11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 +3 304 +5 211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
Morning,
Wow, OKAY,
two good/easy blood draws last night...Back to dealing with the spitfire this morning! Lots of growling, lots of hisses, BG meter was smacked around pretty good, (it just slides on the carpet but he feels better) Funny how he associates the BG meter with the owie...sometimes when he sees my internet stick (which looks similar) he hisses at it too...
Anyway, it was not a pleasant vampire experience this morning. HOWEVER, I persevered! I told him it had to be done, I kept my cool...
I gave 1U this morning, lets see if that helps? I will be doing a +3, unless I see him acting odd...which i doubt...
Did i mention? Morning! :smile:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29456
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392

Im glad you got some easy blood tests last night .. I know this morning was a different story, but like you said, you persevered! Now come on down mowgli .. no need to be that high ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392

Nice job Keri! At least he's not red this morning, hope he comes down from there. Funny how he smacks the meter around!
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392

Congrats on the easier ear sticks! Hope Mowgli comes down a bit with the 1u. You're doing great.
One idea, if your meter has a beep function, you might want to turn it off or turn it down. . . .

Tony
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392

No, my meter doesn't have any beeps, any noise at all actually...
I guess he has just decided he KNOWS what that thing is for!
lol
silly baby...
ok..see ya in a bit...must clean the house....
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392

Well he gets an A+ for being so smart! (HA. sometimes I wish they weren't!!!) :lol:
I like what you said
Mowgli and Keri said:
...
Anyway, it was not a pleasant vampire experience this morning. HOWEVER, I persevered! I told him it had to be done, I kept my cool...
You told him it had to be done! Atta girl! :mrgreen:
Keep on talking to him about how that number is imperative to get and that it is immensely important for his well-being...(I like to use big words cause it causes them to pause and reflect! LOL)
And tell him that you are doing it for his own good! And that you love him....
Great job this morning! Wishing you good testing vines for the rest of the day too! You are doing a great job!! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392 +3 313

awww shucks, THANKS for the kind words!
And thank you for the support as always!
Yes, our babies are sometimes far too smart for their own good, lol
He has now decided (cause I did a +3) he has earned snuggles in the clothes fresh out of the dryer....WELL can't deny him that!!
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli AMPS 392 +3 313 +6 243

yeah it does make me laugh...especially because he has such big paws and gets his "frown on"

These are decent drops yes? NOT too dramatic?
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446

have re saraned (not a word i realize, but very much what i did lol) the litter...his corner because one of the civvies is afraid of the saran...stretches himself out as far as possible and smacks the litter box... my these kids.....gotta wonder...
anyway...
i sure hope to get urine..
i will be home all day tomorrow...so i am hoping to get a really good day of testing in...Mowgli won't like it, and that is just too bad.....
his left ear is looking pretty bad, i have been picking on it in hopes of the right healing some.....
~sigh~
little fluffers
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446

Keri, try not to worry about that ugly red PS, it's the first cycle on an increase. It will take a few cycles for the shed to fill and see the full effect. How is Mowgli feeling?

Oh, I laughed so hard when I read the description of the civie with the saran wrap! :lol: I can see it! Hopefully the resaraning will do the trick.
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446

GOT URINE!!!!

poor guy starting to get a complex I am sure...
i used three strips, and all three tested as "trace"
also,
he is eatting fine, drinking his water, personality is OK, i mean he socializes, purrs, preens, stretches, scratches at the carpet, somewhat chatty...although also taking more time than usual under the bed....definetly attitude when blood needs to be retrieved...and finished his a/b this morning...
so my question is....
now what?

P.s i dipped in the urine..then took it out and counted 15seconds...i am sure that is ok? didn't wanna hold it i the urine for 15ecs?
P.S.S when the ~ahem~vet~ tested his urine on Oct/20/10 the day he was officially diagnosed.... it said Ketones "trace"
i had asked if that was a concern and he said no..it was due to the unregulation of the diabetes
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446

Yay for getting a successful test! Yes, you dip, take it out of the urine, wait 15 seconds then compare to the bottle. Are these fresh strips? Not opened for any length of time, or expired, right?

I don't have experience with ketones, so I'm not the best one to advise on what to do. I know one thing you should do is increase his water intake to flush out ketones...do you add water to his food? If you don't, then I would start doing that...a lot of cats like it soupy, if he likes it, that's great. If he's testing trace, then it's something you need to keep a close eye on...test daily, ok?

I would put "ketones" in your header, get some more eyes on this and others with experience.

ETA: Good, you already added it to your header.
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 "trace" ketones

Thanks for the continued support Laurie...I will add some water to his food..he already loves his water....but as most kitties he prefers it from the tap...not nearly enough..
i will add some...
I see from google that "trace" like you said should require daily testing and trying to increase food and water...
and DEFINETLY keep and eye on his personality...
These are Fresh strips, just opened Nov 8.. And the urine was on the saran wrap, not from the litter...
WHICH BTW, one of the strips i was holding and looking at comparing to the bottle...he came in an smacked it......yup urine on my face....GOOD TIMES! :lol: omg we really start to lose it, lol
Seriously i dunno what is with my kids and smacking!

I am also hoping to continue his complex, and test bg shortly....
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 "trace" ketones

Getting a trace reading warrants close monitoring. I'd try to get a ketone test anytime you can. If you get a reading of more than trace, you need to get Mowgli to the vet. Laurie is correct -- do whatever you can to increase Mowgli's fluid intake. The additional fluid helps to flush the ketones. Hopefully, having increased Mowgli's dose will also help.
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 +3 304 "trace" ketones

i will be adding water to his food.he seems to like it, just scarfed it down with water...so that is a good thing..
~sigh~
omg
and
~sigh~
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 +3 304 "trace" ketones

P.S so i am pretty much lucky this hasn't exploded seeing as the vet read "trace" amounts over two weeks ago?
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 "trace" ketones

Hi Keri. I've been sort of semi MIA and was just reading some of your posts from the last few days. I'm glad things seem to be starting to settle down for you and Mowgli. You know you may not think so at the moment but you are doing remarkedly well. It hasn't been quite two weeks yet since you started this crazy sugar dance. I know it must feel like for ever. I remember when I started with Tori I cried so much and got so frustrated I literally went into the BR turned on the shower full blast and screamed one day. No one else was home at the time thank God or they would have carried me away. This for a woman who is a nurse and should have a bit more of an idea how to do tests. It got easier though and it will for you. I think it already is. You will find what works for you best. Tori and I have a pretty unusual way of testing. I hold her in the crook of my arm like a baby in my left arm and hold her ear with that hand and then poke the ear like I'm going to sew with the right. She can't stand it if she can't see what I'm doing to her. I can't shoot in the scruff either like a lot of people and God forbid if I try and even touch her when she's eating.

Try not to get too frustrated with your numbers. It's still early on and you are making progress. As for the the trace ketones I would do as the others suggest and just encourage him to eat and add extra moisture to his food and keep monitoring several times a day. IF they go above trace I'd contact your vet ASAP

By the way did you get the PM I sent you the other day with the vet info you asked for? I put my phone number in it as well.

Hang in there. You're doing just fine.
 
Re: 11/11 Mowgli PMPS 446 +3 304 "trace" ketones

You're doing fine, Keri! I'm really glad you got that urine test tonight, that's really good. Don't stress about it, just keep a close eye on it, follow Sienne's and Barb's advice.

Nice +3, heading for yellows...going the right way!
 
this is okay droppage?
nothing to worry bout?
of course I ask, because I am used to coasting in the red/purples .
but looking at his ss, it appears quite often he can have yellow nadir after high numbers...
i will not worry..
i still worry bout his ears though...his poor ears... i fear soon there will be nowhere left to poke....
i am, well, we are off to bed. he is purrrrrrrrrrring and keeps runnin to the bed...so i guess he is telling me....
nite all
 
Keri, that's good to see, the yellow! I know that's a pretty big drop, but I'm glad to see him getting into better numbers. Did you put some polysporin on his ears? They will heal. Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top