11/11 Rufus AMPS 320, +7 343, PMPS 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

... I forgot to update again. :oops:

Well, 320 is a better AMPS than yesterday's 398, but still pretty stinky! We're sticking to our guns, though.

NeighborFriend came over last night and looked at Rufus' paw. It was obvious to her that his toes were painful, but she couldn't feel any sign of a fracture or abscess. Her theory is that (with the way he tends to go scampering away when anything startles him) he probably overextended his leg when he jumped down from some height and landed funny. He now appears to be walking on his wrist instead of the tips of his toes. I'm the type of person who sees smoke and starts running around in circles, screaming, "Fire! Fire!"... Amy grabs the extinguisher. So, I feel better. :lol:

Still, if he continues to limp for longer than I deem acceptable - off to the vet we go! Because I know they miss him when he's not there. In fact, I like to go as often as possible - it's just not right to deny Appreciators Of Rufus their fill... and maybe we can pick up something to dull the pain until it heals up.
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

Hope Rufus's paw begins to mend. Always a good idea to it checked out if it doesn't seem to be resolving itself. Glad he's down a bit today.
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

it's always worth an x-ray to have things checked out. You said he doesn't usually show pain and now he obviously has pain. Walking on his wrists isn't normal. Also, his numbers look like something could be wrong. I would take him in for an x-ray.
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

I agree with Libby. If something is broken, it is only getting worse with his walking on it Bee...
Feel better Rufus...poor boy...hope it will be okay...but those numbers are not his usual...I would definitely get an xray....
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

poor rufus .. having a sore paw can't be no fun ... I hope he starts feeling better real soon .. and then hopefully that will help his numbers come down ... have a good day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

Gah! I know he needs an x-ray. I wish we had known about his paw earlier. He had an x-ray while he was there last time - but he's so big they weren't able to get his feet in it. I know they wouldn't have seen the problem that way; Amy told me the method they used to get a proper view of an injured paw involved sedation and some gauze-rigging. :?

Oh, well... Are there any general rules for insulin with a sedated cat? We'll probably take him on the weekend, so that we can go early enough to spend as much time there as we have to, without keeping them there past their regular hours. It's possible that any sedative would have worn off by dinner time (I'm thinking that a loopy cat probably isn't a very hungry cat). But what if they can get him sedated right around onset? Would the sedative have a negative reaction with the Lantus?

Rufus is sleeping in Mom's closet as I type. I don't blame him for wanting some time alone - J-F is very rambunctious (think of Colorpoint Siamese) - if you already don't feel well, that's got to be a pain to sit around and listen to.
 
Re: 11/11 Rufus AMPS 320

Bee, I would try to get him in as soon as you can...he's in pain, I wouldn't wait. The longer you wait, the more risk of complications/further damage, and the longer he's going to suffer. Are they in today? I'd give them a call.
 
318 PMPS. Rufus will be dropped off at the vet in the morning and spend all day with his girlfriends. We'll get the report when Mom picks him up in the PM, and hopefully they'll be home in good time for dinner.

Speaking of... Food time.
 
in answer to your question about insulin and sedation, did they give you any instructions? Does he have to fast tonight?

Usually people give either 1/2 dose or no dose in the morning, depending on numbers and whether he can eat. Then test as soon as you get home with him tomorrow afternoon. Sometimes the sedative causes BGs to drop, even as it is wearing off. By getting a test as soon as you get home, when you get his PMPS test later you'll be able to see if he is dropping, and how fast. He might need a reduced dose again tomorrow night. I'm sure it depends on how deeply they have to put him under, too.

I hope things are ok, but I'm glad you're getting it checked out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top