11/10 Shishi PMPS +14 95 +14.5 (AMPS) 99 +1.5 127 +3 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29408

Hello all

Shishi threw me a curve ball again, I am used to low preshots in the evening, But she suddenly has a very low AM preshot.

I did not change the dose yet and everything was the same. I tested twice just to make sure and it was the same amount. Right now I am feeding her and waiting a hour and testing again.

I know there are 2 or 3 choices on handling low preshots. This low number is strange to her pattern, and I am wondering if anyone has similar experience.
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi AMPS 86 dose help???

No, no experience w/ exactly this.

Spitzer was bouncing all over the place as I tried to adjust the Lantus downward from the originally prescribed 3 units, bid, to a dose that didn't wind up with me needing to skip every 3 doses (I'd shifted him to low carb canned food). It still isn't stable! (Look at October to see what I mean)

What did you decide to do? Wait & re-test? Adjust dose down & shoot? Other?
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi AMPS 86 dose help???

I am now waiting another hour and testing, and going to shoot a reduced dose as soon as she rises.
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi PMPS +12 86 +13 77 dose help???

Hi Will, so you fed at +12? I would try to test sooner than an hour, we usually test in 15 minute increments while stalling because you want to catch her when she turns around and starts to rise. Often, once they start to rise, they will go up pretty quickly. Also, for next time, please don't feed because then if she starts to rise, you won't know if she's rising from the food or rising normally. I know she still dropped this time...just FYI, ok?

Looking at SS, brb.
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi PMPS +12 86 +13 77 dose help???

Thanks for the tip, Your absolutely right about not knowing if its the food that doing it or just her.

She started to rise and now we don't know if its the food or just her. I gave her a reduced dose of 2.75 units. Going to watch her closely.

Thanks for the advice again.
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi PMPS +12 86 +13 77 +14 95 +14.5 99

If you fed at +12, the food is most likely not causing the rise now. Nice hooting! Since you stalled and reduced, that's like a big dose reduction, so don't be surprised if her numbers are much higher over then next few cycles/days. Not saying it was a mistake, it's all good data, just explaining...stalling is like a reduction already, you probably didn't need to reduce.

I see a lot of yellow and blue on the SS, her numbers are pretty nice. If you possibly can, try to get a test in before bed in the PM cycle, many times cats go lower at night and if you don't get those tests, you're missing half your data.

Sometimes they like to throw us a curve ball, they are cats, after all!
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi PMPS +12 86 +13 77 +14 95 +14.5 99

Thanks for the advice, and stalling is a dose reduction. I'm going to work on some PM data before I sleep.

She seems to be rising now, and fast just as you predicted. But I rather see rising than lowering at this point. Will try to get her back on track asap.
 
Re: 11/10 Shishi PMPS +12 86 +13 77 +14 95 +14.5 99

Glad to see she's rising, I'm sure you are too! It's pretty unnerving the first time or two you see those low preshots, it's fine to play it safe! Very good to stall when you see a dropping number.

Is this going to cause you a schedule problem, to shoot 12 hours from the time you shot this AMPS? Do you know about adjusting by 15 minutes per shot or 1/2 hour per day? Just checking, I don't think I've posted in your condo before, sorry if I'm telling you something you already know.
 
No problem, I am still a newbie after all, and continue to learn everyday. I just recently learned about the + or - 15 mins every 12 hours.

Thats a very good question, and I was unsure as to give her shot in the PM at the same time normally or give it +12 to the new AMPS. This would not cause a schedule conflict for me.
 
That's good about the schedule. Then I would shoot at +11.5 if she is high (looks like she might be) or +11.75 or +12 if she's around her normal PS number.

Don't worry, she'll get back on track soon. You do what you need to for safety...that's always the top priority.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top