him...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yeah, I have that problem with Silver - he's so excited to get his treat that I cant get him to keep still for his testing. Now I have to give him the treat first, then he is calm and sits there while I test!
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

MommaOfMuse said:
Yes and no, it kind of depends on the cat ...

Guess my pancreatitis paranoia is showing. It's going to be a nagging concern for me going forward.


... he's an 8 second ride to test ... It can be a rodeo just trying to hang on to an ear of a cat that is busy rubbing himself on every surface near him...

To be on the safe side, I checked that LĂşnasa's BG was OK after I learned to home test, since she had always been fed dry food, too. She's a bright girl and was really curious about all the stuff at the testing station. The above elicited a "you hum it, I'll play it" response from yours truly. :lol:

... He, Autumn and I help out at a summer camp here locally for diabetic kids. We go there every year and give a short presentation on blood glucose monitoring and insulin injections. I use the cats to make it less scary especially for the really young kids and it also seems to give the kids more self confidence and will power because if a little kitty cat can do this and purr through it, then of course they can, after all they are bigger and tougher than a cat. :lol:

Inspired. And inspiriational! You have a wonderful and generous heart, Mel. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Critter Mom said:
To be on the safe side, I checked that LĂşnasa's BG was OK after I learned to home test, since she had always been fed dry food, too. She's a bright girl and was really curious about all the stuff at the testing station. The above elicited a "you hum it, I'll play it" response from yours truly.

ROFLMAO Every one of the Fur Gang has been tested here at least once for being too nosy when testing a sugar.. Including poor little Miss Lady Jane Grey (Yes, she is named for the 9-day Queen or in her case the 9-lives Queen). who was volunteered one day by yours truly to be the lab rat ummm lab cat for a curve to see what one would look like on a civie. Good thing she is incredibly sweet and not overly bright or maybe just has a very fondness for chicken treats but she sat wonderfully for the whole curve. And in case anyone is wondering a curve on a civie is very very flat. She only went up and down by about 20 pts with food.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

MommaOfMuse said:
... lab cat for a curve to see what one would look like on a civvie ...

That's what I was after as well (in addition to making sure LĂşnasa was OK). I had previously asked on the Health board if anyone could point me in the direction of a curve for a healthy cat so I could understand Saoirse's data better and also have a benchmark to measure her reaction to food cf. a civvie. I got a few replies but they were the message board equivalent of a blank stare. :?

For anyone curious, here are the results from the Noodle's food response mini-curve:

4.6 (83) - BG Pre-meal (about 40-50g low-medium carb, < 7% of calories).
4.8 (86) - +1.75 after food.
4.9 (88) - + 2.75 after food.
4.9 (88) - +4 after food.

The curve was run mid-afternoon. BG measured on Alphatrak 2. (Probably should have snagged a +1 to catch the postprandial rise, but it does show how quickly a civvie processes the carbs from the incoming food.)
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

Critter Mom said:
MommaOfMuse said:
... lab cat for a curve to see what one would look like on a civvie ...

That's what I was after as well (in addition to making sure LĂşnasa was OK). I had previously asked on the Health board if anyone could point me in the direction of a curve for a healthy cat so I could understand Saoirse's data better and also have a benchmark to measure her reaction to food cf. a civvie. I got a few replies but they were the message board equivalent of a blank stare. :?

For anyone curious, here are the results from the Noodle's food response mini-curve:

4.6 (83) - BG Pre-meal (about 40-50g low-medium carb, < 7% of calories).
4.8 (86) - +1.75 after food.
4.9 (88) - + 2.75 after food.
4.9 (88) - +4 after food.

The curve was run mid-afternoon. BG measured on Alphatrak 2. (Probably should have snagged a +1 to catch the postprandial rise, but it does show how quickly a civvie processes the carbs from the incoming food.)

Very interesting, thanks. I once tested my civvie as I wanted to know if the meter was working correctly (kept getting high numbers while the vet was getting lows). She was 4.2. About the same as what a human should be as I also tested on myself!
Juliet
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn ps-208 Cassanova amps-352 He's back

The Noodle got heap big praise and lots of treats for helping so she was a very happy camper. It was a real family moment. Very emotional. ( proud_critter_mom_icon)
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn amps-208. +4-281, +8-175, pmps-250

Well for now the Miss has decided to go back to the standard 12/12 dosing. So maybe her pajama parties were just her catching Full Moon Fever. Yes, folks the full and the New moons do effect some of our sugarcats just like they do the tides.

Now to just get himself back under control again...note to self, check BGs BEFORE changing dressings. :oops: He was 454 tonight but then again I tested after I had changed the dressings on those sore footies. So that could be partly stress and pain influenced...Now to figure out what google account I stuck his stinking spreadsheet on. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn amps-208. +4-281, +8-175, pmps-250

MommaOfMuse said:
So maybe her pajama parties were just her catching Full Moon Fever. Yes, folks the full and the New moons do effect some of our sugarcats just like they do the tides.

That thought had crossed my mind about Saoirse, too. All of my kitties have been moon-sensitive. I am myself.
 
Re: 11/11 Autumn amps-208. +4-281, +8-175, pmps-250

Oh Mel
so sorry about Cass. it's that darn curiosity thing with them !!!
Hope he heals fast.
 
Re: 11/12 Autumn amps-179, Cass amps-86

Yep we seem to be back to 12/12 for Miss Autumn. Oh how she likes to drive momma crazy it must be a tortie thing as Musette was also a tortie and did the same thing. Absolutely refused to read the manual on how to behave like a good sugar cat...My boys have all been easy, not the tortie girls and here I thought it was a guy thing not to read directions..lol

Cass is healing up slowly. But not apparently getting any smarter about not jumping on things. Heard a crash last night and since he was the only one not in the room with us, it had to been him. Went to go look for the source of the crash and found him tangled up in the curtains in the pantry, silly boy had tried to jump up on the mini fridge and look out the high window only to bring curtain and curtain rod down with him. :roll: Graceful he is not on the best of days and now with mittens on his paws he's worse. Speaking of mittens I figured out how to bandage him with out all the fuss, white cotton baby mittens with the little string that connects them. Put salve on, put mittens on run string over back, tape mittens in place and tie string to adjust size...Easy. Of course he looks ridiculous and I'm sure the other cats are laughing behind his back..lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/12 Autumn amps-179, Cass amps-86

Would love a picture of that but it's ingenius!

My cat that pees in my house is influenced by the full moon--she can go weeks without marking, then we notice it happens during the full moon. Sensitive girls!
 
Re: 11/12 Autumn amps-179, Cass amps-86

lak99 said:
Would love a picture of that but it's ingenius!

My cat that pees in my house is influenced by the full moon--she can go weeks without marking, then we notice it happens during the full moon. Sensitive girls!

Hmm - dealing with the cat doing its business in the wrong place myself! not fun to clean up. But I told my kitty last night that I would willingly clean up his poop every day if it meant keeping him with me.
 
Re: 11/12 Autumn amps-179, Cass amps-86

KittyMom777 said:
But I told my kitty last night that I would willingly clean up his poop every day if it meant keeping him with me.

:YMHUG:

Same here. Saoirse's litter box has become one of my best friends. It enables her body to tell me things that her voice can't.
 
Re: 11/12 Autumn amps-179, Cass amps-86

another thing that works great is doll socks. used them on tibbs when he broke his leg . that's how he ended up being my indoor cat. he was an opc that i was feeding and he some how broke his leg. the doll socks worked great.
 
Re: 11/13 Autumn amps-335, Cass amps-345

I'm chalking last night's pajama party with Miss Autumn to one of those "I should have known better" things. It's what I get for being in a rush and not checking her at +11 and then again at pmps to make sure I was shooting a rising number.

So I'm putting this on her condo not only to remind myself, but as a reminder to anyone reading her condo. The two most under taken reading that are also so critically important are the +1's and the +11's. The +1's tell you how much they spike on food, and the +11 will confirm that you are shooting a rising number as opposed to what I did without thinking last night and shooting a still falling number. I know better, so I was kicking myself last night as I would drag my tired body out of a warm soft bed to check on my kitty. And I'm paying the price today as well. If I had sacrificed a couple hours of sleep before going to bed I would not have had to sacrifice an entire night of sleep. I should have waited her out and waited until she turned the corner and headed back up. And she is also paying the price for my rush to feed, dose and get on with the evening with a bounce this morning.

See even those of us that have been at this dance for awhile and actually sometimes because we've been at it for awhile make boneheaded mistakes.

I expected Cassanova to be back up today as I skipped his last night when he handed me a 47 at pmps. Especially when I got up this morning and found little bloody paw prints on the STOVE!!!! That boy is going to be the death of me! He apparently got one of his mittens off and then decided to jump right back up on the scene of the crime. But tonight we will be fixing the problem. Daddy is picking up some large baking sheets that we can use to cover the burners on the stove and the gluing upside down carpet runners to them so the pointy things are up. Not only will they be loud if someone jumps on the stove they will be pokey. I also just ordered this device that you can set on your counters that is motion activated that when the beam is broken sets off an alarm first and then a jet of air..Hopefully that will be enough to spook any would be counter climbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/13 Autumn amps-335, +4-148, +6-71 Cass amps-345, +4-1

i can't believe he didn't learn that the stove is not the place to be. ughhh. i am curious to see if that air jet deterrent thing works. i hope it does the trick for you.
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98 Cass amps-94

Well this morning I was greet by both my sugar babies having a picnic on the lawn. Cassanova's feet are healing up beautifully and I'm starting to see pretty new pink skin under the burned parts. (he has pink paw pads) and the even better news is his dose is dropping quickly again. party_cat We are already back down to .5 after starting him back at 1u and judging by this morning's amps I suspect we will be going down again shortly. I'm praying that is a good sign that once we are through this lastest crisis that I will once again have two boys off the juice and only Miss Autumn to fret over. He wasn't a happy boy yesterday as mom had to take him back to the vetty bean to have them look at his tootsies and remove more of the damaged skin. He's should by their account have no lasting scars and all the functions are well in place as in he has feeling in those pads to pricks, and hot and cold. So all good there. But still hasn't learned to stay off the freaking counters. I swear he was a dropped kitten, sweet boy, just not the brightest bulb in the lamp. I'm cooking dinner last night and hear a thump next to me and sure enough there is Cass stretching his neck out to see what was in the pot. At least he seems to have figured out that the stove is a no-no now to work on the counters.

I'm just so not use to a counter climber. Since Maxwell came with the manners of a Southern Gentleman, Autumn can't jump due to her back injury, and everyone else here started out as kittens or nearly kittens so I trained them long ago hard surface bad, soft surface good. So all but Cassanova know that things like tables, counters and stereos are off limits but they are allowed and even encouraged to get up on sofas, chairs, beds etc.The exception to the hard surface no-no rule is window ledges.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98 Cass amps-94

So pleased to hear that Cassanova's paw pads are healing quickly, Mel. It set my teeth on edge to think of the poor wee thing having the vetty bean remove the damaged skin. cat_pet_icon

Low carb only at that picnic, you two! :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98, +4-33 Cass amps-94, +4-31

I see Autumn and Cassanova have decided to play follow the leader today. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98, +4-33 Cass amps-94, +4-31

they just want to make you crazy Mel and they feel you should never have to sleep but should spend 24/7 awake and ready to be at their demand for service :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

Okay able to breathe a little easier as both are back up for now, but will keep checking in on them. At least with them both deciding to plow up the lawn today they are providing a much needed distraction to today's date.

It was two years ago to date that my incredible gentle soul-kitty Onyx earned his wings.



He was one of the most incredible cats I ever had the pleasure of sharing my life with. He overcame so much hardship in his 18 years, only 6 with Jon and I.

He was beaten and tortured because he was black on Halloween which is how he ended up with me.
Then a year before he passed away he got outside and was lost for 10 months before finally finding his way back home
We had one more glorious year with him before cancer stole him from our arms for good. Cancer may have taken him from my arms but it will never take him from my heart

So if I seem just a little off today and my answers are a little more clipped than normal, this is why. I'm simply missing my raven haired lad, who with all he endured never met a person or animal that he didn't try to befriend. He really was more dog-like than a cat. He walked on a leash, he played fetch and flopped over to enjoy a good tummy rub and never failed to come running when I would whistle and call his name. Oh what I wouldn't give right now to whistle and call for him and see him trotting around the corner with that big plume of a tail raised like a flag.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 

Attachments

  • onyx.jpg
    onyx.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 342
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

Awww sorry re your black bundle. I had two gorgeous black cats as well. My Dusty and Mindy had to be rehomed when I emmigrated to Canada and it broke my heart.
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

((Mel)) he sounds like an amazing cat. I still miss my heart cat Harri.

Oh Cass.....such a sweet dim boy.
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

The story about Onyx coming back into your life after been missing is still one of my favorites on this board. It must have been so amazing.
So sorry his time was up and i can undestand your sadness, he sounds like a great kitty.
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

Hi Mel,

Can't adequately express the sadness I feel for all that Onyx endured before you came into his life, nor the pain you feel over his absence. Dog-in-a-cat-suit soul cats are so very special. :cry:

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/14 Autumn amps-98,+4-33,+6-47,Cass amps-94,+4-31,+6-5

hi Mel
just wondering how you did in the snow storm. hope you and Autumn and the rest of the gang are ok. sending some sunshine and warming thoughts your way. drinking24 drinking24 drinking24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top