? 11/10 EDDIE AMPS 369 +2 122 +3 97 +6 142 +8 191 PMPS 367 +2 387

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
after conversations with you @Wendy&Neko and @FrostD and @Bandit's Mom yesterday, and a lot of hand-wringing on my part about holding steady, Eddie is still high this morning. You might recall I was going to do +4 last night but it was suggested to just let be.

The spreadsheet tells an awful story over the past two days.

What should I do today?
 
We are @ +8 191, which is at least still in the blue zone. I'm anticipating going into yellow for AMPS. Given his 97 @ +3 and his 142 @+5, I'm asking what dose will I be going with tonight. Has he earned reduction? Stay the course with 9u? Or???

Thank you.
@Wendy&Neko @FrostD @Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
I would not reduce, overall his numbers are still a bit high. If it were me, I'd actually try an increase to 9.25-9.5U but Wendy may think otherwise.
 
I would not reduce, overall his numbers are still a bit high. If it were me, I'd actually try an increase to 9.25-9.5U but Wendy may think otherwise.
I think the complication here is that we are dealing with post-SRT issues/doses.
Would that still warrant an increase? Or is this @Wendy&Neko territory?
 
Last edited:
What is your reduction point? Did he go below it? If yes, reduce. If not, you could experiment with a tiny increase, but only do it if you can monitor frequently. Side note, whenever I got frustrated with numbers and increased post SRT, Neko whacked me with low numbers. So that's where I'm coming from.
 
What is your reduction point? Did he go below it? If yes, reduce. If not, you could experiment with a tiny increase, but only do it if you can monitor frequently. Side note, whenever I got frustrated with numbers and increased post SRT, Neko whacked me with low numbers. So that's where I'm coming from.

Hi, His reduction point on the AT would be approx 78. He did not go there quite yet but the bounce lost some velocity. I'll see what his AMPS says and then decide to do a tiny increase or not. I can monitor.

I'm so wondering about Eddie's rainbow SS. It indicates the SRT is doing something; but then it seems to take a rest.

Thank you and @FrostD . I appreciate you riding along.
 
"whacked", a very appropriate verb haha

Waiting til AMPS before making a decision sounds like a good plan
 
It indicates the SRT is doing something; but then it seems to take a rest.
Yup, that's pretty much how it went for me. SRT neuters tumour cells. Some die off without replicating, then you have to wait for the next life cycle to play out. Neko much more rainbowish than Eddie at this point.
 
Yup, that's pretty much how it went for me. SRT neuters tumour cells. Some die off without replicating, then you have to wait for the next life cycle to play out. Neko much more rainbowish than Eddie at this point.
Is there a "standard" lifecycle? For example, is it possible to say hey, in x time, another round of failed replication is coming? Not that it would change anything other than keeping an eye out and looking at data a little differently
 
Is there a "standard" lifecycle? For example, is it possible to say hey, in x time, another round of failed replication is coming? Not that it would change anything other than keeping an eye out and looking at data a little differently
I was just about to ask the same thing. All I know is that the IGF-1 gets stopped in the process and it’s unpredictable.
 
I was just about to ask the same thing. All I know is that the IGF-1 gets stopped in the process and it’s unpredictable.
I have a feeling it's "if only it were that easy". I imagine they're all at various stages in their own lifecycle, so not predictable.
 
I have a feeling it's "if only it were that easy". I imagine they're all at various stages in their own lifecycle, so not predictable.
That’s exactly what I meant by unpredictable. Are only some of them hanging on so the insulin resistance is more or less apparent? Is the tumour sputtering along? I mean before I was keeping a SS and joining here Eddie was always up in the high 20s and on 16u. I’d just do a curve once a week snd the vet would increase accordingly. Eddie is just beginning to show these phenomenal -/miraculous—numbers.
 
@Wendy&Neko & @FrostD

AMPS 367. We have pretty much gone in a circle and arrived at nearly the same place as we left at AMPS this morning. It seems to me that I might just go with 9u tonight, check AMPS and if the same go with 9.5u tomorrow.

Does that sound reasonable? I'll also do +2 or +3 tonight. Sheesh.
 
I did not do a fur shot. I also have to ask a question. A friend of mine lives in Ontario lives with an acrokitty whose BG was all over the place after SRT. I talked to her about Eddie and she wrote this:

"The body will react to too much insulin, some may call it a toxicity, causing a cat to drop too low, be hypoglycemic, and then you see the body react by spitting out glycogen to the system, trying to SAVE ITSELF from too much insulin...
Too much insulin pulls down the blood glucose, so the body panics and spits out glucose into the system to react.

It can become a vicious cycle of too much insulin, then bounce from the saving glucose...
over and over and over until the body just can't do it anymore and the cat STAYS in high numbers. The bounces become more extreme and last longer until the highs are the normal... the cat can't get out of that perpetual bounce."

I told her about FDMB and she said she's done TR and that she insists his dose should go down not up. Because I really don't know what's going on, I don't know how to answer her. Could one of you please explain the contradiction between raising Eddie's dose and her claim to lower it because of the "vicious cycle"????? When she wrote me this evening, I didn't know what to think.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Could someone please explain to me how @ +2 his BG is higher than it was @ PMPS??? I am really confused. :confused::(
He is bouncing from the green he saw today. You get a night off from testing.

Could one of you please explain the contradiction between raising Eddie's dose and her claim to lower it because of the "vicious cycle"????? When she wrote me this evening, I didn't know what to think.
You friend is right when she says that to much insulin can too look like too little insulin. A cat can get too much insulin when either (a) the cat is started on too high a dose (b) Increases are in full units (at smaller doses) therefore bypassing a good dose and/or (c) The CG is not getting enough tests to see how low the cat is going - therefore missing the lows and dosing based on preshots or bounce highs.

This is not the case for Eddie. He is seeing nadirs in the 90s on this dose and there is scope for increase. Yes, he is bouncing - which is his body's reaction to numbers he is not yet used to. But he is not bouncing because he is getting too much insulin or going too low. You are testing enough to know exactly what each dose is doing.
 
He is bouncing from the green he saw today. You get a night off from testing.


You friend is right when she says that to much insulin can too look like too little insulin. A cat can get too much insulin when either (a) the cat is started on too high a dose (b) Increases are in full units (at smaller doses) therefore bypassing a good dose and/or (c) The CG is not getting enough tests to see how low the cat is going - therefore missing the lows and dosing based on preshots or bounce highs.

This is not the case for Eddie. He is seeing nadirs in the 90s on this dose and there is scope for increase. Yes, he is bouncing - which is his body's reaction to numbers he is not yet used to. But he is not bouncing because he is getting too much insulin or going too low. You are testing enough to know exactly what each dose is doing.

Thank you. I really didn't know what to say to her except that we got to this dose based on an earned reduction already, for one thing. I'm getting the picture here but not enough to debate with someone!

It's too bad that I didn't know enough earlier about TR to query the vet on the fact increases were at full units.

I wonder what AMPS will bring. I think it's time to try Reiki!

Goodnight and thank you.
 
You friend is right when she says that to much insulin can too look like too little insulin. A cat can get too much insulin when either (a) the cat is started on too high a dose (b) Increases are in full units (at smaller doses) therefore bypassing a good dose and/or (c) The CG is not getting enough tests to see how low the cat is going - therefore missing the lows and dosing based on preshots or bounce highs.
This is very rarely seen on FDMB, if following the dosing methods here. I commented on increases yesterday, nothing has changed since then.
 
Back
Top