11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227, PMPS 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56129

Good morning Lantus Land,
So Bailey was low (97) at shot time last night and I did not shoot. I guess we are bouncing again. Or maybe this is normal since she hasn't had insulin for 24 hours? I gave her 1 unit this morning (her usual dose) and will keep wearing my Patience Pants. :lol:
Marjorie, yes I shoot very late. I work an evening shift so we schedule around that. I tested & shot a little early today since we skipped a dose - and all the kitties were *starving* this morning for some reason. Thanks for the welcome and advice!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440 - sigh

Morning!! I was waiting for you ;-) ;-)

Here's the link to yesterday's condo as it doesn't work on your initial post: 11/9 Condo.

This is to be totally expected. When you skip a shot, it drains the shed and you have to refill it in order to start seeing some lower numbers. My thought is that you have two things going on here: a bounce from the 97 which is compounded by the skipped shot.

So now we wait :-D Hang in there....we've all been there and seen these ick numbers. It gets better!!

When you get a lower PS than you have shot before, just post and ask for help and we'll give you options and if you decide to shoot, someone will stay with you.....even if it's all night. You can also see that I've got a link to Dealing with Low Preshots and Handling Low Numbers in my signature block. If you have printed those out, I would and keep them handy. Because of your schedule, it is possible that late at night, there may not be someone around. But post anyway because you never know...quite often, either Julie and/or I am up at the time you shoot.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440 - sigh

Thanks Marjorie :razz:
How do I make a link? Since copy & paste clearly doesn't cut it :lol:
Yeah, usually no one is around when I post our PM numbers - it is the middle of the night. Last night no one was on so I just re-tested at bedtime to make sure she was OK - but she still wasn't high enough for me to be comfortable shooting & then going to bed.
She was really alert and active this morning - more like her old self, so I was hoping that meant something good. Oh well. She has been pretty lethargic since her dx. Poor kitty :sad:
Anyway, have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440 - sigh

Hi guys .. I don't remember stopping in your condo before? So welcome from us! Sorry to see such a high number on bailey this morning, but it happens .. we all have patience pants so join the club :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440 - sigh

You have to put your condo link inbetween URL tags -- paste link here -- to make it work.

Your "AMPS 440 - sigh" make me snicker. If you dare to peek at Donovan's old SS, I used far worse words when he had crappy BGs :oops:

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440 - sigh

MJ - I looked at your SS and had a good laugh :lol: Thanks.
Also to see how wacky his #s were and that you eventually got him regulated gives me hope!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284

wow...MUCH nicer +3!

and MJ...omg!! Donny's SS comment section is PRICELESS!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284

:-D just checking in on bailey today! she'll get back on track!

now i have to go read Donny's ss and comments, since it's apparently a bit of entertainment!

yes, everyone has had their kitty that made them work, but a lot of them have settled down and really improved. what we're looking for you to say "Bailey's acting like her pre-diagnosis self again!" it'll come and it'll be a sweet moment.
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284

oh hahahaha mj! you sound like such a girl scout in butthead's movies, but you've got some zip and zing going in those comments!

:lol:
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

Our +10 is 227, not too bad at all.
She is a little off schedule so PM shot will be late tonight... curious to see what it will be. confused_cat
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

looks like he's clearing that bounce, melissa. if he's lower at pmps than at +10, you might need to wait a few minutes to test again before you shoot. don't feed during that time. the reason is that we don't like to shoot a dropping number. we want to see the number is rising on its own showing that the lantus is wearing off so we know that the number's not going to go too low.

it might be good (if you see this) to get a +11.5 and post so we can get a plan.

what time will be your pmps? would you post it and i can check back - or anyone else with some experience, and help you decide what to do next.
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

I don't get home from work until 12:30 (it is 11 here now, not sure what time zone you are in) and I usually test/feed/shoot as soon as I get home. I can test, wait half an hour, and test again though. I will post the number once I get home and go from there.
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284

julie & punkin said:
oh hahahaha mj! you sound like such a girl scout in butthead's movies, but you've got some zip and zing going in those comments!

:lol:

you obviously missed the movie on the day another driver cut MJ off, then blasted his horn :lol: :lol:

NICE to see Bailey responding so well!!!!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284

:oops: Hey, I'm a Massachusetts driver. I have a reputation to live up to.

OK, I'm looking at Bailey's SS (which is not quite up to date *ahem* ;-)) and it's hard to say which is having more influence here: the skipped shot last night, a possible bounce from green, or stopping dry food 3 days ago. I would be inclined to continue with 1U because initially it gave pretty steady blue numbers, and then things went a bit fubar for whatever reason(s). Unless you get a really low blue PMPS, I would feel comfortable shooting 1U tonight. Best to change only one variable at a time whenever possible. If you get pink/red numbers in the next cycle or two, then consider making more changes.

Donovan thankfully really didn't bounce. He had crap-o-rific numbers on Vetsulin, but was pretty darn flat after switching to Levemir.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

Hi there!

Julie is correct. You don't want to shoot a dropping number.

A few questions -

I was looking at Baileys ss and I can't figure out what his dose is. ????

I see you noted you were going to stop the dry food. Has Bailey converted 100% to wet LC food?

What was Baileys BG at diagnosis?
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

I am inclined to agree with both MJ and Julie. I think it's not a bad idea to post your number before you shoot just so we can make sure how much the drop is. Bailey is still high enough that I'm not overly concerned about shooting a dropping number like this so in that respect, I agree with MJ that you can probably figure to shoot the 1u. The drop today has been extremely slow and as long as Bailey continues that, then I think it's fine to shoot.

Can you get a +1 and +2 after the shot just to see where Bailey is?

So plan is:
1. post the number when you get it...don't feed as Julie said; I'll check in as well as Julie
2. tentatively plan to shoot the 1u
3. get a +1 and +2 to make sure Bailey is coming up.

Does that sound good?
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

there you go, melissa...
MJ's got your back!

and unlike myself...she knows what she's talking about!

hope you don't feel like i was hijacking your condo...
I just rarely get to tease MJ since Donovan doesn't have his own regular condo... :-D

celi
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

:lol: In my defense, I can't open the spreadsheet on my computer at work. I will update when I get home.
Bailey's numbers from that first week or so are a little suspect. I was using a True2go meter, which apparently other people have had bad results with. But yes, we have a lot of variables going on! She has converted nicely to 100% wet low carb food, a mix of FF classics & Innova.
The dose we have been giving her is 1 unit twice daily. I have given 1.5 units a couple of times out of impatience :oops: Is this why you were confused, or is it unclear for some other reason?
Her BG at dx was in the 380s (at the vet). Ketones were negative.
Thanks for helping me interpret these numbers, I really appreciate it! Any more questions please feel free to ask. We are very slow at work tonight!
 
Re: 11/10 Bailey AMPS 440, +3 284, +10 227

Marjorie, sounds like a plan! I will post when I get home, and I can get a +1 and/or +2 if needed.
 
PMPS 358, no danger of lows here :lol:
I did not feed her, however there is still a little food in the bowls from this morning... it is possible she ate recently. I did not think to tell DH to pick up the food.
Should I go ahead and shoot, or wait and get another number?
 
As Libby would say "SSSSHHHHOOOOOOTTTTTTT""" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

But I'd be sure in the future that the food is picked up. Unless she has dry food down (I believe you are not feeding that anymore) or really high carb canned food, this would be a HUGE food spike from +10.

HOpe you have a restful evening.
 
I see no reason to wait unless you're trying to shift your shooting schedule.
Hopefully those pinks will go away.

MJ
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top