11/11 Chester's +3=64, +3.5=132,+4.5=174

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Pink...ugh! We've been doing so well for the last couple of days that pink was distressing to see.

I've noticed that yesterday he just wasn't himself, lethargic but still eating. Just not being "Chester." His eye goop is gone and I haven't heard anymore sneezing. In fact, he's dragging his feather toy around wanting to play. So....this number could be from whatever was making him feel a little cruddy. I wonder if it could be from the Gentamicin eye drops (think that would be a stretch, though).

Or possibly I gave him too big a "snack" at +4 last night when he was still over 100... He ate like a pig (not typical for him) and it was his second post-meal snack (wish I could eat like he does and keep some semblance of a figure...but that would mean I would have to chase a feather toy around all day...no thanks!)

I also wonder if it isn't time to get a new bottle (flexpens this time) of Levemir. I started this one on September 2 and we're down to less than 1/4 left.

Of course, it's just one number. We'll see what tonight brings.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29448
 
Re: 11/11 Chester's amps 386

Gabby's in the pinks, too. It's frustrating!

Chester may be bouncing off of the blues. It's also possible that it's time to open new insulin. Lev has a longer lifespan than Lantus but generally not 60+ days. I think the manufacturer says 42 days.
 
Re: 11/11 Chester's amps 386

I agree with Sienne...time for a new pen...hope that brings his numbers down for you....Feel better Chester! :razz:
 
Re: 11/11 Chester's amps 386

oh chester .. you don't want to be up on that floor, do you? I think all the kitties were meeting on the blue floor, to discuss plans for Miss Ellas new arrival!! Better get down there .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Chester's pmps 229

Looks like this morning might have been a little bit of a bounce. I'm still going to get some new Lev, but wait for this weekend when I can comparison shop a bit.

Chester is so frustratingly endearing! Sometimes it's so hard to get him to eat his dinner. He's hungry and goes right to it, but heaven forbid there be anything more interesting going on around him because he has the attention span of some of my 6th graders. I usually end up spoon feeding him because I can use the spoon to redirect his attention. Gotta love him!
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64

YIKES!!! This is the lowest number I've ever seen on Chester! The OneTouch had him at 40 and I almost flipped. Used the AlphaTrak (always do if he tests under 100) and he was only 64.

Gave him some HC gravy and 1cc of Karo. I know...I panicked. Maybe he didn't need the Karo, but this number and the plunge it took to get there scared me.

So...a dose reduction is in order again, I assume. No one will be home to watch him tomorrow. He's only on .25 now. What's lower than that while still shooting insulin? Think I'll hold off buying those new Levemir flex pens. Seems like my bottle is still working!

Will retest in 20 minutes.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64

I'm sure more experienced people will answer, but for Sue I went from .25 to a drop (or two).
I don't know if you should do a dose decrease or not, but here is a post that explains how to do a drop or two:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29273
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64

Jenny and Sue said:
I don't know if you should do a dose decrease or not, but here is a post that explains how to do a drop or two:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29273

Oh, I'll definitely have to do a dose reduction! My nerves can't handle anything quite this low yet, especially when I know he'll be home alone. And according to the protocol, he's earned it big time. He may not hold it, but he's certainly earned it!

He's been playing like a tiger this evening, which is great to see, but it sure seems to lower his BG.

Wondering if I should follow up with some LC now and test again in 20. I need to give my other cat sub-Q fluids right about now as well.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

a little LC won't hurt. You'll want to check in 30 minutes, and again in an hour, to see where he is when the karo wears off.

Looks like just the HC probably would have worked fine without the syrup.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

A bit of LC can't hurt. The next time, reach for gravy first. You've got a sugar spike. You'll want to follow up with another test in 30 min. and then test again in 30 min. after that.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

Yup, should have stuck with just the gravy. Drat. I thought I was getting past that raw panic stage, but I guess it's not the case.

Why does he plunge so fast and so far do you think? I had hopes that Levemir would give us those advertised nice, flat curves.

So tomorrow he'll be bouncing, but I'm really nervous to shoot the same dose through the bounce. No one will be home from about 6:30 a.m. (one hour post shot) until 4:30 p.m.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

Can you stop home at lunch to check on him? Or leave out some low carb food for him?
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

Jaye and Chester said:
Why does he plunge so fast and so far do you think? I had hopes that Levemir would give us those advertised nice, flat curves.

Have you tried splitting his meal into PS, +1, and +2? For a lot of cats that is helping to flatten out their curves.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's pmps 229, +3=64, +3.5=132

You don't have to shoot the old dose through the bounce. It's only an option. Whatever you think is the safest and most comfortable for you is fine.

Gabby is prone to fast drops. What I do is test early. You might want to think about getting a +2. I found that it gives me a good sense of where the cycle is going and whether I'll need to intervene with food early. Also, feeding smaller meals, spread out over the first few hours of the cycle can help to slow things down.
 
Re: YIKES! 11/11 Chester's +3=64, +3.5=132,+4.5=174

I can't stop at lunch because I work about 45 minutes away (and they only give us 20 minutes for lunch!) Chester usually handles that small meal thing himself because he doesn't like to eat too much at once. I usually see him stop back at the bowl and snack within the first hour. In the morning, however, time is really tight and I'm lucky if I can even test him at +1 (usually leave before that).

I feel crappy that I know he'll be high tomorrow morning and I will be lowering the dose, but I'm just too nervous to do anything else. I'll also leave food out for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top