? 11/12 Millie PM+10 219/AMPS 207/+11 122/+12 159/+12.5 135/+13 160/PMPS 160/+1 203/+2 207/+10 241

Heidi n' Millie and...

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: ? - 11/11 Millie AMPS 229/+2 210/PMPS 296/+2 251/+10 219 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Yikes...I'm home at AM+11 and Millie didn't finish her breakfast and her first and thrid snack. Evidently, she's not fond of freeze-dried chicken topping her Sheba. Anyway, she's 122@+11. What to do in 45 minutes. I have to leave for work at 8:30AM tomorrow morning, so I have only an hour wiggle room to delay tonight. I think I have only shot that below once before, at AMPS when I first moved to the human meter. Staying up all night is not an option, as I have to be functional tomorrow. Any expert advice appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
160@+13, 2.5U. She's hungry now and I sure won't use freeze-dried chicken for her snack topper tonight. However, I have the HC food ready and handy, just in case.
 
Sorry no one responded. Slept in this morning (Sunday) and getting online a little later that usual. I see you stalled and then shot after an hour? WHy did you stall? You have shot as low as 131 and 140 before. And she was rising from 122 at +11 to 159 at +12. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop and make the shooting decision even more difficult. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
 
Sorry no one responded. Slept in this morning (Sunday) and getting online a little later that usual. I see you stalled and then shot after an hour? WHy did you stall? You have shot as low as 131 and 140 before. And she was rising from 122 at +11 to 159 at +12. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop and make the shooting decision even more difficult. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.

It rose but I was concerned because she was off her feed today...no idea why, except the common thread was the freeze-dried topper. Also, because I didn't have any numbers throughout the day and didn't have any other numbers before the 122...didn't know if it had been much lower. I know that I'm supposed to shoot based on the nadir but I had no idea if 122 was the nadir or if it had been much lower. Lots of her nadirs are between +6 and +8 so, if she was at 122 at +11, I was just thinking that she could have been much lower. I was looking at the guidelines for when the pre-shot levels were substantially lower than usual and there are a couple of choices, there, which say wait, feed and wait, don't shoot at all, but I've read that a token dose is better than not at all. I just don't want to screw up when I can't be around if she goes too low. I didn't know that about Lantus. I was worried about stalling without feeding, although I have been counseled to wait 20 to 30 minutes without feeding another time. It's tough to make those choices when I know I won't be able to be here to compulsively test her.
 
Back
Top