11/11 Blaze amps 430 +1 372 + 6 270 PMPS 113 +2 171 +3 184

I am needing some advice for an upcoming vacation dose. Myself and DH will be out of town Thursday afternoon 11/14 to Sunday afternoon 11/17, and will have the pet sitter come twice a day, for am and pm test, feed, shoot with no additional testing.

I was thinking of lowering the dose from 1.5U to 1 unit while we are gone. Does that sound okay? I was thinking maybe, if blood sugar is 150 and higher, give 1 unit. If blood sugar is between 149-100, give 0.5u and if blood sugar is below 100, skip the shot. How does that sound? Should I change the numbers for a reduced shot and for no shot? Please help! I want to get him on the reduced dose a day or two before we leave.
 
Maybe for a vacation dose, I should do 1 unit if blood sugar is above 180.

0.5U if blood sugar is between 180-120

And no shot if blood sugar is below 120?

I want to make sure Blaze is safe since he won’t be getting any additional testing besides AMPS and PMPS
 
Hi Sara. Will additional food be available to Blaze during the cycle while you are away?
Every day he gets breakfast and then three small snacks in the auto feeder during the am cycle and then dinner with three small snacks in the auto feeder during the pm cycle. I usually have the snacks open at +3, 5, 7 or +3, 6, 9 depending on his BG. I will already have the times set on the auto feeder when I leave, pet sitter just has to put food in the auto feeder after breakfast and dinner.
 
Since you had a FS last night , the count starts over for filling the depot again. By the time 1.5 depot is full again you’ll be lowering the dose for vacation.

What I would do is see where his numbers are the day you will be reducing for vacation. That will give you a sense of whether you want to just go down to 1.25 or if you want to go to 1u.

The problem with a sliding scale dose is that if you have the caregiver reduce again because of a lower pre shot number , the first 1/2 of the cycle is going to still be influenced by the higher dose giving a false sense of security with no more testing that cycle.

I think a better plan if he goes lower is to give the CG a no shot number.

Let’s see what others think.
 
You’ll want to lower for vacation 4 cycles or 2 days prior to leaving to drain the depot.
Okay so that means I will need to start the vacation dose tomorrow evening (Tuesday 11/12), because we are leaving Thursday afternoon (11/14) before PMPS, so the pet sitter will be coming over Thursday evening for PMPS. Or do I need to start the vacation dose tomorrow morning? That would be 4 cycles before we leave, since we are leaving before PMPS on 11/14.

So we will see where he’s at tomorrow evening with PMPS and decide whether to lower the vacation dose to 1.25 or to 1U then. I am going to start the vacation dose tomorrow evening.

And you’re saying, don’t have the pet sitter give a reduced dose if BG is lower, just have her skip the shot altogether, right? What is a safe no shoot number for a pet sitter when no additional testing can be done? No shot if BG is 150 or lower? Is that too low?
 
Last edited:
I like the idea of having the decision be "shoot/no-shoot" only. Keeps it simpler, both for the petsitter and, as Bobbie says, interpreting the sparse data you're going to be getting and making those decisions good ones.

I think I'd be inclined to go pretty conservative on the dose itself. Granted, he's seen a bunch of yellows and pinks still on the 1.5U dosage, but when you factor in the recent history of furshots :rolleyes:, it's possible that 1.5U is on the high end of a good dose for him with normal testing frequency.

If it were me, I'd probably make 1.0U the vacation dose. It also has the added benefit of being easier to draw up!

Right side only from here on out! Of course DH told me he never gives fur shots when I told him I keep giving fur shots on the left side :rolleyes:

Hmm, sounds like someone just volunteered to do all left-side shots!
 
I like the idea of having the decision be "shoot/no-shoot" only. Keeps it simpler, both for the petsitter and, as Bobbie says, interpreting the sparse data you're going to be getting and making those decisions good ones.

I think I'd be inclined to go pretty conservative on the dose itself. Granted, he's seen a bunch of yellows and pinks still on the 1.5U dosage, but when you factor in the recent history of furshots :rolleyes:, it's possible that 1.5U is on the high end of a good dose for him with normal testing frequency.

If it were me, I'd probably make 1.0U the vacation dose. It also has the added benefit of being easier to draw up!



Hmm, sounds like someone just volunteered to do all left-side shots!
Ya, when I’m not giving frequent fur shots, like I have this past week, the 1.5U seems to keep him in blues and greens and some yellows so I feel like the 1.5U is a good dose.

I agree that 1U for the vacation dose is best, it’s easy to draw up and seems like a good, safe dose for him while we are out of town for a few days. And we will stick with shoot/no shoot with no reduced dose. Either 1U or no shot.

What do you suggest is a safe no shoot number? I. Having a hard time figuring that out. I’m thinking if he’s 150 or lower, no shot. If he’s above 150, give 1U. Does that sound okay??


And that’s right! DH is going to have to do all left side shots now since he’s sooooo good!:rolleyes:
 
I like Nan’s idea of an easy draw of 1 u and also what she said about some fur shots in the mix so 1 u might be the safest.

I think I would do under 150 as a “ no shot”.

And I would reduce 4 cycles prior to you leaving.
 
I like Nan’s idea of an easy draw of 1 u and also what she said about some fur shots in the mix so 1 u might be the safest.

I think I would do under 150 as a “ no shot”.

And I would reduce 4 cycles prior to you leaving.
Thanks Bobbie and Nan for your help! Vacation dose will be 1U and no shot if BG is under 150:cat:

I will start him at 1U at PMPS tomorrow evening, that will give us 4 cycles on the vacation dose before we leave Thursday afternoon.
 
Looks like you've gotten plenty of wisdom above! So glad they're helping you figure out a safe course of action for while you're away. I agree and support their recommendations. Some insulin is good...as all diabetics need their insulin - a higher threshold is safer than multiples or one that is too low...especially since there are no follow up tests...it's only for a few days...and his numbers might be a little higher...but better a day too high, than an hour too low!

You're a great mama bean Sarah! Excellent that you have a plan!!
 
Looks like you've gotten plenty of wisdom above! So glad they're helping you figure out a safe course of action for while you're away. I agree and support their recommendations. Some insulin is good...as all diabetics need their insulin - a higher threshold is safer than multiples or one that is too low...especially since there are no follow up tests...it's only for a few days...and his numbers might be a little higher...but better a day too high, than an hour too low!

You're a great mama bean Sarah! Excellent that you have a plan!!
Thank you Sue! Gotta make sure I have a plan for my fur kids when I’m out of town for a few days! I’m glad I had help figuring out a good dose! Lucky to have you guys! :)
 
Back
Top