11/12 Juggie amps 268 +4 216 +9 88 +11 135 pmps 175 +2 180 +5 88

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
previous

I apologize in advance for length!!

Hi everyone. I have been refraining from posting daily when he’s just in his normal groove of numbers. Really I’m not sure if this forum is meant for daily posts or meant for posts only when help or opinions is needed and I started to feel bad about daily posting.

So things with Juggie have been alright. Been testing as much as I can and his numbers have been yellow/blue with a pink here and there. Did a curve and raised unit accordingly and all has been well.

the other day my daughter left her cheesecake on the coffee table to go to the bathroom! When she came back of course Juggie was chowing down and his numbers of course went wonky after. Super high and then low.

Today his low was 88 (he ate his brothers ff pate and his numbers rised) I have decreased his pmps unit accordingly. My question is this, could I have kept him at the 1.75 if I tested every few hours? I am off for next 2 days and I feel sort of bummed that most likely the low was a result of his junk food binge and not actual reaction to insulin amount. Seriously a sugar cat is = to a toddler with having to lockdown your home lol
 
Hi Dena, good to hear from you! Was looking at Juggie's SS the other day to see how things were. :-)
You don't need to apologize for not posting every day! Some people do, but there is no requirement to do so.

FF pate should not cause his numbers to rise since its low carb. He did earn a reduction with that drop below 90 per SLGS.
 
Hi Dena, good to hear from you! Was looking at Juggie's SS the other day to see how things were. :)
Hi Bhooma :) thanks for looking out for us. You are always so kind :)
You don't need to apologize for not posting every day! Some people do, but there is no requirement to do so.
good to know. I think I just felt like a burden taking up board space without needing any real assistance

FF pate should not cause his numbers to rise since its low carb.
question then, how come we are not supposed to feed in the 2 hours before doing am & pmps numbers?

He did earn a reduction with that drop below 90 per SLGS.
I do understand that as per slgs he gets a decrease (but was it really earned lol) but my question was if his low /wacky numbers were caused by his eating cheesecake the other day ( after hes been bouncing) and not a normal reaction to insulin​

and if so, would it have been ok to not lower (since before cheesecake incident his numbers were not low at all) dose and just test every hour or two to monitor. (I did lower dose just was curious if I could have left it and then monitored because of cheesecake), is that just a crazy idea? I just want so badly for him to have better numbers :(
 
Last edited:
question then, how come we are not supposed to feed in the 2 hours before doing am & pmps numbers?
You don't want to feed 2 hours before the shot because you don't want the PS number to be food influenced. When taking a call about whether to shoot or not, you don't want that decision to be based on a number that has been temporarily inflated by food.

I do understand that as per slgs he gets a decrease (but was it really earned lol) but my question was if his low /wacky numbers were caused by his eating cheesecake the other day ( after hes been bouncing) and not a normal reaction to insulin
and if so, would it have been ok to not lower (since before cheesecake incident his numbers were not low at all) dose and just test every hour or two to monitor. (I did lower dose just was curious if I could have left it and then monitored because of cheesecake)
I don't think his numbers dropped to 88 because he ate cheesecake. It just happens that you managed to catch that low when testing. It's possible that he is dropping to green and you are not at home to catch it. Especially in the cycles where you see blue preshots.
 
You don't want to feed 2 hours before the shot because you don't want the PS number to be food influenced. When taking a call about whether to shoot or not, you don't want that decision to be based on a number that has been temporarily inflated by food.
Ok. I am just confused because I said after his 88 he ate and his numbers went up and you had said that ff pate would not raise his numbers so in reality isn’t his raised numbers at pmps based on food? I’m sorry I’m not grasping this.


I don't think his numbers dropped to 88 because he ate cheesecake. It just happens that you managed to catch that low when testing. It's possible that he is dropping to green and you are not at home to catch it. Especially in the cycles where you see blue preshots.
Ok good to know. I just figured it was from the huge amount of cheesecake he ate that caused his pink numbers then his low numbers but if that’s not the case then that’s good that it’s an actual earned decrease :)

thanks so much for your help sometimes I think I totally got this and then boom I feel lost.
 
Ok. I am just confused because I said after his 88 he ate and his numbers went up and you had said that ff pate would not raise his numbers so in reality isn’t his raised numbers at pmps based on food? I’m sorry I’m not grasping this.
Oh sorry. I meant that FF pate is low carb and would not cause his numbers to spike like high carb food/cheesecake would. If he ate the FF pate at +9, any influence of the food would have worm off by PMPS. But yes, the subsequent rise in his numbers was a combination of the insulin wearing off at the end of the cycle and food cutting short duration. There is less effect of insulin after the nadir, so feeding/eating then, can cause numbers to move up.

sometimes I think I totally got this and then boom I feel lost.
It is pretty confusing and not all straightforward. so many things affect the numbers!
 
Oh sorry. I meant that FF pate is low carb and would not cause his numbers to spike like high carb food/cheesecake would. If he ate the FF pate at +9, any influence of the food would have worm off by PMPS. But yes, the subsequent rise in his numbers was a combination of the insulin wearing off at the end of the cycle and food cutting short duration. There is less effect of insulin after the nadir, so feeding/eating then, can cause numbers to move up.


It is pretty confusing and not all straightforward. so many things affect the numbers!
I think I get what you are saying now. I just did a +5 and he’s at 88 again :(
 
I think I get what you are saying now. I just did a +5 and he’s at 88 again :(
I would no take a back to back reduction since he does not hold them. Even though you are following SLGS. Stay with 1.5 U.

Feed some LC. 88 is a safe normal number.
 
I would no take a back to back reduction since he does not hold them. Even though you are following SLGS. Stay with 1.5 U.

Feed some LC. 88 is a safe normal number.
I was wondering about that. I will stay at 1.5U. He is currently eating, it’s 2 am now and I’m overtired and can’t sleep so wish me luck with sleep. Thanks again for your help, it’s always appreciated:)
 
Back
Top