11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! PMPS 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

jldnvjld

Member Since 2010
On 11/8, Lucy and Libby said:
"On 0.1 units of insulin, there really isn't a need to skip shots almost whatever the number (I wouldn't shoot 40's and would probably stall the first time shooting in the 50-60's). Why? In LL we have not seen a symptomatic hypo on 0.1 units (we do see low numbers on 0.1 occasionally)."

Junga seemed really normal when I got that 42.... a weird experience for me! I fed him a tsp of LC + 1/4 tsp Karo anyway and his BG came up a bit. I am not feeding him gravy foods because we think he's allergic to wheat/corn/?, and I don't want him throwing up when his BG is low, or getting itchy enough to need cortisone baths.

So now I know (maybe) what he does when I'm gone away to work: his BG goes lowwwww after eating. Freaky. Is it really okay for him to go low on this dosage?

J.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

ok, I'll watch for it then. Good job handling the drop. It's true, usually when they're low the cats just look at us like "why are you running around all crazy like that? Just let me play!" :lol:
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

Libby and Lucy said:
ok, I'll watch for it then. Good job handling the drop.
Thanks. 77 now. (@+5)

Libby and Lucy said:
It's true, usually when they're low the cats just look at us like "why are you running around all crazy like that? Just let me play!" :lol:

With his previous lows, he was really groggy. This morning he was a normal kitty.

J.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

70's is good. :smile:

Can I ask what your feeding schedule is like? Just at shot times (unless you're feeding lows), free feeding, or do you do several meals/snacks during the day? And is his feeding schedule the same at night, or different?
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

Libby and Lucy said:
Can I ask what your feeding schedule is like?

On weekdays I am not home during the day.
So he gets half his breakfast pre-shot. At +1 I put out the other half of his breakfast. If it's gone by the time I'm ready to leave, I add a bit more.

I put out his dinner pre-shot, and he eats it over the next four hours or so. If his bowl is empty at bedtime, I add a bit. He finishes it by morning.

J.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

I was home and so could take care of this morning's low (42); I'm worried about lows during the week when I'm not home. Are they really nothing to worry about?

J.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

check back in here before you shoot tonight, ok? Maybe with a +11... How many hours is that from now?
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42!

Libby and Lucy said:
check back in here before you shoot tonight, ok? Maybe with a +11... How many hours is that from now?
It's 1:00 now, so that's five hours from now.
I will get a +11 at 5:00. His regular PS is at about 5:30 - 5:45.

J.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

+11 is 152; I'm inclined to give him his shot at +12. What do you think?
He say's he's sta-AAARV-ing and would like is dinner NA-OWWW!
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

you know me, I have to ask more questions before giving an answer. :mrgreen:

Your spreadsheet indicates that you might have given between 0.1 and 0.25. Is it possible to measure a smaller dose than you have been giving? Practice with a used syringe and see if you can get a consistent drop.

Also, I think that what you're doing with breakfast is good, giving 1/2 at PS and 1/2 at +1, then leaving out extra for grazing. I suggest having some medium carb on hand, and if +1 is lower than PS then feed that as his +1 snack instead of his low carb. He does most of his dropping early in the cycle so that should help him out. If you don't have MC, then just putting some gravy from the HC on top of his low carb food should help. You want to slow down those big drops before they happen, kwim?

Do you have a timed feeder? For a lot of cats at this stage in the game, a small snack at +9 can stimulate the pancreas to kick in late in the cycle and bring the preshots down. The preshots are really the last thing that makes Junga's spreadsheet not look like he is quite ready for OTJ, would you agree? I see that you gave a +8 snack today, so if he comes down by +12 that might give us a clue as to whether that is a good strategy. Start thinking about a way you can get snacks into him at +8 or +9 each cycle because that really should help.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

Arrgh! It ate my reply to you.

The amount I'm giving him his with the curve of the plunger just barely touching the 0 line. It's as small as I can make it, and is a drop. I tried with some water and an old syringe.

I haven't been giving him HC gravy foods because he has an allergy to wheat/corn/more? and I don't want him throwing up. That's why I put a bit of karo in his LC this morning to deal with his low. Do you want me to do that with his next meal too?
I don't yet have grain-free MC on hand. I don't have a timed pet feeder. What brand do you suggest? They look expensive and I want to get the right one.

He usually eats his meal at +11.5 and we do a shot at +12. I gather you want me to delay on the meal and get another measurement?

Libby and Lucy said:
Your spreadsheet indicates that you might have given between 0.1 and 0.25. Is it possible to measure a smaller dose than you have been giving? Practice with a used syringe and see if you can get a consistent drop.

Also, I think that what you're doing with breakfast is good, giving 1/2 at PS and 1/2 at +1, then leaving out extra for grazing. I suggest having some medium carb on hand, and if +1 is lower than PS then feed that as his +1 snack instead of his low carb. He does most of his dropping early in the cycle so that should help him out. If you don't have MC, then just putting some gravy from the HC on top of his low carb food should help. You want to slow down those big drops before they happen, kwim?

Do you have a timed feeder? For a lot of cats at this stage in the game, a small snack at +9 can stimulate the pancreas to kick in late in the cycle and bring the preshots down. The preshots are really the last thing that makes Junga's spreadsheet not look like he is quite ready for OTJ, would you agree? I see that you gave a +8 snack today, so if he comes down by +12 that might give us a clue as to whether that is a good strategy. Start thinking about a way you can get snacks into him at +8 or +9 each cycle because that really should help.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

jldnvjld said:
He usually eats his meal at +11.5 and we do a shot at +12. I gather you want me to delay on the meal and get another measurement?

Do you usually do your AMPS and PMPS tests before the food or after? I would grab a test at +12 before feeding and shooting. Shoot the 0.1 units, feed as usual, then test again at +1. If +1 is lower than PMPS, then feed MC (or add a drop of karo to his food, if that is how you make MC). Then test again at +2. Let's see if we can make those plunges slow down. I would prefer to see him stay on 0.1 units for a week, if possible, and I think it's possible if we can play with his carb consumption a little to keep him from dropping so low.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

I test-feed-shoot, which I just did. I will test again at +1, etc. per your instructions. I'll put the results on the SS. Thanks!
(Junga was happy to finally get his meal.)

Libby and Lucy said:
Do you usually do your AMPS and PMPS tests before the food or after? I would grab a test at +12 before feeding and shooting. Shoot the 0.1 units, feed as usual, then test again at +1. If +1 is lower than PMPS, then feed MC (or add a drop of karo to his food, if that is how you make MC). Then test again at +2. Let's see if we can make those plunges slow down. I would prefer to see him stay on 0.1 units for a week, if possible, and I think it's possible if we can play with his carb consumption a little to keep him from dropping so low.
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

I use the PetSafe 5 meal feeder, there is also a 2 meal one. Many people here use them.

If you have trouble finding the Wellness pouches, there are some higher carb cans..the chicken and lobster is 11%, sardines shrimp & crab is 16%.

Junga's doing great!
 
Re: 11/11 Junga AMPS 107, +2.5 42! +11 152

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I use the PetSafe 5 meal feeder, there is also a 2 meal one. Many people here use them.

If you have trouble finding the Wellness pouches, there are some higher carb cans..the chicken and lobster is 11%, sardines shrimp & crab is 16%.

Junga's doing great!

I see the PetSafe feeder on Amazon. Maybe that's what Junga's going to get as an early Christmas present.

I've got to go to the specialty petfood store this weekend anyway to get more canned Wellness food; they may have the Wellness pouches. Junga's really lukewarm about this whole canned food thing, and I can't get him to even taste anything with fish in it. The one exception in the canned food realm is the EVO 95% duck. He'll eat that out of my hand, or cold from the fridge, or with a little Karo added, and when he doesn't feel particularly great. So so far it's EVO duck for LC snacks and as a Karo vehicle. However, I see there's a Wellness Duck and Turkey pouch. It could be a hit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top