11/12 Mikan AMPS 331, +2 254, +3 210: PMPS 313, +2 207, +4 199

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Very Active Member
11/11/24

Good morning.

Ouch, a pink start.
As per suggestions from @Wendy&Neko last night, I increased Mikan's dose to 6.5U this morning.
Mikan's response to insulin has been so small and I wanted her to have extra support for her pancreas at this point. I see some more progress in Mikan's behavior now so I am hoping that her numbers will start coming down soon as her mouth heals. I will reduce as she earns a reduction. Wish us luck!

Happy Tuesday and have a wonderful day, everyone!
 
11/11/24

Good morning.

Ouch, a pink start.
As per suggestions from @Wendy&Neko last night, I increased Mikan's dose to 6.5U this morning.
Mikan's response to insulin has been so small and I wanted her to have extra support for her pancreas at this point. I see some more progress in Mikan's behavior now so I am hoping that her numbers will start coming down soon as her mouth heals. I will reduce as she earns a reduction. Wish us luck!

Happy Tuesday and have a wonderful day, everyone!
Good morning, Kit. Wishing you both lots of good luck with the increase.
Let’s go sweet Mikan, shake that cute little tail and see what we can do.
I would think you will see some movement with an increase.
I’m glad she’s starting to feel better, Kit.
Wishing you both a calm and healing day with some blues, maybe :cool::cool:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Kit. Wishing you both lots of good luck with the increase.
Let’s go sweet Mikan, shake that cute little tail and see what we can do.
I would think you will see some movement with an increase.
I’m glad she’s starting to feel better, Kit.
Wishing you both a calm and healing day with some blues, maybe :cool::cool:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
Thanks - I hope the increase will get Mikan in a better range.
She's acting more or less normal now that I'm confident that she's healing well.
I wish I could look into Mikan's mouth, but she in no uncertain terms, said NO :rolleyes:
We'll see how she does this week!
Wishing you and Ivy a calm and enjoyable day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Paws crossed the increase does the trick.

Is she getting a follow up visit with the vet to check how her mouth is healing? Want to make sure there is no infection happening. Usually isn't, but good to know.
 
Paws crossed the increase does the trick.

Is she getting a follow up visit with the vet to check how her mouth is healing? Want to make sure there is no infection happening. Usually isn't, but good to know.
Thanks Wendy.
Behaviorally Mikan is showing much improvement. She's eating well, is more social, and is attention-seeking. No pawing of the mouth or drooling. I also smell her breath and I don't suspect infection. The vet didn't think the follow up was necessary. I think I'll give her this week to see how she does. If not improving, I'll call the vet to see what should be the next step! She wanted to change her insulin - but I don't know if that should be the answer for Mikan.
 
Thanks Wendy.
Behaviorally Mikan is showing much improvement. She's eating well, is more social, and is attention-seeking. No pawing of the mouth or drooling. I also smell her breath and I don't suspect infection. The vet didn't think the follow up was necessary. I think I'll give her this week to see how she does. If not improving, I'll call the vet to see what should be the next step! She wanted to change her insulin - but I don't know if that should be the answer for Mikan.
Seems like all good signs, Kit. All her blood work was ok, right??

Hoping she just needs to heal. And time.
Why did she want to change the insulin? She had been doing so well on Lantus before.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did you give 6 or 6.5 units tonight? (as per the spreadsheet).

What insulin did the vet mention as an alternative?
Oops, thanks Wendy for catching that. I gave her 6.5U this evening.
The vet didn't mention any specific insulin. I told her then that I wanted to give the dental a chance first.
I'm assuming that she was thinking Prozinc but can't be sure.
Mikan did well earlier this year with Lantus. I'm hoping that we can get back to that!
 
Seems like all good signs, Kit. All her blood work was ok, right??

Hoping she just needs to heal. And time.
Why did she want to change the insulin? She had been doing so well on Lantus before.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Exactly, Staci. The vet was saying that some cats do better with certain insulin - but I think we can get back to where she was earlier this year with Lantus.
I definitely want to give that a chance.
Her blood work was all good except for glucose. She's really getting back to being herself.
So I'm hopeful that she'll start showing better numbers soon.
Paws, fingers and toes all crossed! :)
 
If her numbers are going to improve post dental, it should happen soon, around 7-10 days after is what it takes for inflammation from the dental to reduce. One thing you might consider, if she doesn't start improving numbers in the next few days - is getting her tested for a couple of the high dose conditions, acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). We recommend that anyone with a cat on low carb food, no inflammation such as needing a dental, and 6 units and over get their cat tested.
 
If her numbers are going to improve post dental, it should happen soon, around 7-10 days after is what it takes for inflammation from the dental to reduce. One thing you might consider, if she doesn't start improving numbers in the next few days - is getting her tested for a couple of the high dose conditions, acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). We recommend that anyone with a cat on low carb food, no inflammation such as needing a dental, and 6 units and over get their cat tested.
Thanks Wendy.
I'll definitely keep that in mind when I talk to the vet. Much appreciated!
 
Hi Kit, Best of luck with the increase .I'm happy to hear that Mikan is feeling better.

social, and is attention-seeking is s good sign
Come on our fluffy girl let's start working that dose. That will all make us so happy :bighug: :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top