11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210 +4 130 +6 141 +11.5 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29577

Recap:
AMPS: 310
+2: 253
+4: 93
+4.5: 71 scant 9% gravy
+5: 56 1/4 tsp 9% w/scant gravy
+5.5 56 1/4 tsp 4%
+6: 58
+6.5: 54
+7: 57
+8: 102
+11: 252
PMPS: 338
+2: 331
+4: 359


Happy Friday LL!!

WCR: 4Ps in place....lots of running and playing with the Tobmeisters today and now they are both napping. Mike and I cannot figure out why Gracie's bounces are now eeking up into the mid pinks...very discouraging. Her bounces used to be low pink and then flat yellows. It's tough to know...if we base dosing on her nadirs when she's not bouncing, you wouldn't think she needs an increase but I think we are going to need to do just that in order to bring her overall numbers down. I'm not worried if her mid-cycle numbers drop a little more or we have to work harder to keep them above 50...we test alot and are ok with dealing with low numbers. So we are going to wait the 6 cycles (this is #3) and see what happens. We were hoping to implement Jill's plan of loading her up at PS and +1 with her food but it is too much for her....she has never had that much food at one time and she won't eat it all so we'll have to go back to PS, +1, +2, +3 but we are slowly increasing the %carbs early in the cycle to 4-5 so we can try and slow those big drops like yesterday. Between the big drop and surfing in the 50s for so long, perhaps that is the reason she bounced so hard today. We were so happy to have her in the 50s and to be able to keep her above 50 without too much work...just a little 9% gravy a couple times. We are going to make her work harder for her reductions.

Hope you all have a wonderfu, restful day. Any encouragement, experience greatly appreciated..we're pretty down today about these high pinks. So we will focus on all that we HAVE to be thankful for and that includes all of you!!!
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348

The idea of slightly higher carbs up front to slow the drops is intriguing. Maybe we've been too aggressive in limiting carbs, Mr. l expects to see them and reacts badly when they aren't there. Hmmmm, I just worry about when they're high and you don't know if a drop is coming or not. What then? Although really, there isn't much difference between 1% and 5% and the numbers can vary from batch to batch. ohmygod_smile It never ends.

At least Gracie has a later nadir. Trying to get Tess to eat all her food before +3 or 4 is a battle.

I hope this works for Gracie and her numbers start evening out. I though I had it worked out for Tess, but something seems to have changed. Perhaps we need to readjust with every decrease.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348

Morning Marjorie. As I was reading your condo this morning I had 2 thoughts I'd like to share with you. First: The way you are now so matter-of-fact about dealing with low numbers, testing all the time...it made me think of your first few posts, and I had to laugh :lol: Remember how panicked you used to get? And now it's just nuthin'. You are such a pro now, I guess I just wanted you to realize how far you all have come, and in a short time, too. Very impressive.

Second, about feeding her...I'm wondering if you can slowly move the feeding times closer together, kind of like adjusting a shot time, like feed every 1/2 hour or if she wont eat that soon, start with every 45-55 mins and maybe each day feed the next mm 5 or 10 mins earlier. You might be able to eventually get her to eat all the food at least by +2. Just an idea.

The higher carb is an interesting idea also, one I probably wouldn't have thought of. Always wishing you guys good luck, and never doubting that you will get it all figured out.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348

wish i had useful info for you...i don't.
but ive got a whole lot of encouragement to offer! (and quite a supply of craziness too...).

somehow i thought this day was going to be a little sunnier for our lantus family...maybe it will turn around...

celi

Gracie...NO BOUNCE!! dat liver just gonna hafta accept da fact dat da beans know what's best for you...and get wit da program.
tell him DA B SAY SO!!
binks
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348

Thanks, Celi.....it's just a huge bummer. Never thought a few numbers would so influence my day :lol: :lol:

Binks...I wants to be like you!!! Tanks for hepping me today by coming by...maybe we needs a party??
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348

Gracie,

Essi caught wind that you are on the pink floor just like Mr Tinkles, she wants both of you to join her in surfing the blue/green waters of the Calif Coast. Talk about it amongst ur fury selves, she would love for you guys to join her.

Hugs

Danette & Essi
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296

Danette.....Gracie would love to join Essi 'cept she says...that water is COLD!!! :lol: :lol:

Ok...yellow by the skin of her teeth....if she won't come down to blue maybe I can get some flat yellows and something good tonight. PLEASE???
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296

Nice to see that Gracie came down to the yellow floor, better than pink! Good luck with the food, it can make a dramatic difference when/what you feed, it just takes time to figure out what works best for your kitty....I'm sure you will get there!
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296

marjorie mentioned feeding some foods with a slightly higher percentage of carbs. i need to clarify.

over the years some caregivers have noticed a marked improvement when they fed foods with a little more carbs in them. the only way to know if YOUR kitty is one of them is to try it. experiment. there is no one size fits all approach to treating feline diabetics. find what works for your cat!

for your reading pleasure:
Low Carb vs Lower Carb
Raising the Carbs

note we're still talking about feeding a low carb - high proein diet to our kitties...
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296

Thanks Jill for clarifying that for everyone and my bad. We're only looking at going from 0-2% carbs to 4-5% carbs (that is actually, calories from carbs). So it's still pretty low carb. AND I should also say this is something Jill and I "discussed" for Gracie. My feeling is since ECID, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. We just haven't found what works best for Grace yet so we're experimenting and I'm relaying that but it doesn't mean I'm advocating changes for other cats....each person needs to figure that out for their own cat with the help of the advisors.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296 +6 305

and once again i have missed your condo... bad me! I love these food discussions - it does take me back to what I went through, when I changed how I feed Mannie, ie: front loading the cycle. It took alot of experimenting with foods, carb count etc, to learn what works for him. I'm sure you'll get there with Gracie. I found too that once I got the feeding thing down, got the bounces minimized that upping the dose came with the territory. and then - there is always an and then--- his needs shifted and we have had to adjust. Never set in stone. As Ann said - it just never ends... Good luck with it all. :smile:

I think today Gracie has just bounced today from yesterday. She had such a great cycle. I hope she clears this one quickly. :-D

Gracie - what are you doing way up there? Come on down - wanna come to my place? my bean has a fire built in the fireplace, and it is really warm.... see you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296 +6 305

Ah Marjorie...you always ask such good questions and are always so enthusiastic about things. Gracie is a real lucky girl...having you and the Cabana Boy there to help her. :mrgreen: She and Tobey are really fortunate that you two have such great attitudes about everything! We all battle the pinks it seems...wish I could say something that would make these kitties top going up there. Oh well...guess we have to just bear it...good job as always guys!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie AMPS 353 +2 348 +4 296 +6 305

Anne: I think we must have cross posted because running back through my condo, I just saw your note. Yes....it is funny about how we were and how we are...even Mike. We said we have to go back to some of those first condos for a good laugh!!! But what really cracks me up is when I see him posting to you all and he's writing from Gracie...he does baby kitty talk. I told him last night I swear I will never tell any of his fighter jock friends. He is a LL addict :lol: :lol:

That is a great idea and I will also try it...I thought I just should feed on the hour because if I feed at say, +1.5 and test at +2, I could really get a food spike. We're just going to have to experiment here.

Michelle: thanks for the support...as always. I know you have been through alot and you have been so patient and look how it's paying off...Mannie is doing great.

Danette, Tena, and Laurie: thanks for the support, too. I know you all have been there are or there and so understand our frustration.

Pat: I always want to hug you...you are there when I need you the most!! I felt bad that my morning post was such a Debbie Downer...not what anyone needs. We just gotta keep plugging through just like you have done for the last year with TWO cats and one of them being DQ Raja :lol: :lol: Thank you!!
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301

You're welcome Tena...it's the scientist in me :lol: :lol: love numbers...how geeky is that?

I'm going to try feeding her a 1-2% food at post PMPS and +1 so she doesn't get a huge food spike at +2; then I'll switch to a little higher % carbs--4% to see if I can control any dives around +2/+3. Question...is it ok to give her a bit of 4% at +1.5 to start controlling any dives? Thanks!!
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301

something to consider purchasing....

liftvestcat.jpg
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301

Yes MJ...something to consider since she dropped 90 in two hours despite my manipulations!!! Just fed her some 5% to see if she'll drop a little slower but still drop. VERY FUNNY picture...I love it....gotta keep that one :lol: :lol:

eta: good to know, Michelle..I may have to get creative :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301

Hey guys - our girl-kitty sure had a good day yesterday. Liver training school - the worst, isn't it?

I love food talk. i always learn a lot.

You sure have had a busy week - hoping for a calm weekend for you two and the kitties.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210

Hi Marjorie I just wanted to wish you well with the experiment. Wouldn't it be great if our diabetic kitties came with personalized instruction manuals? I'd sure love one for Tori. Hope Gracie doesn't go diving tonight and that you get some peaceful sleep.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210

Liver training is the pits :lol: :lol: :lol: I just want to say to it "I GOT THIS UNDER CONTROL!!" :lol:

Well...I'm on solo duty this weekend...Mike left to fly today and won't be back until Monday. I will dedicate my whole weekend to Gracie (as usual) if she
will just decide lower, safe numbers are AOK!!!
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210

Good luck on the experiment, it would make life lot easier. Lots more good choices in that range. I wonder what she has in store for the rest of the night.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210

I have no idea and I don't want to jinx it by wagering a guess :lol: :lol: I keep thinking I'll have a cup of tea but I think I'll wait until +3..that should tell me whether it's going to be an up late night or a sleepus night.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210 +3 148

You are so right....gave her 2 good tsp of 6%...I so want her to get into green before I put on the 9% speed brakes :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210 +3 148 +4 130

Looks like Grcie is slowing to a nice blue surf. You may get to go to bed tonight! Tess is in her bouince so I'll be saying good Night.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210 +3 148 +4 130

Yup..she sputtered and is headed back up but at least we got some blue.

Hope you get some badly needed rest tonight, Ann. I'm going to finish watching "The Amazing Race", test her once more, and head for bed.
 
Re: 11/12 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 210 +3 148 +4 130 +5 152 DOSE ?

Jill and I have been discussing a possible dose increase back to 1u from f.75u; she wanted to see what Gracie did and she came down into blue tonight
but not green. It's only been four cycles since last increase. Since you all will be up before I will be and I shoot at 7: 30 am Mountain Time, any advice
on whether I should go ahead and take her up in the morning OR let her run through a few extra cycles at the f.75u is appreciated. We've been changing
her dose around alot lately so I wonder if it is better to let her get in a full 6-8 cycles at this dose for Lantus's consistency or to be more aggressive and
get her dose up to 1u.

Thank you!! I'll check in first thing in the morning...any bump is greatly appreciated!
 
Re: 11/13 Gracie URGENT DOSE QUESTION

Last night recap:
AMPS: 301
+2: 210
+3: 148
+4: 130
+5: 152
+6: 141


Jill and I have been discussing a possible dose increase back to 1u from f.75u; she wanted to see what Gracie did and she ran in blue most of last night...her +11.5 is 220.
It's only been four cycles since last increase. Any advice on whether I should go ahead and take her up this morning OR let her run through a few extra cycles at the f.75u is appreciated. We've been changing her dose around alot lately so I wonder if it is better to let her get in a full 6-8 cycles at this dose for Lantus's consistency or to be more aggressive and get her dose up to 1u. I have to shoot in 20 mins!! (Sorry..overslept...up until 2:30).
 
Re: 11/13 Gracie URGENT DOSE QUESTION PLS

I think this is entirely your call. Gracie wasn't in particularly low blues so I think it's a matter of how aggressive you want to be.
 
Re: 11/13 Gracie URGENT DOSE QUESTION PLS

Marjorie, It is rare for Libby or Jill to be wrong, but according to your ss looks like she could be in a bounce right now--This was a dose decrease to 0.75 right for several days?
It is really up to you when you want to increase..Moonie rarely holds a dose so we are usually going up a bit in order to come back down, sort of like a dose tune up--
Moonie is on her way to a 1.00 right now, even though I add drops onto her dose, she will most likely need to go to 1.00 to get herself back to nice greens again.
If you do increase, you are home today to monitor right?? It is your call..Dont stress It will be fine either way--
 
Re: 11/13 Gracie URGENT DOSE QUESTION PLS

I'm not a big fan of rushing increases too close together, but I do think Gracie would benefit from increasing. If it were me, I would wait at least one more cycle....but as Sienne said, it's a matter of how aggressive you want to be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top