11/13 Ming PMPS = 387, +2 = 283, +3 = 200, +4 = 160,(AM in the 300s)

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...02-3-189-4-205-uncertain-dose-tonight.206408/

PMPS = 387, +2 = 283, +3 = 200

Interesting... quite a drop.

And to reply Wendy:

Until you gather more data, a skip might be better in the situation you describe. Though of course, the definition of "low" preshot is important. Even if you give some insulin, the depot means that the first part of a cycle can play out as if you gave a full dose. Once you have enough data to learn his patterns better, and with the help of food left out, you'll feel more comfortable shooting low and not being able to monitor. Data on what happens with low preshots is key. For example, if he's going down into preshot vs. on his way up, that may change how the cycle plays out. I always looked at a couple cycles before the current one to see if I could see patterns.

I really hope to have a chance this weekend to give a shot while he's on his way down just to see what happens. For now, a tentative pattern I see is that he goes drops in the first four hours of insulin as well as the last 2-3 hours of the cycle. Although, tonight's cycle might turn out differently!

I would say... anything under 140 is "low" for us right now. The lowest I shot without stalling was 146. Although, I'd be concerned if my mom could only do a +1 or +2 since I feel like Ming shows his true colours at +4. Meaning he seems to go up after +4. So +3 and +4 are still kind in the zone for hypo.

At least that's what I think. Need more data!!!!
 
Been thinking some more on what I said and with an idea of what low is for you, I'm changing my suggestion. First, Ming is recent DKA, so skipping is not a great option. Plus it's been a few days since I see a ketone test on the SS. Second, Ming tends to bounce for a couple cycles after going lower. Chances are, tomorrow he'll react to what he is seeing tonight. If your mom can get a +2, and it is quite a bit lower than the preshot, she can always leave lots of high carb food around when she leaves.

Can one of you get a PM+10 or 11 to help determine if Ming is dropping, flat or going up at AMPS?

Getting data is an ongoing process.
 
I like those ideas, @Wendy&Neko

Yes, I haven’t been able to get catch him peeing especially since I’m not at home and then when I am, I’m sleeping. So I’ll be going back to my original idea of putting less litter in his box soon. Probably tomorrow night when I have time to make the change.

Usually my mom can get a +2 except for tomorrow but she’ll be back around +4. So depending on the PS number... I might just tell her to feed a bit of HC in his regular LC food.

And yes! I can get a +10 this cycle.
 
Other ideas for the litter box, aquarium gravel or washed lentils. Neither absorb liquids. Worst case, you can buy blood ketones meters, though the strips are even more pricy.

If your mom will be back by +4 and he's dropping going into preshot, leaving out some HC would help.
 
+4 = 8.9 / 160

I guess I’m not sleeping much tonight :rolleyes: but finally! I get to know what happens after +4!

And okay, HC food out if he’s low at PS and +1 :)
 
Back
Top