11/1 Zeke PMPS 298; +4=82; +4.75= 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
This week has not been good. I went ahead and increased Zeke's dose to 1.5U this morning. Was this the right call? Did I hold the dose too long? One of the reasons we were hesitant to increase is because we're going to have to kennel Zeke overnight tomorrow, November 2, and are a little nervous that the staff won't be keeping a close enough eye on him and we are not too sure we know how he's going to react to a dose increase. I'm hoping it might take a few days for the increase to really start impacting his BG. I just couldn't hold off until Sunday to increase as he's been on 1.25U for 14 days and the last time his nadir was below 200 was 5 days ago.

We're planning on dropping him off around noon and won't be picking him up until about 11:00 am on Sunday. Any advice as to what we should consider doing tomorrow to keep him safe while being kenneled?
 
Re: 11/1 Zeke AMPS 358 Dose Advice

I think I would have done the same thing and increased Zeke. The 1.25 didn't seem to be enough

As for the kenneling, if they're unable (or unwilling) to do the testing, I think I'd take him back to 1.25 for those days. You have some pretty good data that it should be a safe dose to give if they're not going to do the testing (or even 1 if they're not able to do doses that are "between the lines")

The 1.5 will be gradually filling the depot and on any given cycle, could "kick in" with a vengeance and drop him too low. It's better in the long run if Zeke is higher for a few cycles, than too low.

Remember our saying "better too high for a day than too low for a moment"
 
Re: 11/1 Zeke AMPS 358 Dose Advice

I think increasing was fine. I try to evaluate a dose within 3 days of a decrease -- sometimes sooner if I think a reduction isn't holding.

I would suggest reducing the dose while Zeke is kenneled. When I travel, I have a petsitter come in to give Gabby her shots. Gabby, however, will not allow anyone except me to test. So, my petsitter has to shoot blind. As a result, I reduce the dose so I know she's safe.
 
Re: 11/1 Zeke PMPS 298; +4=82; +4.75= 63 Feed?

Should I feed or take another test in say 30 minutes?
 
Re: 11/1 Zeke PMPS 298; +4=82; +4.75= 63 Feed?

How about giving him a tsp of regular low carb food to see if you can get him up on his surf board? Testing in half an hour sounds good.

A favor to ask, could you update the SS with the latest numbers? Thanks.

ETA: You can take of the 911 - we like to save those for medical emergencies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top