11/10/2010 Spitzer AMPS=344; PMPS=139

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

He seems to feel OK - play/purr/preen/ mad dash from basement which I am assuming was pee &/or poo.

Curiousity:
How much of a change in BG do you see from before to after a meal & in what time frame (how many hours)?
 
Re: 11/10/2010 Spitzer AMPS=344

BJM said:
Curiousity:
How much of a change in BG do you see from before to after a meal & in what time frame (how many hours)?

its usually 3 to 4 hours,..if you take a look at New To The Group sticky
you'll see a chart of a typical curve and how insulin is working thru a cycle.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.

+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

however, depending on what carb % you feed and sensitivity of your cat (data collecting will show you this over time in both cycles, especially evening cycles) numbers can vary.
hope that helps!
 
Re: 11/10/2010 Spitzer AMPS=344

What Ronnie posted is the "ideal" curve. If you look at Gabby's numbers from today, she had a drop in her numbers within a hour after her dinner and shot. There was no food spike. Other days, there's a food spike and numbers follow a typical curve. A great deal depends on your cat, whether you're shooting a rising or dropping number, probably the lunar cycle, and just what mood your cat happens to be in. Oh, and whether you have to be somewhere -- that's a definite time when numbers will drop unexpectedly. In other words, ECID and every cycle is different.

I wonder if I could ask a favor. Could you keep one page of your SS where you keep all of the weeks consolidated? When I'm looking at a SS, I'm looking for patterns. Having to shift between the pages of your SS doesn't let me capture the big picture.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
... I wonder if I could ask a favor. Could you keep one page of your SS where you keep all of the weeks consolidated? When I'm looking at a SS, I'm looking for patterns. Having to shift between the pages of your SS doesn't let me capture the big picture.

October is basically a mess from changing the food to low carb canned and attempting to lower the dose to the proper amount ... which didn't really work. So I restarted from .25 units and have been working up, roughly 3 days (6 cycles) at a time.

There may be a pattern, once I get him to a stable dose - which may be around 1 unit, looking at this evening - but there isn't really one yet because he hasn't been on a long term stable dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top