11/11 Buddha AMPS 187 PMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Wow, has it really been almost a month since our last condo?

At the time of our last condo, Buddha had just earned a dose reduction on Oct. 14, from 1.25 to 1u. I held that reduction for about 14 days. In that two week period, Buddha's spreadsheet showed about as much pink and red as blue and the rarer green. I wondered if the lantus cart that started at the end of August was pooping out, but re-upped the dose to 1.25 and saw improvement. Buddha had a 38 mid-cycle two days ago and is back on 1u. I really don't think 1u is enough to keep him regulated, but 1.25 will often swing him low. I'm considering a morning dose of 1.25 and an evening dose of 1. Maybe that would even out to be the correct 24 hour dose. Not sure what else to try.

Buddha's appetite has decreased lately. He'll gobble when his numbers are high. But when bg is more reasonable, he's become a nibbler. Then when his numbers drop low, he'll realize he's hungry again. Though I might have to wake him up and shake a can at him to get him going. He's started sleeping with me at night, and its been years since he's done that, though he could just be cold. He's all over the house during the day, doing catty pranks. He and his kitty buddy are tussling again, haven't seen that in a long time either. His flea allergies have been kicking in, and he's pulled much fur off his tummy and thighs. But over all a very good wcr.

Started a new Lantus cart this morning. Went to draw from the old one and it had reached the end. Thought there was a bit more, but the plunger inside the cart could not descend any further. Wondering if fresh insulin will have an extra punch today.
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Morning guys! This is a nice blue amps for buddha .. I hope you get your dose figured out .. that can be frustrating, we bounce with doses all the time with mocha ... crazy kitties ... anyways, glad to hear overall you have a pretty good WCR today ... hopefully the new lantus will help freshen up his SS .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Unfortunately, shooting different amounts at AM and PM tends to make things worse rather than providing a middle ground. The factors to consider -- Lantus dosing is cumulative and the impact of inconsistent dosing on the shed. Have you been able to try shooting either a fat 1.0u or a skinny 1.25u?
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Donna, I agree with Sienne about the variable dosing...with the shed, it really isn't a good option.

I'm interested to see the impact of the fresh insulin. Many times when the insulin gets toasty, you see inconsistent results. It doesn't stop working....just less overall oomph, and sometimes the action is better than other times.
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Nice to see you and Buddha! :razz: Lantus works best with the same dose shot 12/12 so we suggest that you do not use different doses in AM/PM. Let's see what the new insulin dose for him at this dose.....it might be that the old pen had lost it's oomph.
That was a nice green yesterday and lovely blues! It appears by the amount of tests that you do (good job, BTW) that you are home during the day? If/when the insulin is increased to the next dose, 1.25u, you can try to keep the numbers surfing if you feed small LC snacks in the beginning of the cycle, at +1, +2 and +3. You steer the curve with LC food. Many are doing that...and find that this way of feeding small mini meals keep those drops from happening.

But for now, let's see how the new insulin works for his numbers at this dose....shoot the same dose 12/12 and see where the numbers go. Are you able to post daily by any chance? That would be great if you can...so good seeing you and Buddha...keep up the good work! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Thanks for all the feedback! Pat, Buddha has become a nibbler lately. I like to put down a full can at breffist. He used to polish the plate, now he laps up the liquid and skims off the top of the puck. So he'll often return and finish later. But lately, he's just looked at it and said nah, not interested. So I "encouraged" him several times yesterday morning to eat, sitting with him, petting him, pushing the plate back under his nose, in order to make sure the drop wasn't too fast or too low.

I get what everyone is saying about variable dose, too, but it seems that with variable appetite, sometimes more or less insulin might be called for. And with that said, I realize that I have no real way of predicting how hungry Buddha will be on any given day.

He did cough up a big fur ball the other night. Thought that might make more room in his tummy. Think he might have another coming. He has been grooming quite a lot.
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Great to see your condo, Donna. And what a great WCR for Buddha. It makes us so happy to see our cats behaving the way they used to before FD. I would also suggest shooting a fat 1U. Just squeeze out 1 or 2 more drops from your 1.25. Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

the last couple of days look great! It looks like maybe Buddha is starting to flatten out. I would probably stay with the 1 unit for another couple of cycles to see what happens. If he doesn't get back to 60's or 70's tonight then maybe try fattening the dose to see if that nudges him down more toward green.

What they are saying about the shed is correct - because of the cumulative effect of Lantus, it doesn't really work to change the dose because of appetite during a particular cycle. Usually those changes affect the next few cycles more than they affect they cycle you actually make the change in. Finding a dose in between 1 and 1.25 will probably work better for Buddha.
 
Re: 11/11 Buddha AMPS 187

Donna....Curry does the same thing w/eating...Lately...she just nibbles a bit and comes back to nibble some more. It can take about 30 minutes to finish just the first part of her breakfast. And the same for her second part. She use to just scarf it. Of course if there is a whooping drop in her bg she screaming at me to feed her now.

Hope you can find a dose to stick w/for awhile.

Buddha is looking good.
 
Well, today has been a food gobbling day as well as a sleep in the heated bed day. Great numbers all day long, with extra mc snacks. I fed a higher than normal carb dinner 'cause I do so hate to give up my sleeping time. Also, due to personal stuff, shot time keeps drifting later and later. Yawn. Time to walk the dog.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top