11/11 Oberon PMPS 66, +0.5 77, +1 67, +2 58, +2.5 78, +3 97, +3.5 90, +4 87, +5 89, +5.5 95

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday (what the heck was that?): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-214-5-165-6-110-6-5-89-7-81-7-5-90.238357/

Oberon's been surfing in the greens and very low blues since late last night... made for a very long night for me but DH took over at about 4 am. Coming up just slightly now (121 at AMPS), so I expect he'll start to head back up soon. Gave him his full Lantus dose (9.75 U), no R. Have to finish updating his SS/graph and then I'm heading back to bed.

Two big long dips in a row is definitely a break from his usual pattern. Wonder if it's the start of a trend or if he'll be back to his usual pinks soon.
 
Still surfing. Poor boy... his favorite daytime sleeping spot is under a big chair in the living room. I can't get to him to test under there, so I'm dragging him out every half hour. I'm thinking I need to put a tray+towel under there so I can just slide him out and back in again.
 
Yowsa, Oberon :eek: Congrats on a wonderful cycle...paws crossed for PMPS!

Pretty sure that since you publicly identified a cycle pattern the other day, he decided to make a new one :cat:

Hope you had a good day, Lisa :bighug:
 
Yowsa, Oberon :eek: Congrats on a wonderful cycle...paws crossed for PMPS!

Pretty sure that since you publicly identified a cycle pattern the other day, he decided to make a new one :cat:

Hope you had a good day, Lisa :bighug:

Yep, I'm quite sure that's what happened. My cat is a jerk.

73 at 11.25, so dropping a bit but still well above 50. Now I have to think about what my options might be at PMPS if he's above 50. Shoot the full dose, BCS, skip, or stall? Normally I'd do the full dose knowing that his dips don't last all that long and he'll be on his way up soon. But today I have no idea what he's up to. Leaning towards a BCS.
 
OK, 66 at PMPS so definitely ok to shoot. Unless there's good reason not to I'm actually inclined to give the full dose. Thoughts?
 
:cool:

B9A9FD61-1496-4EAD-B6F5-8A2DBDADEE56.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • B9A9FD61-1496-4EAD-B6F5-8A2DBDADEE56.jpeg
    B9A9FD61-1496-4EAD-B6F5-8A2DBDADEE56.jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 66
What a day! :D Look how many hours of greenage in a row.

That little dip end of day might have been a Lantus double dip.

I know! He's close to his record for green, and that's not counting the green last night, with just a bit of low blue between that and this morning's greens.

Maybe a double dip... we'd also been feeding him a little bit of MC every time we tested him up, right until +10. So I think he was coming down from the food bump. I'm trying to go a little longer without feeding MC to see what happens.
 
Beware of IAA kitties that start to resemble Kermit the frog.:D Seriously though, this much greenage and the fact that R usage has been declining is a warning that caution is key. Based on last night's reaction to R, should you find a time to use it, might want to step down the R scale a bit.

I hope you managed to put the brakes on.
 
Yeah, something is definitely changing. I'm happy to see all this green, but what if the antibodies fully kick loose with all this Lantus on board? I'm wondering whether I should have a more conservative threshold for reductions than the usual TR protocol.
 
FYI, when Neko's IAA broke/SRT kicked in - both happened at same time, I used a reduction point of 70. Once things slowed down, I moved back to 50. Other tools you can use are BCS to help drain the depot, or skips if you need to sleep or otherwise get a life back.
 
Reduction threshold of 70 seems like it might not be a bad idea. My goal here isn't remission (yet); I really just want to get him below renal threshold as much as possible, but safely.

97 at +3... could be from the HC I gave him, but maybe he's finally coming back up. Not that I really want him in high numbers, but sleep would be nice.
 
More morning numbers: +10 93, +10.5 88, +11.25 73

Back down to 87, so that was probably a food bump.

He's been sleeping pretty much all day; I test him wherever he is and I've been bringing MC/HC food over to him so the other cats don't get it. He's not coming to the kitchen and asking for food like he usually does, but I've been stuffing him with the higher carb stuff so I'm guessing he really just isn't hungry. Can't tell whether he's enjoying these low numbers or feeling a little off.
 
With a high dose kitty, if you find yourself struggling to keep numbers above 50 through an entire cycle a reduction might be in order.

He's not coming to the kitchen and asking for food like he usually does, but I've been stuffing him with the higher carb stuff so I'm guessing he really just isn't hungry.
When there’s enough insulin on board to keep numbers in the normal zone, the energy from food is able to make it to all the cells in his body and hunger subsides.
My goal here isn't remission (yet);
In the Sugar Dance it’s cat that leads.
 
And as soon as I posted that, he came over and banged on the recycling bin to demand food. :rolleyes:

So the question now is how much to reduce. Quick history of the past couple of weeks: With 10 U he dropped to 48, so we reduced to 9.5 U. Then we snuck it up to 9.75 U after 8 cycles rather than going all the way back to 10 U. Think I should just reduce by 0.25 U? Or since I'm normally working in 0.5 increments maybe go down to 9.25?
 
95 at +5.5. Just fed him a mix of 12% and 20% (finished off the cans) and left some regular food in his feeder, and I'm heading to bed. DH will check him at +8.
 
So the question now is how much to reduce.
You are still in the learning phase of what size reduction works for Oberon. Until you have more data, I'd start with a 0.5 unit reduction. The larger depots can be a bear to deal with after a reduction.

Other thought I had - you might be dealing with some glucose toxicity breaking. That can also mean reductions.
 
You are still in the learning phase of what size reduction works for Oberon. Until you have more data, I'd start with a 0.5 unit reduction. The larger depots can be a bear to deal with after a reduction.

Other thought I had - you might be dealing with some glucose toxicity breaking. That can also mean reductions.

OK, down to 9.25. Good point about the glucose toxicity.
 
Back
Top