11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127 +4 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
I received everyone's advice when I got up this morning, too late to test in the middle of the night. Ugh! I didn't shoot this morning, because I wasn't sure what to do, so I figured better safe than sorry. I am preparing to shoot .1 in about ten minutes. Is that the right thing to do?
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 Dose question

If you can test him til at least +4, yes, I'd shoot.

Maybe you can take a nap now to be able to cope with it.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 Dose question

Thanks for putting the link to yesterday's condo in for me, Julie. I was rushing, because I just walked in the door a few minutes before shoot time. I did shoot .1. Do I need to get a +1 or can I wait until +2. Of course, there's a pretty good chance curiosity will get the better of me at +1 not matter what you say. :lol:

I'm kind of having a struggle with the emotional toll of all this. Can anyone share their experiences and coping strategies? I'm under a lot of stress in other places (mainly my job) so that's probably making it worse. I probably need a good cry.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439

i think you could wait til +2, yes. When I look at his ss, I don't see any occasions where he dove from a red number at preshot. In fact, you might be able to wait til +3 since his shot was skipped this morning, but I hate to suggest that cuz you never know with cats.

I think everyone struggles with FD. I didn't have your situation - punkin turned out to have acromegaly. He was diagnosed with acro in June 2011 and from June to August I just went up and up and up with the dose. Nothing brought him into normal numbers. It sucked. He went from about 7 units to about 12 units by the end of the summer, if i remember correctly. I got him treated for the acro in September, at which point he was at 15.5u. Talk about discouraging.

You're in a different situation. Everything points to Mikey being headed towards OTJ. I wouldn't say that if i didn't truly believe it. He's on one-tenth of a unit - who would think that would even do anything if you weren't living it!?! You're in an extremely intensive phase, but it's better than doing it for years on end. I'm sure the work stress is what's putting you at the tipping point - that's the worst.

My motto in life is "I can do anything for a while." You can do this too - short term pain for long term HUGE gain! :YMHUG:

ps, I recommend chocolate. :-D and talking to people here who totally get it and won't dismiss you as a crazy cat lady. I couldn't have done it without the support of people here.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315

Thanks, Julie, I really, really needed to hear that. Work stress is the worst. I could go on and on about the stressors...

Meanwhile, my gut said to test at +1, and he's dropping a bit quickly. Should I give him some LC or wait until +2?
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315

doggone! your gut was right on target. yes, just to slow the drop. He's already dropped more than 100 points in an hour and that alone might trigger another bounce.

yes, i'd give him a bite.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315

I've learned to trust my gut in most things. I'm intuitive, which drives most people nuts. I knew he'd dropped, but I have no idea how I knew that. Strange... lol

He's having a snack now. I'll be back after the +2 test.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315

i think there are things we just know - obviously trust that with mikey! especially with these sugar cats, it's easy to get in tune with them and begin to notice all the little things that they do.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222

222 at +2. More LC? I wish you could see him hanging out in the kitchen sink trying to catch the drips.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222

heehee i had a cat that would only drink from a faucet. of course that would've been my fault for indulging her, but it was sure cute.

yes, i'd keep doling out the low carb just to slow him down. little stinker! He's in a hurry, isn't he?!
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127

127 at +3. I'm giving him more LC. In the Scottish Fold world, we'd call Mikey a stink'ear. Why on earth is he going down so fast after no shot this morning and a mere .1 tonight? Ugh!
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127

good question. In some ways he looks like he's done with insulin. It could be those high numbers are bouncing, but . . . . i don't know. Let's see what other thoughts are out there.

In the meantime, I guess you're staying up for a bit. He's still dropping 100 points per hour. i think i'd break out the hc and see if you can cut-off that drop. I don't know if it's already too late to prevent the next drop, but i'd add a drop of honey to his teaspoon of lc.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127

OK, I put a bit of honey on some LC food, and he's eating it. He hates karo, but he seems to be willing to eat honey. I'm so glad I don't have to tackle him and rub it on his gums like the other night. I'd sure be in heaven, if he's done with insulin.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127

let's see what happens in the next few hours. i wouldn't give him more honey at this point unless he goes below 50. i just thought he should slow down.
 
Re: 11/12 Mikey PMPS 439 +1 315 +2 222 +3 127

There are 2-3 in .1 the best I can tell. Mikey is feeling so good. He's running around playing and being all happy.
 
well that's good!

i'm on my way out for the evening, but would you check here before you shoot in the morning? it might be that a one drop dose is your next step. I'm not sure - stay tuned. :-D
 
I'll check, but I don't think I'll be willing to shoot when I'll be gone all day. Is anyone going to be here? Thanks for your help.
 
(((Mary)))

When a kitty is coming down the dosing scale, it can be very, very stressful and exhausting. Hopefully, Mikey's journey will take him off the insulin soon but it's hard to know with where he is. I think everyone here empathizes with you....we all reach a point where you think you can't do it...but you can and you have to because we don't have a choice. That sweet little face of our kitty imparts the trust that they know we will care for them no matter how hard it is on us.

Also, the dives are the worst in my book. They are so stressful because you don't know if you can get them stopped. I don't like low numbers but I find flat, low numbers to be less stressful than the really fast dives like you've experienced with Mikey.

I think you have a couple of options. He got into the 30s on the 0.1u dose so I'm thinking that might be too much for him. I think you could try one of the options below:

--take him off the insulin and give him six cycles to clear all the hormones out of his system and see where he lands. He might flatten out in high yellow and stay there and that would tell you he is not done with this dance yet. The con to this is he could be in high numbers for a few days which is not likely to hurt him but he might have to go back to a little higher dose to get him going again.

--take him down to a drop twice a day

Some times we have to throw the book out the window and come up with something else like shooting once a day or every 18 hours or feeding higher carb food all the time just to get one drop in him safely for long enough that his liver settles down.

You know best Mikey best and you know how you worry when you can't be there to test. We support you either way you go.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
i don't think i'd shoot and leave either. He's too unpredictable at this point to be able to do that.

I think if he were mine, since you have to work tomorrow, I'd skip in the morning again. I just don't think i'd trust him to not be monitored after getting any dose of insulin. That gives you til tomorrow evening to decide which way you'd like to go. Marje has laid out what are really the only two options available for you to consider.

See you tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top