11/1 Weezer AMPS 237, +3 260, +4 230, +5.25 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 226
+4 239
+6 260
PMPS 220
+6 196
+8 236
+9.5 238

It seems that I am having more trouble with the bubble wrangling lately. To draw Weezer’s 3.5U dose I have to pull the plunger to way past five and work out huge bubbles. Does that seem excessive?

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

That does seem a bit much. I usually don't have trouble with bubbles but someone who does will be along soon.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

I started a new pen today, thinking there was perhaps someting wrong with the other one, but had pretty much the same experience. Maybe not quite so bad. Am I correct that we use the pen just like a mini vial? Is there ever a need to depress the button at the top of the pen as would be done if the pen were used as designed, for use with needles? I hope that makes sense.
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

Morning guys!

Mannie and Weezer almost have the same number. :shock: and cool...

and yes on the bubbles... some days are like that for me too. I have too withdraw more juice than I need, just to get rid of the bubbles. I have found though that when you withdraw the juice, leave the needle in the pen for a few seconds longer, the pressure then equalizes some, removes some of the huge bubbles. And yes, one uses the pen the same way one would use the vial - no button pushing. well - at least that's what I do.

Have a good day today!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

Hoping for lower #s for you both today.

With regards to the bubbles, I also have a problem with them, but have found that when I draw very slowly (almost painfully slowly), they don't seem to appear (anti-jinx, and knocking on wood). There's a small one at the base of the needle itself, but after I push the plunger a bit, it goes away.

Wishing you lots of luck with the bubbles. Have a good day!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

OK, Weezer, that's an ok number but I'd like to see a little action. What do you think? I don't know about the pen, we use a vial. Have a great day!
Liz
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

BUBBLES!!!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
I hate the bubbles & still struggle with them as well!!! The pens give more bubbles than other insulin containers, but are still the easiest all around--I pull down about 4U & then waste the rest in the sink=
Gee My sink will never get FD :lol: :lol: Lubs Ya--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

I see you're still wearing your crown this morning Miss Weezer. You're close - let's see a flash of blue today!

Bubbles - oh those pesky bubbles.

First, do leave it in vial for 3-4 extra seconds, it will pull some back out. THEN, to get rid of the one(s) remaining, point the syringe up and 'hit' the side with a fingernail thump. Don't do a 'pansy' flick, hold it firm and pop it good. It should feel more like thumping something solid instead of a 'ping'. Those bubbles will pop right up to the top, you can express them easily. I never have to pull more than an extra half unit by doing this. Sure does save on the insulin!

Hugs Linda!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237

Hi guys .. was that a dip into the blues I saw yesterday?? Could there be more of them today? Oh I hope so! We struggled with bubbles too .. peter was in charge of the insulin and sure enough he always had to give the syringe a good pop with his fingers .. and then he was able to push out the bubble .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/1 Weezer AMPS 237, +3 260

Hi Linda, add me the list of Beans with bubbles in the syringes. I always have to go past the designated spot and slowly twist out extra insulin. I have the vial though is okay as I can use it for a few months. Weezer, hoping to see some nice blues today. Have a nice day.
 
I combine 2 of the tips you've gotten...
I draw painfully slow...then wait 5-10 secs as the syringe fills a little more
and as I pull the needle out slowly...the bubbles disappear.

do want to note, though...that I use the longer 1/2 inch needles...the slow retraction made no difference on the shorter needles.
 
Hope the dosecrease brings Weezer down soon into regular blues.

I didn't have any problems with bubbles with lantus. Lev is a different story...it's thicker and I can't flick the syringe or it makes more bubbles. I've found that drawing it very slowly (slower than I drew lantus) and overdrawing about 1u...slowly twisting the plunger to let the air/bubbles out works for us.
 
OK Weezer, this is a nice flat yellow cycle. You know what we expect from you in the next one, right!
Blue-Cool-Happy.gif


As for the bubbles, I get 2 kinds.
  • ~~ Little ones that stick to the plunger. For those the flick is good,just make sure there is no extra airspace at the top of the syringe or you will get more tiny bubbles.
    ~~The other kind is the big bubble from the top down the side of the barrel. For that the slow draw and holding the needle in the pen usually works. W/ a good magnifier you can watch the bubble slowly disappear, but you need to keep the plunger under tension. If you still have this bubble after several seconds, take the needle out of the pen and draw air in until the Lantus lets go of the top of the barrel and slides down to cover the plunger. Then you can gently squeeze the air out and the big bubble is gone. The surface tension of the insulin is just a little stronger than the draw of the plunger. Once the meniscus (just like when water crawls up the side of a glass) lets go of the top you are fine.
 
Weezer sure has been having a pretty stable surf today. Good luck with those really pesky air bubbles. Looks like you got some great advice. I have lots of trouble with them and always have to draw out way more insulin then I need.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top