11/13 Eddie AMPS 302 +4 385 +10 319 PMPS 385 +3 223 +8 128

Hoping you see this - if it were me I'd consider 8.5U. will explain in a minute kids going nuts
 
Ok sorry. First snowfall and you'd think the world was ending since I said we can't go outside yet :rolleyes:

First of all, I saw your tag, yes! Feeding the small snack helped slow him down and likely prevented an even lower swing. Perfect.

Secondly, this is why we say patience :D

Thirdly, I suspect he will bounce again from that. That was quite the downward momentum, and fair amount of HC. This is why I'd suggest 8.5U. You may still have to watch him closely the next cycle or two unless he bounces, but I'd rather.you have less depot to fight.

Depending what AMPS is, may need small depot drainer again.
 
One other thought, to add to everything else rattling around in your head - he clears bounces pretty quickly, and also very late. I am thinking +10/+11 may help on the bounce cycles if you can get them, it may give a heads up to where he's going.

I rather suspect he was dropping into PMPS and heading into late nadir, and then the PM shot also kicked in and held him on the lower side. Curious what AMPS will be.
 
One other thought, to add to everything else rattling around in your head - he clears bounces pretty quickly, and also very late. I am thinking +10/+11 may help on the bounce cycles if you can get them, it may give a heads up to where he's going.

I rather suspect he was dropping into PMPS and heading into late nadir, and then the PM shot also kicked in and held him on the lower side. Curious what AMPS will be.

I'll be updating thread in a moment but AMPS is 302. Go to 8.5? I SLEPT In!!!!!
 
One other thought, to add to everything else rattling around in your head - he clears bounces pretty quickly, and also very late. I am thinking +10/+11 may help on the bounce cycles if you can get them, it may give a heads up to where he's going.

I rather suspect he was dropping into PMPS and heading into late nadir, and then the PM shot also kicked in and held him on the lower side. Curious what AMPS will be.

Things rattling around in my head. After the middle of the night event and him going into the safe zone, I fell asleep and didn't wake up until 10 mins past his actual shot time!! As it was I ended up giving it 20 mins later! So, to be safe, I just went with the middle road: 9.0u (in between 8.5 and 9.5). Look at me being all conservative.

Thanks to @Bandit's Mom last night, too.
 
As it was I ended up giving it 20 mins later! So, to be safe, I just went with the middle road: 9.0u (in between 8.5 and 9.5). Look at me being all conservative.

Thanks to @Bandit's Mom last night, too.
A 20 minute delay is fine. You can shoot at your usual time tonight.

I thought 9U because (a) dose changes between 5U and 10U are in multiples of 0.5U and (b) he was seeing nadirs in the 90s on 9U. However, I do not have experience with acro/high dose cats and like Wendy said, you want to be more conservative with acro cats post SRT.

Hopefully she will get online sometime today and advice on dosing.

@Jodey&Eddie I think she still has her hands full with her dad.
 
A 20 minute delay is fine. You can shoot at your usual time tonight.

I thought 9U because (a) dose changes between 5U and 10U are in multiples of 0.5U and (b) he was seeing nadirs in the 90s on 9U. However, I do not have experience with acro/high dose cats and like Wendy said, you want to be more conservative with acro cats post SRT.

Hopefully she will get online sometime today and advice on dosing.

@Jodey&Eddie I think she still has her hands full with her dad.

Not to worry. I'm usually the one asking "reduction now? reduction now? reduction now?" and so going with the middle way seemed best.

I know she's been caring for her dad since the other night. I tagged her just to keep the page open for her.
 
Am actually busy with a job in Whistler this weekend, in between being on the phone re my dad. Small bit of downtime now.

9 units is OK. And now you’ve experienced the same thing I did when I impatiently increased. When you are seeing SRT action, sit on a dose a while if you are getting some safe green. By which I mean, sit on your hands like JL suggested yesterday.
 
Hey it's not red or black! I'd still grab +10 just in case

Ok, just grabbed +10 319 and assuming we are going up at PMPS. Advice please.

This morning (because of last night) we reduced from 9.5u to 9u. The question is: Am I staying at the new 9u or going back to the 9.5u because of the 319? So much swinging.

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom (in case you see this in the night).
 
Short answer, hold the 9U

So remember dose is based on nadir. When his body stopped freaking out with the bounces, 9.5U took him too low, that's why you had to reduce. That was him telling you 9.5U is too much insulin. He's bouncing, and we don't know when he'll break it (my guess? Overnight, because that's the law of the universe. Realistically, probably tomorrow's AM cycle). So, patience pants again :joyful: I think you get a custom pair that tie your hands to your butt!

When he does break this bounce, you do still have the larger depot in play, so will need to keep an eye on him
 
Remember the bounces are just his liver fighting you. There's nothing wrong with him, his body is just trying to adjust to all these changes - SRT, BGs coming down, etc. The liver is dumb, it doesn't know he's actually ok, and it'll take some time for it to learn that
 
Ok, just wanted to make sure I'm on the right track.

Regardless, "I think you get a custom pair that tie your hands to your butt!" I seriously laughed out loud! LOL:joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Jodey... are the patience pants feeling a wee bit tight? here, try mine...

upload_2021-11-13_20-21-47.jpeg


Give the 9u some time :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-11-13_20-21-47.jpeg
    upload_2021-11-13_20-21-47.jpeg
    18.1 KB · Views: 212
Remember the bounces are just his liver fighting you. There's nothing wrong with him, his body is just trying to adjust to all these changes - SRT, BGs coming down, etc. The liver is dumb, it doesn't know he's actually ok, and it'll take some time for it to learn that

Dear Liver,
We realize you have a tendency to panic but we want to assure you that Eddie is actually ok. So, if we were to give you any advice we would say, we think you need "a custom pair [of patience pants] that tie your wee hands to your butt!"
Yours truy,
Jodey and Eddie
 
Short answer, hold the 9U

So remember dose is based on nadir. When his body stopped freaking out with the bounces, 9.5U took him too low, that's why you had to reduce. That was him telling you 9.5U is too much insulin. He's bouncing, and we don't know when he'll break it (my guess? Overnight, because that's the law of the universe. Realistically, probably tomorrow's AM cycle). So, patience pants again :joyful: I think you get a custom pair that tie your hands to your butt!

When he does break this bounce, you do still have the larger depot in play, so will need to keep an eye on him

Not sure if he'll break the bounce overnight as we're at +3 and he's 223. Do you (or @Bandit's Mom ) think I need test again at +6 or +7? I can set an alarm as usual. Or should I just let us get some sleep tonight and see if the bounce is broken by tomorrow's AMPS?
 
Not sure if he'll break the bounce overnight as we're at +3 and he's 223. Do you (or @Bandit's Mom ) think I need test again at +6 or +7? I can set an alarm as usual. Or should I just let us get some sleep tonight and see if the bounce is broken by tomorrow's AMPS?
It's possible he could head to mid to low blues later in the cycle. Or not. Does have access to food through the cycle? If not, you my want to feed and test around +6 to +8.
 
Back
Top