11/14/24 Mikey AMPS 433 .. more with the bouncing and now hypothyroid issues

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone,
Yesterday, I did a curve on Mikey and it looks ok. But today, he bounced again or is still in his bounce from a few days ago. Drinks a lot.

I intended to increase his dose but he has blood work, shots , Wellness check this morning with the vet. So I will wait until after the appointment. Is there anything special I should ask her or do you think the blood and urine tests will be the key.

He is happy, joyous and the same wild man he has always been . It may be that I was remiss in increasing his dose. I appreciate your feedback. You folks calm me down

Thanks
Tom:)
 
Hi Tom,

Mikey had a really nice streak of blues yesterday and looks like he got into the greens last night. Without any tests after +5 it's hard to know how low he actually got, so he is probably bouncing this morning from those lows. Hopefully he will slowly work his way back down today and tonight but at least you don't have to worry about him getting too low while at the vet. I'm not sure about increasing his dose with having a green nadir on 11/13 & last night. What do you think @Bandit's Mom, @Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee
 
Mikey had a really nice streak of blues yesterday and looks like he got into the greens last night. Without any tests after +5 it's hard to know how low he actually got, so he is probably bouncing this morning from those lows. Hopefully he will slowly work his way back down today and tonight but at least you don't have to worry about him getting too low while at the vet. I'm not sure about increasing his dose with having a green nadir on 11/13 & last night. What do you think @Bandit's Mom, @Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee[/QUOTE]
 
He did have a good day yesterday. You are correct as he may have gone lower than 99 in pm. I have not increased or lowered his dose in a while. I guess I am confused as to why suddenly he is on a bouncing frenzy, even though he has always bounced . But the last month- yikes
Thanks
 
We came home from the vet and she was fine with his numbers. We will see what his blood work reveals . He behaved so well at the vet and when he came home, he pooped on the rug just to show me! :banghead:
Tom
 
When I suggested the increase, it had been a while since you saw some green action. With SLGS, there isn't a lot of room to increase when you are seeing some upper greens.
 
Update,
Mikey’s bloodwork was excellent except his thyroid function was low. She is running a test to see if he needs a low thyroid pill.
tom :)
 
Did Mikey every have hyperthyroid and be treated for it? Sometimes those cats can go hypothyroid (low numbers). It's very unusual for any cats to otherwise have low thyroid.
 
Did Mikey ever have hyperthyroid and be treated for it? Sometimes those cats can go hypothyroid (low numbers). It's very unusual for any cats to otherwise have low thyroid.

No, his thyroid numbers have always been good and he doesn’t show any hypothyroid signs symptoms except he naps ( but he is 12 years) .
The vet is avoiding meds today and sending out his blood for some other test. She assures me that if he needs a medication, it is a manageable condition . It is rare in cats. I am a bit worried .
Thanks,
Tom :bighug:
His blood glucose is good today
 
Last edited:
There is something in cats called euthyroid sick syndrome. Neko had it once. It is where another condition causes the low thyroid numbers. It can be temporary, it was in Neko. For her there was a complicating factor that some cats who have had radiation therapy for acromegaly can go hypothyroid. So it took a while to figure out why her numbers were low. It wasn't caused by the radiation.
 
There is something in cats called euthyroid sick syndrome. Neko had it once. It is where another condition causes the low thyroid numbers. It can be temporary, it was in Neko. For her there was a complicating factor that some cats who have had radiation therapy for acromegaly can go hypothyroid. So it took a while to figure out why her numbers were low. It wasn't caused by the radiation.
I guess more will be revealed because he has no symptoms of low thyroid-. But if he has it, and can be managed with little expense I will be grateful. .
 
Last edited:
Back
Top