11/13, Binie, AMPS 500 fur shot - high all day

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-6-296-back-from-the-vet.295635/#post-3219849

Good evening,

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @bluesunshine: Thank you so much for your kind messages, questions and suggestions on Monday and sorry it took me two days to answer. Unfortunately I got a major migraine for almost two days which kept me away from being online and doing anything besides caring for Binie.

The vet visit was quite stressful for Binie and she was still agitated for a longer time. Yesterday she spent lots of time to lick her wound. The vet didn't recommended any ointment, so I did some research about all the options. In the end I followed @cecile & bella recommendation to try coconut oil, as is it anti inflammatory and I know it doesn't do any harm if Binie licks it off. She even likes it and gets it sometimes as a treat. I also remember it worked well when she had an inflammation from the sensor one day.

I tried to put on a cone yesterday and it was horrible. She defended herself and I had to chase her to put it on. The sensor started to show "error" because her bg was shooting up. She looked so unhappy with the cone, that I took it off again:
upload_2024-11-13_19-41-8.jpeg


@bluesunshine: Bell looked much happier with her cute planet cone. I think the models are quite similar, I just folded it down to make it possible to eat and drink with it.

The vet saw no medical reason to wear a cone, as the problem is not the licking but the unknown issue in her skin. Seems like the licking is not causing inflammation and it seems to give her some relief even though it opens up her skin. So I decided not to stress her with something which might not bring any advantage. I had the impression, that today she is licking less. I will see how the next days go. And I was surprised to see that she is licking the coconut oil but something stays on. So I hope it will help her skin. Maybe it already did.

My head is spinning how to go on from here and I will have some research the next days. I also stopped the cranberry pills because I could see how they are shooting her up. I have to either find an alternative without sugar or I have to divide the pill and give half in the morning and half in the evening.

Unfortunately I messed up this morning and gave a furshot. :( I felt it was really a stupid moment to do so but maybe no moment is good for a furshot. I hope she comes down tonight. I increased her dose from 1.75F to 2 IU and I gave her shot 30 minutes earlier today to make her come down faster. Because of that I have to get up earlier the next days but I thought it is worth it.

Hope everyone has a good day and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-13_19-41-8.jpeg
    upload_2024-11-13_19-41-8.jpeg
    60 KB · Views: 113
Hi Heike! Poor little Binnie, that is a lot of stress for her.
I hope you both get a nice rest of your day. Migraines are horrible, I know!
Don't beat yourself up about the fur shot, they happen, and no, there is no good time for it! :bighug:
 
Hi Heike! Poor little Binnie, that is a lot of stress for her.
I hope you both get a nice rest of your day. Migraines are horrible, I know!
Don't beat yourself up about the fur shot, they happen, and no, there is no good time for it! :bighug:

Thank you so much Cecile! We are trying to relax now. Binie is already snoring and I hope I see her going down nicely before I go to bed. I hate to see her that high.... Hope you and the sweet thief Bella have a good time too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bella was on the stove right now to check if something tasty might be there :mad:
I hope Binnie will go down now that the pills are stopped. I know it is so frustrating :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bella was on the stove right now to check if something tasty might be there :mad:
I hope Binnie will go down now that the pills are stopped. I know it is so frustrating :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Bella is my soulmate if it comes to food! :) If I would live in your house, I would sneak with Bella around the stove....

Yes, I am a bit annoyed about the pills. They said it was for diabetics but it was my fault not to check the ingredients in detail. Maybe if her bg gets better it is acceptable to give it in two portions as long as I don't have an alternative. I also hope Binie comes down tonight. I just checked on the handheld and 500 on the libre is 373 on the handheld. The libre tends to exaggerate in the upper and lower regions....
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-6-296-back-from-the-vet.295635/#post-3219849

Good evening,

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @bluesunshine: Thank you so much for your kind messages, questions and suggestions on Monday and sorry it took me two days to answer. Unfortunately I got a major migraine for almost two days which kept me away from being online and doing anything besides caring for Binie.

The vet visit was quite stressful for Binie and she was still agitated for a longer time. Yesterday she spent lots of time to lick her wound. The vet didn't recommended any ointment, so I did some research about all the options. In the end I followed @cecile & bella recommendation to try coconut oil, as is it anti inflammatory and I know it doesn't do any harm if Binie licks it off. She even likes it and gets it sometimes as a treat. I also remember it worked well when she had an inflammation from the sensor one day.

I tried to put on a cone yesterday and it was horrible. She defended herself and I had to chase her to put it on. The sensor started to show "error" because her bg was shooting up. She looked so unhappy with the cone, that I took it off again:
View attachment 71400

@bluesunshine: Bell looked much happier with her cute planet cone. I think the models are quite similar, I just folded it down to make it possible to eat and drink with it.

The vet saw no medical reason to wear a cone, as the problem is not the licking but the unknown issue in her skin. Seems like the licking is not causing inflammation and it seems to give her some relief even though it opens up her skin. So I decided not to stress her with something which might not bring any advantage. I had the impression, that today she is licking less. I will see how the next days go. And I was surprised to see that she is licking the coconut oil but something stays on. So I hope it will help her skin. Maybe it already did.

My head is spinning how to go on from here and I will have some research the next days. I also stopped the cranberry pills because I could see how they are shooting her up. I have to either find an alternative without sugar or I have to divide the pill and give half in the morning and half in the evening.

Unfortunately I messed up this morning and gave a furshot. :( I felt it was really a stupid moment to do so but maybe no moment is good for a furshot. I hope she comes down tonight. I increased her dose from 1.75F to 2 IU and I gave her shot 30 minutes earlier today to make her come down faster. Because of that I have to get up earlier the next days but I thought it is worth it.

Hope everyone has a good day and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, oh poor sweet Binie. She doesn’t look so happy with her cone (they usually don’t).

I’m sorry you had bad migraines. No wonder with all you are dealing with. Please take care of yourself as well as Binie. I know it’s hard to try to get proper rest and good nutrition.

Hopefully the coconut oil will help soothe her sore. It’s good she’s not licking it all off.

Do you have other options available to replace The cranberry product that you said had sugar in it? If you don’t let me know and I can see if I can find something here that I could send you.

Does something like this look like it would work? I’m not sure what you’re looking for in terms of what you saw in the product you had that has sugar in it.
https://www.chewy.com/vetclassics-c...1xIRu6unSzA8utejgjZrGiTPMluJaIURoCNcwQAvD_BwE

Be kind to yourself about the fur shot. You know it happens to most of us. There’s never a good time for one to happen so just move on and don’t be hard on yourself. You’ll probably be able to get a good nights sleep because she will bounce so try to use that to your advantage and get a little bit of extra sleep, which can only help you.
As far as getting up early, I believe you can shoot once a day 30 minutes early and stay on schedule so I don’t think you will have to do anything different in terms of moving your shot times going forward for several days that’s not necessary.

It looks like Binie is already coming down tonight so I think she’s already recovering from the fur shot this morning.

Ivy and I are sending you lots of good wishes for healing and good sleep. Take good care of yourself, too, Heike!
:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Yeah just echoing what everyone here said, you've been through a lot, go easy on yourself! Bell hatttttttttttted the cone, I just caught her waking up from a nap in that picture. I also hated having to put her through it. Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase, looks like she was a wee bit overdue.
I increased her dose from 1.75F to 2 IU and I gave her shot 30 minutes earlier today to make her come down faster.
Just remember, being a depot insulin, typically that’s not how Lantus works, ie. it’s not great at bringing down high numbers quickly. Still, what goes up must come down :)
 
Hi Heike, Our poor Binie :bighug: I'm glad some of the coconut oil is still staying on. Hopefully it will help.
I'm so sorry you had those migraines. I hope you're feeling better. Don't beat yourself up about the FS , it happens. I hope you both are sleeping already :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-6-296-back-from-the-vet.295635/#post-3219849

Good evening,

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @bluesunshine: Thank you so much for your kind messages, questions and suggestions on Monday and sorry it took me two days to answer. Unfortunately I got a major migraine for almost two days which kept me away from being online and doing anything besides caring for Binie.

The vet visit was quite stressful for Binie and she was still agitated for a longer time. Yesterday she spent lots of time to lick her wound. The vet didn't recommended any ointment, so I did some research about all the options. In the end I followed @cecile & bella recommendation to try coconut oil, as is it anti inflammatory and I know it doesn't do any harm if Binie licks it off. She even likes it and gets it sometimes as a treat. I also remember it worked well when she had an inflammation from the sensor one day.

I tried to put on a cone yesterday and it was horrible. She defended herself and I had to chase her to put it on. The sensor started to show "error" because her bg was shooting up. She looked so unhappy with the cone, that I took it off again:
View attachment 71400

@bluesunshine: Bell looked much happier with her cute planet cone. I think the models are quite similar, I just folded it down to make it possible to eat and drink with it.

The vet saw no medical reason to wear a cone, as the problem is not the licking but the unknown issue in her skin. Seems like the licking is not causing inflammation and it seems to give her some relief even though it opens up her skin. So I decided not to stress her with something which might not bring any advantage. I had the impression, that today she is licking less. I will see how the next days go. And I was surprised to see that she is licking the coconut oil but something stays on. So I hope it will help her skin. Maybe it already did.

My head is spinning how to go on from here and I will have some research the next days. I also stopped the cranberry pills because I could see how they are shooting her up. I have to either find an alternative without sugar or I have to divide the pill and give half in the morning and half in the evening.

Unfortunately I messed up this morning and gave a furshot. :( I felt it was really a stupid moment to do so but maybe no moment is good for a furshot. I hope she comes down tonight. I increased her dose from 1.75F to 2 IU and I gave her shot 30 minutes earlier today to make her come down faster. Because of that I have to get up earlier the next days but I thought it is worth it.

Hope everyone has a good day and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sending hugs to you and Binie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, oh poor sweet Binie. She doesn’t look so happy with her cone (they usually don’t).

I’m sorry you had bad migraines. No wonder with all you are dealing with. Please take care of yourself as well as Binie. I know it’s hard to try to get proper rest and good nutrition.

Hopefully the coconut oil will help soothe her sore. It’s good she’s not licking it all off.

Do you have other options available to replace The cranberry product that you said had sugar in it? If you don’t let me know and I can see if I can find something here that I could send you.

Does something like this look like it would work? I’m not sure what you’re looking for in terms of what you saw in the product you had that has sugar in it.
https://www.chewy.com/vetclassics-c...1xIRu6unSzA8utejgjZrGiTPMluJaIURoCNcwQAvD_BwE

Be kind to yourself about the fur shot. You know it happens to most of us. There’s never a good time for one to happen so just move on and don’t be hard on yourself. You’ll probably be able to get a good nights sleep because she will bounce so try to use that to your advantage and get a little bit of extra sleep, which can only help you.
As far as getting up early, I believe you can shoot once a day 30 minutes early and stay on schedule so I don’t think you will have to do anything different in terms of moving your shot times going forward for several days that’s not necessary.

It looks like Binie is already coming down tonight so I think she’s already recovering from the fur shot this morning.

Ivy and I are sending you lots of good wishes for healing and good sleep. Take good care of yourself, too, Heike!
:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:

Thank you so, so much for your sweet support Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The product you chose looks perfect and thank you so much for the offer to send it! But I think it is not necessary. I found some freeze dried cranberrys for cats without sugar so I will combine it with the d-mannose. I think that works well and is easier than shipping something from the US. Thank you so much for your generous offer, I appreciate it a lot! :kiss:

And you are so right, it is never a good time for a fur shot but it happens. And I did use it to get some sleep instead of looking at the sensor all night in horror. I became wiser over time. :)

I also thought about moving the shot time back to her normal shot time but I decided to get up early. I feel in all the inconsistency this is a small sacrifice. I will walk her back during the next days, but in baby steps.

I hope you and Ivy are well! I will check on you soon! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Yeah just echoing what everyone here said, you've been through a lot, go easy on yourself! Bell hatttttttttttted the cone, I just caught her waking up from a nap in that picture. I also hated having to put her through it. Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Seth! Bell looked really relaxed and cool with the cone but I understood you just found the right moment. :cat: Curious to read your update later! I hope Bell is fine! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, Our poor Binie :bighug: I'm glad some of the coconut oil is still staying on. Hopefully it will help.
I'm so sorry you had those migraines. I hope you're feeling better. Don't beat yourself up about the FS , it happens. I hope you both are sleeping already :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Thank you so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I think both, Binie and I are feeling better. The migraine is gone and Binie had some nice blue numbers after the furshot. And yes, we have been already snoring while you wrote this. :rolleyes: Hope you have a relaxed day Diane! :kiss:
 
Good luck with the increase, looks like she was a wee bit overdue.

Just remember, being a depot insulin, typically that’s not how Lantus works, ie. it’s not great at bringing down high numbers quickly. Still, what goes up must come down :)

Thank you so much Chrisitie! :bighug: Yes, you are right I increased a little late. :rolleyes: And I could see last night, that it took some time for the high numbers to come down. Thank god it is much better today. Hope you have a relaxed day today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m catching up, so glad to know all this is now over—but so sorry you had a migraine and Binie definitely doesn’t look excited about the cone. I think you made the right decision to let her win that fight.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top