11/13 Paisley PMPS/196, +2/330 +3/394, +6/316, +11/321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley's BG dropped. I got it back up and 1/2 hour after last eating she's at 139. She didn't even get up when I tested her the last two times. I could see her tail flick under the blanket I put over her (which she's stayed under). I am not comfortable giving her a PM shot, at least a 3u shot. Her ear is healing well. I've filled it with antibiotic ointment to keep it open so it could drain and that seems to have been a big help. She's getting 25mg of doxycycline at shot time. She'll get her fourth dose this shot time.

Suggestions on what I should do with her shot? I'm tempted to either skip it or reduce it. I won't give the full 3u. Just doesn't feel safe.
 
Re: 11/13 PaisleyAMPS/192 +4/212 +9/49,52 +10/87,114 +11/139

are you one hour away from the pm shot?

that run of numbers is super - but it sounds like it's scaring you. just remember that your goal is to help paisley get into non-diabetic cat BG numbers so that her pancreas can heal. a non-diabetic cat ranges from mid-40's to 120. there's nothing for you to be afraid of - instead, pat yourself on the back. this is what you're aiming for and you actually got it.

the process in following the Tight Regulation Protocol is to first go up the dosing scale until your cat's in those under 100 numbers, then decrease the dose while keeping the cat there. eventually ending up in going OTJ.

technically, a drop under 50 means a decrease of .25u in the next dose. you could drop to 2.75, but if you decrease or skip it too much you'll set paisley back on all the progress she's made.

you're reaching the phase of "shoot low to stay low." gotta shoot those lower numbers at some point in this game.

btw, paisley may bounce from these nice low numbers so you might see some higher numbers anyway.

that's my 2cents worth - see what other input you get.
 
Re: 11/13 PaisleyAMPS/192 +4/212 +9/49,52 +10/87,114 +11/139

What's scaring me is that she's fighting an infection and I don't know how she's going to react with the infection and antibiotics on board. That's something I've not had to deal with in the past. Right now she just seems so tired. Although she was acting like her normal hungry self when I got up. Maybe the carbs are causing her to be sleepy. They will do that to me.

I guess I'll go ahead and give her 2.75u at shot time and go from there. She's been heading that way.

Something else I was thinking about is that the raw food has basically zero carbs and the canned (Wellness and FF have 4%). Could switching between the two be confusing for her body?
 
Re: 11/13 PaisleyAMPS/192 +4/212 +9/49,52 +10/87,114 +11/139

as long as you are monitoring her and have strips and hypo supplies, she'll be fine.

i don't know the answer about the food, but i'd guess the answer is maybe. probably depends on how carb sensitive she is. you give insulin based upon the numbers and the numbers reflect carbs . . . but she's got to eat. so i guess i wouldn't worry too much about it.

if you look at Morgaine's spreadsheet - rosalie is giving her about the same dose - it's around 3-4units, and her spreadsheet is a sea of blue with some greens. similar situation. i don't think she posted yesterday, but if you scroll back a couple of days you'll find a condo for morgaine. it might be interesting for you to look at it.
 
Re: 11/13 PaisleyAMPS/192 +4/212 +9/49,52 +10/87,114 +11/139

Looking back at Paisley's ss, I should have decreased her 11/11 AM dose to 2.75u
 
Re: 11/13 Paisley PMPS/196, +2/330 +3/394 Dosecrease 2.75u

Just when you're worried about going low, she jumps. We don't know which way to worry with these kitties :?
 
Re: 11/13 Paisley PMPS/196, +2/330 +3/394 Dosecrease 2.75u

Linda for Weezer said:
Just when you're worried about going low, she jumps. We don't know which way to worry with these kitties :?

Yep. This is the cycle when she is usually lower but because of AM cycle.......follow the bouncing kitty - again. ohmygod_smile
 
Gonna have to super glue her to the floor - next time she touches it, that is. We'll see what happens next. Next time her numbers are in the 40's I'll just keep an eye to make sure they don't go into the 30's and chill out. Sounds good in theory. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top