11-13-19 Salem PMPS 339 +1=323

Tina and Salem

Member Since 2019
Last edited:
Good Morning Tina and Salem! Looks like Salem had a very nice day - numbers are coming down which means he is working the juice nicely. Try not to get too excited about the pre-shot numbers - those are typically the highest of the day. He hit some nice greens just a day or so ago...so give him a chance and let's see if he'll drop back down again. Those mid-cycle tests that you're getting are the ones that will let you know whether or not you can change his dose, so you're doing an excellent job with that.

Keep testing...and count your cycles carefully - if he doesn't hit the green again in 6 cycles - yes, only three days on TR - you could increase by .25...so it's up to him to see how he can work this dose...and with his history of DKA it's important for you to stay on top of that day count and frequent testing. I think you're doing a stellar job with him.

Hope you both have a wonderful day!
 
Yeah we are back in the blues again . Gotta go get some more of the thinner lancets . These bigger gauges are giving him a hard time to bleed ! I found syringes in california for only .12 a syringe ! Wow but shipping was $9.00 oh Well still good price ! Then theres a link on this message board we found them too great syringes but these i save almost $2 more dollars lol total price they have the same syringes our member mention also . One more day then we decide whether to go up or not on the insulin .


SOL-M Insulin U100 Syringe with HALF UNIT markings - bags of 10 or box of 100 - 6 sizes
.3ml 1/12. 29 gauge
$0.12

https://www.calvetsupply.com/u100-insulin-syringes.html
 
Last edited:
Good morning, Tina and Salem ❤️:bighug: Sending prayers that your day goes well :bighug: You are getting awesome advice/guidance so keep up the good work !!
 
Wow Salem really listened and is totally working that juice! I might be inclined to grab a +3 since you moved from mid pinks to high blues within 2 hours. Be good today Salem! We want to see you visit the lagoon but we DONT want you to chase any sharkies!!

have a great day today Tina :joyful:
 
Is there such thing as giving two different doses in one day ? Since he goes so high in the evenings ? Low in the mornings ?
Consistency is key with Lantus, if you change the dose constantly you end up with somewhat of a wonky depot that never fully settles and isn’t as efficient. I have seen members give ‘fat’ or skinny doses though maybe ask for some advice if that’s something you’re interested in pursuing ;)

the one time that a different dose would be given in the same day could be if a reduction or increase is earned :)
 
Hi Tina and Salem! We have been watching you, and are so happy with the progress you are making. The higher AMPS and PMPS are "bookends" and they are often the last numbers to come down. Since Salem is at least coming down in the middle of he cycle, he is looking pretty normal, or good right now.
Tina LOVES your name by the way! And of course I do too:)
 
Well its

+6=311 after he ate LC food
He does pretty good until he eats
Maybe i need to reschedule his eating pattern ?
I tried not to let him eat but twice a day
But Salem likes to eat at between 4-5 am
Then again at 10 am then he eats at 5 pm
Think i will reschedule his eating to keep his numbers down . Before i decide to up his dose back up to 1.25
 
Hi Tina, not to worry about those big bounces after eating - unless he's having a big bowl of ice cream or a slice of cake, I doubt that it's the food that's causing those numbers to soar.

When you see those big ole pink or higher numbers it's his liver dumping a whole lot of glycogen (sugars) into his bloodstream - because it just freaked out when it 'sensed' that his blood glucose was too low - so it's a little confused right now and needs time to re-learn what is 'normal' and what isn't unusually low. It's been a while since he's been 'normal' so his body is just 'reacting' to those lower numbers and spilling all that stored up glycogen into his bloodstream and then you see those larger numbers ... so try not to be alarmed...keep doing what you're doing...increase his insulin per his protocol - since you're on TR you can increase every 6 cycles or every 3 days when your nadirs are higher than - what's the bottom number? 150? Someone else might have to look that one up - but lately his hitting the lagoon just about every day...and he'll stay there once he shakes off that stored up glycogen. It's just a defense mechanism that means well...but is observed and is frightening ... so hang in there...it'll get better. Testing frequently will help you to know when he's sliding down and you can help him by steering him a bit with food so he doesn't go too low and lose what appears to be a very effective dosage.

I remember reading about this the first time and it all made perfect non-sense...but if you're inclined to do a bit of research you'll see what I mean about these fluctuating blood glucose readings. It does take a little time for some kitties to settle down and stop with all the trampolining...

You're doing a great job btw...let him eat when he's hungry. I'm not a believer in a starving a diabetic (cat or human). Frequent small meals will often help to level those numbers out.
 
Back
Top