? 11/12 Andy (sigh) - amps 497; +4 445 VET appt tomorrow-need advice

Yvonne & Andy &BJ (GA)

Member Since 2015
At pmps +5 was down to 166 so assumed he bounced as it is almost every time he gets under 200.

Please can anyone explain what is going on with Andy. We have a vet appointment tomorrow and they do not use Lantus in their practice as most don't around here due to cost. I will need to justify why I switched him from Novolin. Looking for talking points. The only reasons I have is his history of bouncing and amps & pmps #'s from before his ER visit. But they think Lantus was the reason for his UTI. PLEASE anyone???
 
Last edited:
I think that in terms of a justification, you are trying to get Andy better regulated. I don't know that you need to be more technical than that. Your choice of insulin will not cause a UTI, but lack of regulation can lead to an environment where a UTI could be more likely to develop (i.e. sugar in the urine).

Many here don't get into details regarding insulin dose with vets because they often are not as familiar with the protocols and home testing as experienced members on this board are. Are you seeing the vet tomorrow for something related to is FD or is it for another problem?
 
I think that in terms of a justification, you are trying to get Andy better regulated. I don't know that you need to be more technical than that. Your choice of insulin will not cause a UTI, but lack of regulation can lead to an environment where a UTI could be more likely to develop (i.e. sugar in the urine).

Many here don't get into details regarding insulin dose with vets because they often are not as familiar with the protocols and home testing as experienced members on this board are. Are you seeing the vet tomorrow for something related to is FD or is it for another problem?

We have our annual appt and followup after his recent UTI and hospitalization. They switched him to Novolin in ER and I switched him back the following week. They only use Novolin, Vetsulin and occasionally pzi. I really like these vets and they are a 24/7 ER vet also so would like to continue with them. But not sure how they will take me questioning their judgement on Andy.
 
But they think Lantus was the reason for his UTI. PLEASE anyone???
I really don't see how these are connected other than high BG levels provide a friendly environment to the growth of bacteria in the bladder. That's possible with any insulin if kitty runs high a lot of the time.

You're in that conundrum many here have faced - how to express your desire to do things differently from what the vets have recommended. It's a common problem. Lantus with its depot action is *more likely* to reduce bouncing but that also depends heavily on the cat. Some (like my guy!) are volatile in their responses and that's just the way it is. Teasel is definitely better on Lantus but smooth, level curves continue to elude us. :confused:
 
Andy will keep bouncing, until he gets more comfortable in lower numbers. Did you retest that 66 a few nights ago? My suggestion is to pick one of the dosing methods here, and follow it. And I see he got into dry food last week. :rolleyes: Any chance of getting that permanently out of the house?

My vet started me on Caninsulin (rebranded as Vetsulin in the US to sound less "doggy"). She didn't want me to switch as that's what she knew. Fortunately a locum vet got us switched to Lantus. And once I showed the dosing method guidelines to my vet, along with weekly updates of the spreadsheet for a while, she was fine with what I was doing.
 
Andy will keep bouncing, until he gets more comfortable in lower numbers. Did you retest that 66 a few nights ago? My suggestion is to pick one of the dosing methods here, and follow it. And I see he got into dry food last week. :rolleyes: Any chance of getting that permanently out of the house?

Wendy, I have 20 other cats and feed a combo of canned and dry. It is usually not a problem but Andy was sneaky and tore open a new bag - did not get too much.

Andy was on Lantus over 2 yrs and we used a vet at this practice that has since moved away. I believe he was the only one there familiar with it. Andy never became familiar with lower numbers but was less volatile on Lantus. We stayed on it and I took copies of his spreadsheets and all was ok. The issue just arose since his ER/UTI episode 2 weeks ago. I am anticipating tomorrow and just want to be prepared. Thank you for responding.
 
Last edited:
I really don't see how these are connected other than high BG levels provide a friendly environment to the growth of bacteria in the bladder. That's possible with any insulin if kitty runs high a lot of the time.

You're in that conundrum many here have faced - how to express your desire to do things differently from what the vets have recommended. It's a common problem. Lantus with its depot action is *more likely* to reduce bouncing but that also depends heavily on the cat. Some (like my guy!) are volatile in their responses and that's just the way it is. Teasel is definitely better on Lantus but smooth, level curves continue to elude us. :confused:

I really like our vet practice. We live in a rural area where many people can't afford to spend $'s on their pets so the vets around try to keep their costs down. And lots of people just either take their cats to a shelter or put them to sleep if they get diabetes. If I had not found this board, I would have been lost. It has helped me tremendously over the years, most recently with Big John who does well on Lantus. Thank you again for your response.
 
Perhaps a gentle approach - just tell them that you're getting some really good support/help from this group. I printed a couple of the stickies and took them to my vet - hoping to bring down the 'defense mechanism'...still got a little pushback, but for the most part he was so thrilled that I was testing at home he seemed to gentle down on the help I was getting on line...don't get into an argument...just say these folks at the FDMB have helped many, many kitties reach regulation/remission...I'm hoping we can get as far. I appreciate any help you can provide if only to give me a prescription for the medicine I'd like to use on my cat....

There's a lot of knowledge and information in this collective body of people - and I'd take that to the bank any day of the week over what my vets have had to say - up to euthanasia because the first one said if it were his cat, he'd put her down...so much for that verdict! You're doing a fine job helping your Big John...do your best and he'll be around a long time to thank you...or perhaps aggravate you to death along the way...Luci is a dumpster diver too...always on patrol for contraband...I have to be super diligent...sometimes I make mistakes...and Luci is ever watchful for me to be careless with food...she is never forgiving of my leaving something out on the counter or carelessly leaving a loaf of bread out...she too used to rip open bags of dry food - long before I found out she had diabetes--- never could trust her around a bag of kibble! I mean within minutes of bringing it in from the grocery store - if I didn't put it away in a container with a lid on it - she'd have the side of the bag ripped open!!! While I was unloading the car! She's always watching, waiting for a chance to pounce...bad girl...

So best of luck to you at the vets...be kind, professional and most of all - be determined. You know what you need to do - be confident in that!
 
Back
Top