11/10/22 Kaia AMPS 340 +4 is 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...uch-the-base-of-her-tail.270554/#post-3015442

I am worried about Kaia. I have been wanting to change insulin for awhile but have hesitated as I am gone often and I know the schedule for Lantus can be a little more strict and I am gone often and need someone to watch her. My sister does her best but gives her insulin an hour to hour and 1/2 late sometimes. I'm also dealing with several procedures of my own. I know I can get Lantus A LOT cheaper than ProZinc but I need a bit of leeway with injection times. But I will do whatever is best for my baby!!

Her numbers have been very high lately even after insulin. I attached my last post with her latest symptoms. She seems to not be in pain now with the medication but I still worry about an infection.

I have been keeping a close eye on her, especially after losing my other cat last Friday (Hyperthyroidism, intestinal infection) I spent $4000 to save her and I couldn't. My heart is broken. Now I'm SUPER on edge about Kaia.

My question is... Do I change insulin still? Do I up her dose? Do I check for infection?
Her spreadsheet is off, I noticed this morning her Relion meter said 11/11 and today is the 10th. So they are a day off (not sure it even matters) I should also mention I do feed her at +3, she acts like she is starving all day long. ANY advice would be helpful.

@FrostD
@Jackie and Biggie
 
Hi Jeni, my heart goes out to you for the recent loss of your other kitty. You so clearly put everything into saving her. It is so hard to deal with one sick kitty and then to worry about another at the same time can be overwhelming.

I’m pretty new to the Lantus game so I will defer to others with more experience, but I think they might want to know how long she has been on Prozinc. I think if an insulin isn’t doing a good job regulating after a long time it may be a good idea to switch but definitely would defer to others for specific advice. It seems like the time put in to monitor is well worth it if the payoff is regulation or possible remission. And I know the folks on here can coach and advise through all possible scheduling challenges. Sending healing thoughts to you and Kaia. :bighug:
 
I am so sorry for the loss of your other kitty:)

What pain meds did the vet put Kaia on?
Just thinking of things that could cause an infection.......Did the vet happen to check her teeth?
Does she have any symptoms of a UTI?

I think Kaia has been on prozinc long enough for you to consider another insulin. I don't think the prozinc is giving Kaia a long enough duration in the cycles. I think it would be worth trying lantus to see if it can give her a longer duration and bring those preshot BGs down a bit.
It is true Lantus likes to be given every twelve hours so do that as much as you can. You have to be able to live your life as well so if sometimes the dose is not on time, don't stress. Just do the best you can. If the dose is very late then you might have to work back to the schedule but I know we have had a few kitties that have had your problem and have been fine. However if you are shooting early on the next dose after a late shot the previous cycle....just be aware of what the preshot BG is if you are shooting early....does that make sense?.
This is advice for Jeni and Kaia only not for anyone else.

If you decide to swap to lantus, we can help you with the starting dose. Just post and tag us.
 
Just echoing what Bron said. Yes Lantus likes consistency, but at this point I'm leaning that even slightly off-schedule shooting with Lantus would be better than ProZinc. She's not doing horribly on ProZinc, but you're kind of stuck in that you can't increase the dose much more because it can be a little drastic for her.

Those on the Lantus forum can help guide you in situations for shooting late and early and in time youll learn how to do it on your own. I'd suggest adding a column after AMPS and another after PMPS for the actual time the shot was given (such as 8:30a) .
 
Sorry, was out because of my neck procedure. The vet gave her gabapentin. I think she is doing better but will still make an appointment to see if she has any infections (teeth, uti, etc) This is so scary for me. Also, I'm having such a hard time checking her glucose now. She has such a build up of cartilage on her ears now from checking! Little hard bumps on both ears... what do I do???
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top