11/10 Maverick PMPS 194.4 +2 156 +4 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29413

He's not eating the low carb food - I expected this. Even with the purebites chicken dust. If I mix it into the food he leaves it. If I put it on top he licks it off and leaves most of the food. Cowboy cookout was a complete bust. He's been begging for food since 6AM and at 7:30 when I fed him he ate maybe 1/4-1/2 ounce.

So I think I'm going to go back to Presidents Choice Turkey and Giblets which he eats consistently but has an obvious impact on his blood glucose. And manage with insulin. It will make things more difficult I assume.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

Hi welcome to LL if I hadnt done that!--IMHO, I would try the traditional cat foods that are low carb, just because the cats find them tasty, & usually will eat them--
I use fancy feast classics only, and they are the low carb brands...I think that eventually you could use a better quality food, if that is your issue, but for now, perhaps try ff tender beef, chicken feast, chopped grill, and many other flavors--You want to get his numbers down, and maybe these will work for you--
Please read Janet & Binky's food lists, as they are very helpful--Have a good day-
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

I'm up in Canada and our fancy feast selections are very limited compared to you guys. I've posted before that Maverick has to maintain 15lbs (ideal weight - down from 20). So the low calorie ones won't cut it. He just doesn't eat enough wet food. With his diabetes coming back his appetite has increased but I expect it to go back to 4.5 oz over a 24 hour period.

I did use Binky's list but doubt its accuracy for Canadian foods. The Presidents Choice Turkey and Giblets was chosen from this list and we managed his diabetes with diet alone for 8 months using this (switching him from kibble to wet food was a nightmare but we did it). But now that we are measuring often with a BG meter vs urine dip sticks, I can see the effect of foods on his numbers.

Binky's list shows carb content for Presidents choice foods - but when I called them, they said they did not have this. So I wonder if someone estimated them from some of the calculations listed on some sites (for figuring out dry matter etc) but not as fed.

The walmart classics don't seem to be available here either - just special kitty.

Thanks for the welcome and suggestions!!! :razz:
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

Hey, just be grateful you aren't looking for Canadian foods that are good for Diabetes AND kidney disease @-)

I think that eating has to be a priority for Maverick. I use FF turkey and giblets, tender liver and chicken, and the newer roasted chicken flavors. I have had some success with Friskies Seafood Supreme and Chef's Dinner. The Wellness, Merrick, and Evo didn't fly. I stockpiled all of the FF beef flavors on the shelves in southwestern Ontario when the import ban was imposed. I had one case left when Bear died. Finding foods in Canada is a thankless task. I know that some Canadians cross border shop for foods, but anything containing beef may be seized at the border.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

Ouch - I couldn't imagine that. Maverick has one normal sized kidney so we keep an eye on that one closely. We didn't even know he had another one until his PEG tube placement had a complication (had to do major surgery) and they found a tiny one. Diabetes is enough for us.

I've decided I'm just sticking to what he eats. And get him regulated with insulin. By keeping the food consistent, maybe his pancreas will still get a break and wishing he'll go into remission like many of the kitties here.

Vet still hasn't called.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

I'm so glad Linda posted, I've seen people post about the foods being more difficult in Canada but I'm no help since I'm in the US! I agree, eating is the priority here. It's nice if you can feed him lower carb, but it's no good if he won't eat it!

Not a bad AMPS! I hope the vet calls you today. Keep us posted!
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

Good morning guys ... a nice sunny yellow for maverick this morning! Sorry to hear of the food problems .. we use wal mart brands special kitty, turkey and giblets .. mocha seems to enjoy it and it is much more cost effective for us compared to the FF turkey and giblets we had been using. have you tried that by chance?
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243

I will see if he likes the special kitty brands. Maybe they will be better for him. Thanks : )

I used some of the left over cowboy pot whatever to give my dog her medicine this morning. She loves his catfood. She wouldn't touch it. Put it on the floor and she left it. That is a first (it was only a tiny amount - just to camoflage a tiny pill). I wasn't surprised Maverick didn't eat it cause he's so picky. But not the dog. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8.... help lol

Kick me! I got complacent about doing a mid morning test. He's only on 1.0 and it hadn't dropped very much before. So I decided I'll just do the +6. I expected it to be higher than his AMPS. But boy was I wrong. I big blue out of the blue! I don't know how low he got. He has bad arthritis so he's not very active.

My theories: He didn't eat much last night. Plus, he didn't eat hardly anything after his AMPS. Just licks, until the +2 mark. Plus we were trying to tempt him with low carb foods the past few days.
So - this is an out of the blue number where he is going into his storage shed?
Don't increase his dose if the vet asks us to (was planning on a .25 increase)? (Wait a couple more days?)

I'll test again in an hour. I brought him to his food bowl for some turkey and giblets sprinkled in purebites chicken dust.

Not worried, stressed or anxious. Just want to make sure I understand whats happening.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8.... help lol

Did you try mixing a little of the Merricks with his regular food? My civies, who have been eating canned food their whole lives definitely prefer the regular store brands (FF etc) to the healthier, higher quality foods like Merrick and EVO, so I understand the switch being difficult.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8.... help lol

Nice blue number! Nothing to worry about, an indication that the insulin is doing something. I suspect his shed has been full for a while, so I doubt it has anything to do with that. It could be the food, you have been feeding some lower carb and his numbers were improving a little...or he's just getting used to getting insulin. I wouldn't take this as a reason to not increase his dose, that number is still above the range you want...but let's see how this cycle plays out and what others say.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8.... help lol

I had a bit of a start. I didn't know if the subject line read "Lo!" or "lol" -- obviously a big difference. I agree with Laurie, I think Maverick's shed is full. I think you'll have to watch him for patterns. He may be a kitty that takes a day or two longer to respond to changes.

Are you giving him anything for the arthritis? Many people here use Cosequin or similar products. Cosequin is available over the counter and is a glucosamine/chondrointin product.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8.... help lol

I have cosequin but have never given it to him - two boxes. So lots of diabetic cats take this with no issues? If so I can start giving this to him. Do most of you sprinkle on food?
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

Would I be paranoid if I signed up under a pseudonym? *butterflies*

Maverick's vet called and left a voicemail. She looked at his spreadsheet and she likes what the no carb is doing. That if his number is above 200 tonight give the shot but not to give the shot if he's below this. I know this isn't how lantus works. :( Just sharing my instructions.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

No you wouldn't be paranoid! You sent her the SS, right? Did she say anything about the dose? Let me guess....his numbers are just fine because they're mostly below 300...right?
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

So Madame Butterfly - do you feel relief that this conversation is past history? Did you have to go into the .25U speech or was it just a voicemail?

do you feel like you're off the hook?

whew! I feel relief for you. Are you supposed to call her back?
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

LOL it was just a voicemail. I don't feel off the hook yet. Just paranoid because I most likely/might not be following her instructions.

Maybe she is worried with Maverick's drop at 2.0 he will continue to drop and he might have a low. Paranoid about having to cook the books. I would so prefer to be open and honest. I really really want her to work but trust isn't there yet. I can imagine that I don't fit the mold of most of her human clients. How do they know who are the sane ones and who are the problem children.

Nothing about the dose - give him 1unit if he's above 200, skip the dose until I talk to her tomorrow if its below 200.
She has a link to my canadian spreadsheet. My US spreadsheet has a lot more results. I only included the lowest tests because I didn't want her to think that I was overtesting or a worry wart - I'm testing because of the instructions here. Her instructions were every four hours for the curve. Haven't called back because I'm caught off guard and I like being really prepared so we'll see what the plan is tomorrow. I need a new name for me and my cat haha.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

I transisitioned my cats from dry to wet with Special Kitty Chicken and Tuna.
They did not seem to like it all that much, so now I feed them 9 lives chicken and Tuna dinner.
They like it alot better.

I bought Wellness and they would not touch it. I would like them to eat a better quality food but if they wont eat it, they wont.

Mixing the good and the cheaper brand together might work when I decided to try that transisition.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

Kerrie....My vet also initially said not to shoot below 200...then over time...as I adjusted to dealing w/her diabetes and Curry adjusted, the pre-shot number he would suggested got lower. It sounds like your vet is also needing some time to adjust to a wonderful cat owner who is doing an awesome job....not too many people are so dedicated to monitoring their kitties.....Then over time I stopped asking him because I felt more comfortable w/what I was doing since I had some data and some experience and most importantly....I had the folks here to provide guidance.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick AMPS 243 +6 136.8 - vet called

So what do I do if its under 200? What if it is still near the 150 range or lower. Hopefully someone will be around. I can delay it to 8:30 and get back on our original shot time.

He's had about 2.5oz of Turkey and Giblet food today. mostly mid day. I bought four cans of special kitty turkey and giblet to see if he will eat this.

I have a hypo kit for the most part. Corn syrup, kitty treats, and canned food in gravy but I haven't looked them up on Binky's list to see actually how high the carb content is.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick +6 136.8 PMPS 194.4???

He ate a bit more than an ounce of food it looks like in the half hour to hour before PMPS reading. Not sure when. So that number may possibly be a bit lower if it weren't for food?

So I assume I give the 1.0? And monitor every two hours?
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick +6 136.8 PMPS 194.4???

hi!

possibly food spiked preshot number.
I would suggest a +2 if you can to start with.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick PMPS 194.4 +2 156

good. Will he eat a couple of bites of low carb food? Then test in an hour to see if he's surfing or dropping.
 
Re: 11/10 Maverick PMPS 194.4 +2 156

+4 108 He's had about an ounce of special kitty turkey and giblet wet food but only in the past 1/2 hour.
 
Beautiful blues today! it looks like Maverick was just taking his time settling into this dose, as Sienne said. I would give him a few bites of food again and get a +6....looks like he' surfing but you want to be sure he's not dropping before you go to bed.

Are you comfortable with this? I'm going to be heading to bed in a few minutes...I can find someone to help if you want?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top