11/10 Doodle totally off track

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
Been at the ER with another cat the past 2 mornings so missed Doodle's shot. I'm think I need to increase to 1.25u? I was questioning whether to increase or decrease because he was previously doing better on .75u than on 1u .
 
JenniferF said:
Been at the ER with another cat the past 2 mornings so missed Doodle's shot. I'm think I need to increase to 1.25u? I was questioning whether to increase or decrease because he was previously doing better on .75u than on 1u .
how's your other kitty doing?

yes, i would increase the dose. dropping the dose back almost never works in situations like what is seen on doodle's spreadsheet. it looks to me like glucose toxicity set in on the previous 1.25u dose prior to being advised to reduce the dose to 1 unit. if doodle were mine i would take the dose up to 1.25 at the next shot and then follow the TR protocol until you see a break through. it's entirely possible you may end up taking the dose even higher to cause that break through.

what do you think?
 
As you can imagine it's been a very hectic week with one of my other cats in the ER for 3 days. I increased to 1.25u but looks like I'm heading for another increase. I think I have 2 more cycles before I can go to 1.5u?
 
when a shot is missed, the cycle count starts over. it looks like there's been 3 consecutive cycles of 1.25 unit. normally, you'd want to give the same dose for 6 consecutive cycles unless nadirs are over 300. don't forget about getting nadir checks before thinking about increasing the dose again. otherwise you could risk taking him over dose if you don't know how low the current dose is taking him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top