11/13 Simon PMPS 196 +4 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
It has been almost 4 days since I have stopped giving Simon the ear drops with the steroid, but he continues to post higher numbers than normal for him. Could the steroid still be in his body? Should I increase his insulin a little to see if that will help get him back down? He has been on this dose for over 7 days now (we increased his insulin to 1 unit when he started the ear drops). He just had the full blood panel and urinalysis done at the vet and everything looked pretty good...no UTI or infection noted. He is not eating anything different. Simon is acting ok, all 5 P's in place. Thanks for your help!

Please continue to pray for Jill's DH, Rocket and Comet, Tawny, and all the other kitties and their beans that need our prayers.
 
Re: 11/13 Simon AMPS 235 Advice please

Hi Georgia,

How long did it take for his numbers to come down after you stopped the ear drops the last time? That might give you some clues. I think with steroids, ECID, and I have no personal experience to draw on.

I think I would increase, those are not Simon-like numbers....but be sure to monitor in case he comes down suddenly.
 
Re: 11/13 Simon AMPS 235 Advice please

Laurie, the last times he has been on zymox, his numbers really didn't go as high as they did this time and his numbers went down a couple of days after the last dose. After seeing how he does today, I will up his dose a little tonight if there is no change.
 
Re: 11/13 Simon AMPS 235 Advice please

I'm sorry he's still having issues with his ears, Georgia. It's frustrating when you have a chronic issue like that....but we do what we need to do! Sometimes you need to go up to come down. Are you listening, Simon? The threat has been issued....
 
Re: 11/13 Simon AMPS 235 +3.5 190 +8.5 205

Hi Georgia - I am sorry that Simon's numbers are higher than normal. I have been through similar things with Mannie - he just can't seem to find the lower Numbers. I wish you luck, and from all said here it looks like maybe he could use a dosecrease. God luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Re: 11/13 Simon AMPS 235 +3.5 190 +8.5 205

(((Georgia))) I'm sorry too about his numbers being up. I have no idea how long it would take for them to come back down after finishing the steroid but I think Laurie is right on with the suggestion to give him a little more insulin but monitor closely.

Keeping you in our thoughts and sending healing vines to Simon for his ears and BG.
 
Re: 11/13 Simon PMPS 196

I was hoping that Simon would give me a nice low PMPS after threatening with a dosecrease, but 196 just isn't low enough. I went ahead and increased his dose to 1.25. This is the highest dose I have ever given Simon since I started hometesting :sad: He is acting like he always does so as long as he is feeling well, that is what matters most, right?
 
Re: 11/13 Simon PMPS 196

Georgia and Simon said:
This is the highest dose I have ever given Simon since I started hometesting :sad: He is acting like he always does so as long as he is feeling well, that is what matters most, right?

I know in my heart that the second sentence is true...
but, like you... :sad: on the first sentence.

I was so hoping the Simonizer would heed the threat!!
 
Oh, Georgia...I know exactly how you feel. We're going through it too...Trix is also on her highest dose ever. IMO, something wonky is happening in LL...it has to clear for all of us soon...it has to! Maybe the time change has thrown all of our kitties for a loop???

I hope you're having a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top