11/11 Squamee amps 291 1.1U

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Very Active Member
Good morning, all.
Gator, I had a conversation with you in my head, and decided you would cheer me on to be my own person even tho I know you would have shot 1.2.( And sometimes the chicken dance is fun! :lol:) Anyhow, I am going to be out a fair amount today, so I had to go slow. I asked myself about it, and, for the moment, I think I needed to see 300 to go to 1.2. (although sometimes with the gradations on the syringe being as small as they are, I do wonder what I am really giving)
She took the pill this morning (with fortiflora and parmesan) and 2 or 3 minutes later started to vomit. I picked her up and she stopped. She had not yet eaten. Can there be something about this pill mixture that makes her vomit? As far as I know, the pill did not come up. (yet)
I am thinking she has kidney disease, even tho my vet, so far, does not agree. Does that involve a lot of nausea?
 
Absolutely! You hold the needle I do not! I always encourage you to do what YOU think is right - not what you think I think I might want.

lol Don't mind me, I'm just the guy in the corner making chicken sounds. ;-)

I'm not a CRF/CKD expert. There are a few sites though out there on the topic I have read. I don't recall anything about vomiting but it would be worth reading the sites out there.
 
does squamee ever vomit without the pill? are we still wondering if this is an injectable drug or if there's any otherj way to administer it?
and yes, your holding the syringe...
 
AMPS 291 1.1U
+3 217
+4.75 131
+7 187

Am giving us a break from testing and waiting till +12 (just a little over an hour away from now). Hoping she doesn't zoom up. Thinking about what to shoot--probably 1.2 assuming she is higher than this morning---or even if she is not, maybe do 1.2 with the hopes of moving everything down. ( of course she could zoom even higher, and then I would wonder about how much to raise her)
Vet got stuck in traffic and didn't show this AM. rescheduled for Sat (he isn't in tomorrow and I decided to stick with same vet). I spoke to him and he said the results of the fructosamine test (which I now know to tell them NOT to do) were poor regulation, so he want me to up to 1.5 on a consistent basis. Of course, I am not going to do that, but it has given me a nudge about raising the dose.
 
Vets do love that ol' frutosamine! :lol: "Vetjitsu." :-D

I'm pretty sure it's actually part of a 'protocol' for regulation in vet texts. Of course the vet text also describe that vets should use it to ensure owner compliance which I found insulting when I read that. But I guess not all owners can reliably even manage to give a cat shots sooo. However, the vet texts I read did not equally describe how to handle the compliant/dedicated owners and show them some flipping r-e-s-p-e-c-t. Just the way the text 'talked down' [IMHO] about owners in an unbalanced way really did not sit well with me. This is how they are trained after all! *sigh*

OK off my soap box.

You should tell your vet that you're getting dosing input from some dude on the Internets named "Gator" - I would love to see his reaction. It would probably look something like :shock: Ooo yea and he occasionally makes chicken sounds over in the corner. lol - that's a good way to freak out a vet.

BTW I'm with you on the 1.2. I'm hoping that gets you the needed traction - if not then she'll probably be up over 350 and I might consider trying the 1.3 again.
 
Thanks, gator. I will go armed with various ways to flip out the vet! :roll:
Hope tomorrow doesn't bring Higher numbers---but if it does, I am prepared to do 1.3
 
Judy,
I was just looking at your SS again. And I'd just like to say you are doing a kick-ass job testing. I would not be able to add my commentary [and clucking ;-) ] if it were not for the great job you are doing on that. I don't think I've ever asked for a time for you to test - you just seem to have that on auto. And you seem to have the knack for getting a lot of the right times in question. You even seem to fit in some of those night time tests which I was never able to achieve! Great work! Yet another example that cat moms rock.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top