? 11/10 - Xander | AMPS 290 - Questions about probiotics, etc

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Previous post: 11/8/25

I'm going to respond to comments from my last post here to not bump it, so those will be incoming once the post is up! Thank you all so much for the support of my realization/"decision" the other day. I was a bit nervous about posting it in case it came across as "I've given up," but you guys are the best. 🥹

Well, of course things have to be taking a bad turn when I was just so hopeful the other day. And right after an increase, too! 😞

His eating is slowing back down. He's back to not eating breakfast (which usually precedes stopping eating the newest verison of Gaba altogether, or to stop eating much at all). He loved the liquid Gaba with sugar in it, naturally. This one is sugar-free and chicken flavored. I admit it doesn't smell great, but neither does regular food, so... 🤷🏻‍♀️ As I mentioned the other day, he has 2 primary foods; one for ~85% of the time and the other for the rest. He stopped eating the primary one (possibly associates it with Gaba now) so we had to switch to the secondary one entirely, which contains pumpkin and may be the reason for his GI trouble. But now he's not particularly interested in that one either. 🙄 Unfortunately we can't afford to keep getting various foods and trying them and discarding a bunch when he stops wanting it; that gets very expensive very fast. These were the first two he was truly enthusiastic about to start with, so I'd like to try to get him back to eating these (particularly his primary).

The Mirataz we had ran out very quickly after we got it because the stupid metal tube squirted 90% out on its own when we weren't trying to use it, so we've been out. He had been eating really well despite that for a few days. We should be able to pick up more tomorrow. I do still have Ondansetron and possibly some Cerenia, but again, he doesn't touch things that seem "off" and he's barely even touching anything normal right now.

I have some questions re: probiotics, etc. Obviously S. Boulardii has been mentioned a lot. As Squeem said, it supposedly can have a bad taste. Given that we struggle to give Xander even flavored meds, he will suss out any little thing and refuse to eat it. Syringed meds and pilling are not an option for us. It's basically sprinkle in food or nothing, and if it tastes the slightest bit off, he'll be put off that food (so we can't use Churus; can't risk that). I do have some baby food but he didn't seem enthusiastic about that when I've tried. Squeem also mentioned FortiFlora for the flavor, which I was intially kind of averse to because it's so expensive to be used as a flavor-enhancer, but if it's the way I can get him to eat his normal food, maybe it'll have to be the option.

I've seen lots of posts about Visibiome being great for IBD cats but that's way beyond my budget. I saw Proviable DC mentioned as an affordable option. We're already giving him Proviable Forte and that doesn't seem to be making a big difference; is the Proviable DC better?

If I have to get all 3 (S. Boulardii, FortiFlora, Proviable DC) I might be able to swing it, but it would be a huge expense, especially if he won't eat it, which is a big risk. *sigh* Is there any cheaper, safe flavor enticer that might be worth trying with the other two?

I'm not planning on a vet visit at this point because every time we've had this issue his pancreas has been absolutely fine and it always comes back to most likely being IBD-related. I'm not ready to do a massive food switchup again when he had been doing so well with what we have. I'm hoping the supplements could be the thing that gets us back on track.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as always. I have already read things linked previously (like this, and some other stuff), but I'd like to hear from you guys.

Response comments incoming!
 
Last edited:
That sounds like a solid and well thought out plan. You need to take care of yourself and not be stressed out and overwhelmed by this whole process. It's supposed to be a routine and coming up to a year anniversary I'm sure this is part of your routine by now. That being said don't give up on remission just yet. Not all kitties achieve it right away. But I also know there's been cases here where it took years for a kitty to actually get there.
I like that you took a step back to re-evaluate your approach. And hopefully this much more relaxed approach will work.

Kisses and hugs to both of you and happy caturday.
🙋🏻‍♀️
✨
🐈‍⬛
💕
🐈
🤗
🐾

Thank you, Karolina! I'm hoping so. I'm not against the idea of remission, just not going to be basing my entire life on achieving it anymore. Maybe (hopefully?) it will happen anyway. If not, that's okay. 💜
 
Hi Brianna, agree with Karolina 100% here. You have have to do what is best for all of you. Struggling and worrying is not doing you or Xander any good. If taking a step back is what is needed then that is what you should do.

Sending truck loads of supportive hugs your way

Please take care of yourself and focus on your health as much as you do his.

Thank you so much, Kat! In the end that's basically what I thought; my stress affects him too, and maybe being a little less aggressive would end up being better for both of us with that in mind. 💜
 
The S boulardii with MOS supposedly has a bitter taste but not all cats notice it. You could try mixing some FortiFlora with it to mask any taste.

I gave up on Leroy a long time ago. He's just a hot mess with all his issues that the diabetes is never going anywhere close to well regulated. Why do I always end up with pets who are lemons?
Thank you very much for the heads up about that! It seems like there are very mixed opinions about its flavor and I appreciate knowing any risk because he's just so picky.

I'm sorry that your pets always end up having problems!! 😞 That's so hard and unfair. But maybe it's because you do such a good job taking care of them, whereas others might just let it go. They make their way to you because you're the right person to care for them! 🥹
 
Hi Brianna, I’m glad Xander is feeling better and seeing better numbers.
You’re doing a wonderful job caring for him.
Just take it one day at a time. That’s all you can do. And take care of yourself as well.
I put 1/2 capsule of the S. Boulardii in Ivy’s food as maintenance.
It’s worth a try to see if it would help his soft stools.
(It’s not extremely expensive, $25 for 90 capsules)

Good job keeping that nasty cat away. I hope Xander resumes his happy place on his perch.
Sending you lots of hugs and good wishes
💕
🐈‍⬛
❤️‍🩹

Trying, as always! I don't know if it's just me, but I find it so hard not to catastrophize when things seem to be taking a sharp turn in the wrong direction. It just so often means a looooong period of trying to fix whatever it is. 🙁

I finally found the listing for the $25/90 capsules; before that all I'd been able to find was crazy expensive (like $50 for a tiny thing of powder, and not +MOS).

Not sure what I'll do about all that given the stuff in the post, but hopefully you all will have some advice for me. 😊💜🫂
 
As others have said, good--self-care/Xander-care--plan, Brianna. Not every cat is destined for remission. Not every cat is destined for regulation. Where Xander is today is far better than where he was prior to starting insulin treatment, and that's great and due 100% to your dedication to keeping him as healthy as possible. I seriously doubt Jude will make it again to remission, and that's something I've (like you) had to come to terms with. I just try to be thankful for what we have.

I hope you can figure the food thing out. Jude takes the s.boulardii when he's on an antibiotic--I mix it into a Churu, and he's pretty good to lick it up (and he can be PICKY, so that's saying something about its tasteless-ness).

Glad to get your update! Give Xander some love and pets from us.

Thank you for the support, Mary! 🥹 You're right; he's way better than where he was and that means something. Just need to keep him eating and getting his insulin and he should be fine! Of course way easier said than done.

Jude is very lucky to have you - you take such good care of him! Even without re-remission, his numbers are always so good. I'd love to get even close to what you've managed with him! 💜🫂
 
Bell may very well be in the "no remission" club too. I feel for you, Brianna, I struggle with the same thing as well. I hope you are able to find a good balance. You are so good to sweet Xander (and he to you).

I'm sorry that you can relate! You're so good at being aggressive and doing the right thing for your sweet girl - I really admire you! I hope we can both find a good balance that works for us and the babies. 😌🫂
 
Hi Brianna. I agree with everything that has been shared with you.
I completely understand how you feel - I struggle with that too.
Sending you lots of hugs and pets to Xander
💕
😻
:bighug:

Thank you so much for the support, Madeline! I really appreciate how great everyone has been. 🥹 I'm so sorry that you can relate; as with Seth, I hope we all find some balance that works for us. Sending hugs and pets back to Butch! 🫂💕
 
Thank you, Karolina! I'm hoping so. I'm not against the idea of remission, just not going to be basing my entire life on achieving it anymore. Maybe (hopefully?) it will happen anyway. If not, that's okay. 💜
That's an awesome approach. Just focus on being happy and healthy and doing the same for Xander. If one day he gets into remision that's great. And if he doesn't that’s ok too. He still has a good life with you and you're doing a great job caring for him and keeping him healthy
🤗🐈‍⬛🐾💕
 
Trying, as always! I don't know if it's just me, but I find it so hard not to catastrophize when things seem to be taking a sharp turn in the wrong direction. It just so often means a looooong period of trying to fix whatever it is. 🙁

I finally found the listing for the $25/90 capsules; before that all I'd been able to find was crazy expensive (like $50 for a tiny thing of powder, and not +MOS).
Trying, as always! I don't know if it's just me, but I find it so hard not to catastrophize when things seem to be taking a sharp turn in the wrong direction. It just so often means a looooong period of trying to fix whatever it is. 🙁

I finally found the listing for the $25/90 capsules; before that all I'd been able to find was crazy expensive (like $50 for a tiny thing of powder, and not +MOS).

Not sure what I'll do about all that given the stuff in the post, but hopefully you all will have some advice for me. 😊💜🫂
ot sure what I'll do about all that given the stuff in the post, but hopefully you all will have some advice for me. 😊💜🫂
I know you are, and you do an incredible job, especially all the curve balls coming your way! You know I am here for you 🫂 🫂 🫂
I do the same thing with Ivy. I have to remind myself to take it one day at a time, it's really hard.

I am glad you found the $25 bottle of S Boulardii with MOS. Perfect.
Try a little bit (maybe 1/4 capsule) in either some baby food or some food he likes (not at meal time) to see if he will eat it mixed in)
Just as a trial.

Then you will know if you can hide it in his food.

I give Ivy all her supplements in her meal (as she eats them for me).
Her snacks at +1, +2 and +3 have no supplements in them.

Let us know when you get it and ask for suggestions if this idea doesn't work. I am sure one of us will have an idea.

Give your sweet boy some extra kisses from me, please :kiss:😘🐈‍⬛
 
Sorry I missed your last post, but it sounds like you've come to a good place. Like others, I support your decision to ease up on the tight regulation and find the right balance for you and Xander. At the end of the day, it's about keeping him healthy and if he can be okay without remission and you can take care of yourself as a result, then it sounds like the right fit. I'm at a similar point, coming to terms with a generally unregulated kitty that is unlikely to see remission, but he's still measurably much better than before. So your post is well timed and inspiring to me. I'm going to spend some time thinking about what the right balance is for Binx and I moving forward.

I wish I had helpful advice on the food/IBD issue. What I can give is an update on the slippery elm bark I've introduced for Binx. Many anti-jinx... but I think it's been helping. I got it to help with his frequent stomach bile overnight and the one time he had bile in the morning since we started it was the one night he didn't get any. Also, when I got back from my trip, he had soft stool and perhaps just coincidence, but it's better now. I've heard it has a flavour... maybe nutty? But also google says "mild, slightly sweet and earthy flavor" and some compare it to maple... which might be appealing to a kitty that can't have sugar (**no sugar content though)? It was about $25USD when I convert it and I think the bag I got might last me forever. If you want to try it, the nice thing is it can also be used for humans to sooth throat/digestive issues (so not a complete waste if Xander doesn't like it?).
 
I know you are, and you do an incredible job, especially all the curve balls coming your way! You know I am here for you 🫂 🫂 🫂
I do the same thing with Ivy. I have to remind myself to take it one day at a time, it's really hard.
Thank you 😓💙🫂

I am glad you found the $25 bottle of S Boulardii with MOS. Perfect.
Try a little bit (maybe 1/4 capsule) in either some baby food or some food he likes (not at meal time) to see if he will eat it mixed in)
Just as a trial.

Then you will know if you can hide it in his food.

I give Ivy all her supplements in her meal (as she eats them for me).
Her snacks at +1, +2 and +3 have no supplements in them.

I haven't ordered it yet just because I'm so unsure that I can even get him to eat it, but I'm not sure what other option I have. 😟 I do only give him meds in a large enough amount of food that I think it has a chance of hiding it and not in his smaller snacks. He just seems to be smarter than me. 😮‍💨
 
Sorry I missed your last post, but it sounds like you've come to a good place. Like others, I support your decision to ease up on the tight regulation and find the right balance for you and Xander. At the end of the day, it's about keeping him healthy and if he can be okay without remission and you can take care of yourself as a result, then it sounds like the right fit. I'm at a similar point, coming to terms with a generally unregulated kitty that is unlikely to see remission, but he's still measurably much better than before. So your post is well timed and inspiring to me. I'm going to spend some time thinking about what the right balance is for Binx and I moving forward.
Well unfortunately it seems like every time I have hope that things are finally better life likes to dump a whole new thing on me, so at the exact moment I'm not doing too great but I still stand by the general sentiment of the other day. It makes me so happy to hear that that's inspiring to you! As someone who looks to YOU for inspiration that means a lot. I hope you're able to find a good balance for you and Binx as well. ❤️‍🩹
I wish I had helpful advice on the food/IBD issue. What I can give is an update on the slippery elm bark I've introduced for Binx. Many anti-jinx... but I think it's been helping. I got it to help with his frequent stomach bile overnight and the one time he had bile in the morning since we started it was the one night he didn't get any. Also, when I got back from my trip, he had soft stool and perhaps just coincidence, but it's better now. I've heard it has a flavour... maybe nutty? But also google says "mild, slightly sweet and earthy flavor" and some compare it to maple... which might be appealing to a kitty that can't have sugar (**no sugar content though)? It was about $25USD when I convert it and I think the bag I got might last me forever. If you want to try it, the nice thing is it can also be used for humans to sooth throat/digestive issues (so not a complete waste if Xander doesn't like it?).

I'm so glad the slippery elm seems to be working (anti-jinx, anti-jinx, anti-jinx)!! Xander does seem to specifically want sweet things (doesn't usually care much about savory stuff but he wants any sweets we have) so maybe he'd like it. If not, I like that it can be used by people too: definitely worried about waste with all the stuff we keep having to try and end up not using. 😓

Thank you for the suggestion, Briana! I really appreciate it! 💖
 
Visibiome has no effect on Leroy:rolleyes: He's been on half a capsule daily for months.

Crushed up freeze dried treats would work instead of FortiFlora. Or nutritional yeast.

Poor Leroy. TBH I feel like I can relate to him. Always something. 😮‍💨

Do you happen to have any specific recommendations for either of those (freeze dried treats/nutritional yeast)? I never know where to start and decisions stress me out.
 
Any freeze dried treat works, just not the ones that are hard as rocks or are more like jerky. If Xander isn't sensitive to chicken, you can start with freeze dried chicken treats like PureBites.

Bragg is one brand of nutritional yeast you can find at most supermarkets.

0007430506605
 
I've used the regular S. boulardii without MOS, as the version with MOS is much harder to come by here. It worked fine on my IBD kitty on the time she saw side effects from antibiotics. I saw you were giving Clindamycin. Yuck! That one is really hard on your tummy, speaking from both Neko and my own experience. Visbiome works well - I used the packets for my kitty and a box lasts over 6 months. Again, capsules not available in Canada. But you can also use human brand probiotics that have L. acidophilus and Bifidobacterium, such as Renew Life. There are ones marketed specifically to counter the effects of antibiotics.

To give the powdered meds, I pick a different flavour of Churu that the normal treat one. I don't give it the "med" Churu often, so it is still considered a treat. A trick I used for Neko was the Purebites duck liver flavour, They crumble into dust really well and she loved them. She seldom need encouragement to eat though.
 
Any freeze dried treat works, just not the ones that are hard as rocks or are more like jerky. If Xander isn't sensitive to chicken, you can start with freeze dried chicken treats like PureBites.

Bragg is one brand of nutritional yeast you can find at most supermarkets.

0007430506605
That's super helpful, thank you so much!! I think I'll probably try those before FortiFlora since it's obviously way cheaper.
 
I've used the regular S. boulardii without MOS, as the version with MOS is much harder to come by here. It worked fine on my IBD kitty on the time she saw side effects from antibiotics. I saw you were giving Clindamycin. Yuck! That one is really hard on your tummy, speaking from both Neko and my own experience. Visbiome works well - I used the packets for my kitty and a box lasts over 6 months. Again, capsules not available in Canada. But you can also use human brand probiotics that have L. acidophilus and Bifidobacterium, such as Renew Life. There are ones marketed specifically to counter the effects of antibiotics.

Ironically, the vet was perplexed and said that Clindamycin is usually less upsetting than others. 😓 Only 2 days of it and either it had a huge ripple effect or it was just bad timing. We stopped the antibiotics almost 2 weeks ago, so I'm not sure how much of this is related to that vs that he's only eating the food with pumpkin now.

Good to know that the one without MOS could work just as well too! Thanks. Visibiome is way beyond our budget but I'll keep an eye out for those two things.

To give the powdered meds, I pick a different flavour of Churu that the normal treat one. I don't give it the "med" Churu often, so it is still considered a treat. A trick I used for Neko was the Purebites duck liver flavour, They crumble into dust really well and she loved them. She seldom need encouragement to eat though.

I get variety packs and give him all the flavors on rotation because he gets bored, but maybe I'll have to start holding one flavor back for that. We'll see. I think we're gonna try PureBites like both you and Squeem recommended for a start.

Thanks, Wendy!
 
I mixed SBoulardii in baby food and syringe fed it when Chai had diarrhea.
Thanks, Elise! Unfortunately syringes anywhere near his mouth are a no go (he hates that more than even injections, and learning that was a traumatizing experience for everyone involved 😓) but I do have the baby food if I need to try it.
 
Well unfortunately it seems like every time I have hope that things are finally better life likes to dump a whole new thing on me, so at the exact moment I'm not doing too great but I still stand by the general sentiment of the other day.
Uh I’m sorry you’re not doing great 😔❤️‍🩹 Hopefully easing up on the TR will give you some time to improve. Sending healing vines for you!!! 🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
M
Uh I’m sorry you’re not doing great 😔❤️‍🩹 Hopefully easing up on the TR will give you some time to improve. Sending healing vines for you!!! 🍃🍃🍃🍃
Most cats love Gerbers. You might be able to mix it in that. Also sardines are very strong and might work. I have bought Lotus sardines.
 
Echoing the advice above, I use the PureBites freeze dried chicken as a topper.
Lately it hasn't been working too great with whatever he has going on, but I noticed that rather than using it as a crumbled topper, if I give him one of the treats beforehand he'll start eating his food from his bowl. He is a puzzle.
 
Echoing the advice above, I use the PureBites freeze dried chicken as a topper.
Lately it hasn't been working too great with whatever he has going on, but I noticed that rather than using it as a crumbled topper, if I give him one of the treats beforehand he'll start eating his food from his bowl. He is a puzzle.
Glad to have another confirmation of the PureBites working pretty well! Thank you!

That's interesting! My Xander is weird that way sometimes too. If he's decided to ignore his food and sleep, sometimes I'll lift him to a slightly more sitting position and he'll act like the bowl is a brand new development and eat some. 🤪
 
We stopped the antibiotics almost 2 weeks ago, so I'm not sure how much of this is related to that vs that he's only eating the food with pumpkin now.
Antibiotic also kills good tummy flora. You need to put good flora back in with the probiotic. He might still feel off. S. boulardii is a probiotic fungus and acts to mop up the bad flora, so also has a role to play.
 
You can get salt free at Trader Joe’s. I recently bought lotus cat food sardines. I hide zyrtec in it for Mocha. The lotus does not contain bones though. Bones are not a problem.
I had no idea there were cat food sardines. I'll have to check those out. Thank you!!
 
Antibiotic also kills good tummy flora. You need to put good flora back in with the probiotic. He might still feel off. S. boulardii is a probiotic fungus and acts to mop up the bad flora, so also has a role to play.
That makes sense! I've ordered the S. Boulardii, PureBites and nutritional yeast. Fingers crossed that I can get him to eat it somehow!
 
Any freeze dried treat works, just not the ones that are hard as rocks or are more like jerky. If Xander isn't sensitive to chicken, you can start with freeze dried chicken treats like PureBites.

Bragg is one brand of nutritional yeast you can find at most supermarkets.

0007430506605
Is it safe to use (tiny) amounts of the PureBites or nutritional yeast in every meal? I just worry that that might be what's needed to get him to eat his normal food again.
 
A little sprinkle won't do any harm :) Maybe once Xander is used to it, slowly decrease the topper until it's just the probiotic mixed in the food.
 
Back
Top