11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49+13.25/63+15/64

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56227

Milo is in the 40's he is acting ok.. I am going to give gravy but I am worried, should I be??
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 PLease help!

Did you give a tsp of gravy? If not, do that and retest in 15-20 minutes. There's your dose decrease! :smile:

Breathe, you're doing fine....please post your next test, I'll be watching for it.

ETA: I just saw the time on your post, you should retest now.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 PLease help!

Ok..breathe...you did good...a little high carb gravy ..a tsp ...and retest in 20 minutes ...if he's low 40s you might want to add just a drop of karo. Will wait for your next nnumber.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 PLease help!

Yes I gave a teaspoon of gravy (maybe a bit more) and it is now 57...I really do think he has dropped this low before but I missed it in the testing..as you see I usually only do a +7, because of the way I work etc..whew! That scared me lol..
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

You're doing fine. I would not use karo since the gravy brought him up....I generally don't recommend karo unless he drops into the 30s or doesn't come out of the 40s with just gravy.

Has he eaten any food (other than the gravy) since AMPS? What is his normal feeding schedule?
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

He had a little ff left over from this am and he was napping and he got up to go finish it off so I took the chance to test him then, so he only ate a but of the ff before I gave him the gravy, and I have not given any karo.. he gets a 1/2 a can in the am but my 11 or so he finishes it off as well as his sisters half, then I give him a whole can at 2 and then he gets 1/2 at dinner and then some more before bed.... he use to be a grazer on dry food, so he always like some food out so im trying to break that.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

Great job....good catch and I'm glad he's coming up with the HC gravy. Just be sure you keep testing him because when the gravy wears off, he can come back down. ECID so now you have the chance
to find out how long the gravy will hold him. Hopefully, he'll just surf these 50s which is a perfectly safe place for him to be.

Remember about that +2? ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

WOOHOO!!!

CONGRATS ON THE REDUCIE, GUYS!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

OK thanks!! So now its ok to reduce his dose back to 1 unit?? (and yes!! ughhh I should have got the +2, he was asleep and I didnt want to wake him..big mistake!!)
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

Get another test 15-20 minutes after your last one. The gravy bumped him up a little, but numbers may wobble around.

Not pertaining to right now but for everyday feeding, if he is comfortable grazing, you can let him graze on wet food. I would just pick up the food 2 hours before PS time. He may feed his own lows if the food is available to him when you are not there.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 PLease help!

Awsome!!!!! Thanks so much for everyones help!! :-D :-D :-D (Yes He only grazes on wet food and I do pull up the dishes 2 hours prior to his pmps, and I do notice that he goes to the bowl when he is low, so thats good)
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 +4/71

Looking good, the gravy worked great! I would offer a tsp or so of his regular LC food to keep him surfing....not too much in case he tries to drop again. Retest in 30 minutes. :-D
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 +4/71

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Looking good, the gravy worked great! I would offer a tsp or so of his regular LC food to keep him surfing....not too much in case he tries to drop again. Retest in 30 minutes. :-D

Just to explain, that wasn't so clear :? .....only feed small amounts so that he doesn't get too full. You don't want him to eat a lot of LC food and then be too full to eat later if you need to feed low numbers again.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 +4/71

he's at 62 +5 <<he is trying to get away from me testing him lol he is sick of me!
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75 +1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57 +4/71+5/62

I know they get tired of the testing....but I would still test again in 1/2 hour. The gravy is wearing off and he may drop low again. The 62 is great....I'd give another tsp or two of LC and test in 30 min.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75+1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57+4/71+5/62+7/62+8/5

My daughter took the last 2 readings for me, (she is great with him) because I had to run out for a bit, so I just got home and yes he is dropping he is now 56, but did eat a tbs of food each of the last 2 hours she said, I will moniter every 30 now just to keep an eye on him in case the gravy is wearing off like you said
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75+1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57+4/71+5/62+7/60+8/5

Gorgeous surf! :mrgreen: That's not really a drop, it's within variance, and fifties are just fine! Very nice job....see how a little gravy bumped him out of the 40s? Then small amounts of LC kept him surfing along...perfect! :thumbup

My DD (and DH) help out from time to time as well, it's nice to have back up! :smile:
 
Re: 11/12 Milo amps 75+1/82 +3/46 +3.5/57+4/71+5/62+7/60+8/5

Wow ! I missed all the action!
Congratulations on the decrease!

Great job managing the cycle to day!

Go Milo! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55 Dosing Help PLease!

Milo's +11 is 55, he is getting his reduction tonight.. I have been shooting low to stay low but have never shot him in the 50's and I'm not sure if I am comfortable doing so. When I retest and if he is still in the 50's should I stall or would it be ok based on his data to shoot him?? He has had a very green day!
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55 Dosing Help PLease!

Yes, he did have a very good day.
I would post your +12, and wait for advice.
You may have to stall, if he's still in the 50s.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55 Dosing Help PLease!

He likes those 50s! I would stall if he's still this low at +12, and post your number....don't feed if you are stalling, ok? Retest every 15-30 minutes while you are stalling.

Do you have plenty of test strips, HC food and will you be able to monitor? Will you be able to stay awake to monitor closely, or set an alarm and get up to test if necessary? We don't want to risk Milo's safety.

How long can you stall before you have a schedule problem? Remember that whatever time you shoot, you will need to shoot 12 hours later for AMPS tomorrow. You can move the shot time back by 15 minutes each shot, or 30 minutes once per day to get back on schedule.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55 Dosing Help PLease!

I couldn't agree with Laurie more. Great job today and, of course, Milo just has to keep you on the edge of your seat!
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61 Dosing Help PLease!

Milo's +12 is 61, I feel I should still stall, what do u think? I do have plenty of test strips and food, I have not fed yet he last ate 2 hrs ago about a tbs, and what about a reduced dose? I could stall up to 30 mins before it will be a problem on Monday, and yes I can test tonight
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61 Dosing Help PLease!

If you would feel more comfortable stalling, that's fine. I think it makes sense to see a clear rise before shooting. I would retest in no more than 30 minutes.

You are already reducing the dose, because he earned the reduction today. You don't want to stall for a significant length of time, AND reduce, because the stall already acts like a reduction. But let's not get ahead of ourselves...see where he is in 30 minutes.

ETA: To be clear, I mean you don't want to reduce further than the reduction he earned, and stall.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61 Dosing Help PLease!

You can easily make up 30 minutes tomorrow....do you mean that you don't have more than 30 minutes to spare in your schedule for Monday? If so, you could stall up to an hour....
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61 Dosing Help PLease!

The latest I can shoot on Monday is 7:30 Eastern, I just did his +12.50 he is 57, ugh..if he doesn't rise Im not sure what to do at this point, I dont want to skip but I dont want to put him in danger either...and he is starting to hide from me every time i go to test.. I'm headed for an interesting evening! @-)
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61+12.50/57 Dosing Help PLeas

I'm not sure you have much choice but to skip if you can't stall any longer. I would lean against shooting a reduced dose in this situation...his shed is full, and he may still drop even on a reduced dose. I would prefer to see a rise before shooting.

What do you think? If you skip, it will allow his shed to drain, and start with the reduced dose in the morning.

Or you could shoot a BCS dose (0.25-0.5u), and monitor like crazy.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61+12.50/57 Dosing Help PLeas

I think I would be more comfortable skipping, but I will retest at 8 PM and decide then for sure, plus he is getting hungry, and if I skip I may can give his little ears a break.. :sad:
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49 In the 40's again!

Im gonna skip, give some gravey, and give his reg lc feeding....does this sound ok?
 
Re: 11/12 Milo +10/52+11/55+12/61+12.50/57 Dosing Help PLeas

Yes, feed him. I would just give him his regular food at this point....retest in 15 minutes. He'll probably come right up with a little LC.

Skipping is a good idea IMHO.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49 In the 40's again!

OK, Thanks for all your help!
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49 In the 40's again!

No problem....just paying it forward for all the help I got. :smile:

You're doing great!
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49+13.25/63

Milo's +13.25 is 63 I gave him a tiny teaspoon of gravy, (didnt read ur post beofr I did sorry) and a bit lc food, so his numbers r a bit better
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49+13.25/63

That's ok....no worries! He's still on the low end, so even though you skipped, I would still get another test in 30 minutes. (I know he's tired of being poked....hopefully he'll rise a bit and surf.) You can feed him normally now.
 
Re: 11/12 Milo11/55+12/61+12.50/57+13/49+13.25/63

rest well with the skipped shot...Milo may keep you on your toes next time you shoot! :-D :-D :-D
 
OK, sounds like a great idea lol..by the way he really hates me right now heheheh cat(2)_steam
 
Absolutely great job today. Laurie was doing awesome working with you and the last thing you need is too many irons in the kettle.

I think you did a good thing by skipping tonight and letting the shed drain a bit. You can shoot his reduced dose on time (your regular time) in the morning OR if you have been wanting to make any adjustment to his shot time, you can do it tomorrow without any worries. It's a good idea to make sure he is coming up a bit but without insulin on board, he can't hypo. His shed may keep his numbers in green tonight but once you see an upward trend, he's ok.

Hope you both get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top