11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149 +6.5 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Good Morning LL ~O) ~O) It's a beautiful day morning out there with +2C (36F) and a light drizzle of rain. They are calling for pretty gusty winds, but no snow and and a high of +5C (41F). I can't believe how mild it is for Nov 1st! :-D
After some solid advice I have decided to up Twice's dose this morning instead of tonight. I was nervous to do it and leave the house to head for the city but got some solid advice and I am trusting the system (It hasn't failed me yet, and I know I am in good hands here). I will be home for a +3 and am hoping that he just surfs nice and easy until I get back around +9.
Have a beautiful friday LL :-D Healing vines and hugs to those in need today and prayers that everything falls in line for the weekend
 
Re: 11/1 Twice AMPS 308 Dose Increase

Good luck with the new dose.

I hope you both have a good day.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice AMPS 308 +2 272 Dose Increase

So far so good at +2. Nice and easy Twiceman. C'mon down :-D
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 I Skipped dose

New question. When can I start shooting under the 200's? Twice is very good at having that super late nadir :o
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 I Skipped dose

I would have either given the dose, if you can be home to test, feed, and monitor, or stalled without feeding to see if he came up to a number you felt comfortable shooting, or given a BCS (temporarily reduced dose), but that's just me.
You will become more experienced shooting lower and lower numbers (within reason), was you go along, and with us here to hold your hand and help you through the cycle. I don't remember if you work outside the home, but with the weekend coming and if you were going to be home all weekend, I would have taken advantage of that and shot his insulin to see where he goes with it. But again, I've been around, and I understand that you're new to this and uncertain. I'm sure Twice will be fine with the skipped shot.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 I Skipped dose

Dyana
I'm 40 min late now. I did feed him and rechecked at 20 min, he had gone down more. I am here all wknd and want to shoot if you still think i can. gonna recheck now
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 I Skipped dose

He went down a bit more still. 122; 112; 110 in 20 min increments

*I am now 1 hour late and can't hit refresh anymore cause it's making me dizzy and anxious. I am going to go back to 1unit for this shot. I'm sure that's wrong and I'm sure I'm screwing this up, but I need to do something this weekend (I can't afford more time off work). So it either works out or it doesn't i guess
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Almost an hour off course now

Those are all basically the same number Kim.

If you have the supplies to test tonight, and your schedule can take it (12 hours after whenever you shoot), I think I'd go ahead and shoot...Or you could give a BCS shot of less than 1 unit, but then the counting of days on 1 unit would start over (unless he earned a reduction by going below 50)

You hold the syringe, and you're the one who'd lose the sleep if he needs to be checked a lot overnight, so it has to be your decision

Yeah for you Kim! I see you are taking the plunge to "shoot low to stay low"! Plan on getting a +1 and +2 and lets see how he's doing

What time is it there?
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Arg..I'm gonna shoot

Thank god you're there Chris :lol: I'm freaking out. Ok, I will shoot the full 1.25units. I really can't find any literature that tells me when I am ready to shoot under the 200, but I want to. Just wish I knew more... I will be 1 hour late now, so can I just ease my way back in 15 min increments this wknd to get back on schedule?
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Arg..I'm gonna shoot

We change time here in the US this weekend...How about where you are?

What time was it when you shot?
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Arg..I'm gonna shoot

No time change in Sk. I shot at 6pm
I will def get a +1 and +2 (and probably a +3 +4 +5... :lol: ) I'm nervous but excited. If this works my sweet boy will get to hang in safer numbers. Thank you so much for checking on me :-D
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Arg..I'm gonna shoot

Way to go Kim! Our "stop and ask before shooting number" in LL is 150. Starting tomorrow morning, you can work back your schedule 15 minutes per shot and be back on time for Monday. :-D
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Arg..I'm gonna shoot

Thank you Wendy. God I was just feeling like I was getting the hang of things, but I still have so much to figure out. I really appreciate your post :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Whew...I shot

I'll be hanging around too for your +1 test. We all remember how freaked out we felt the first time she shot low. I was pretty lucky, Neko eased me down slowly.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Whew...I shot

Remember Kim, if Twice happens to go below 50, don't panic!! Put the 911 on your first post and someone will notice and come help you through it....this is from the Sticky, "How to deal with low numbers"

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

I'll be trying to watch out for you tonight too..as will everyone else here!!
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Whew...I shot

Thank you again Chris :-D I just got my copy of the same thing out of the Hypo kit and was refreshing :-D So reassuring to know you be here
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Whew...I shot

Just to confirm, the question we ask when people are contemplating shooting low for the first time - got plenty of strips, high carb food or syrup and you'll be around tonight to monitor? It's a little late now to ask that question, but it's what you should think about each time Twice gives you that heart stopping moment at PS.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 Whew...I shot

Wendy; I have all of the above and more. I got caught with "my pants down" once, and the next day rushed out to acquire everything you listed, plus lube, oral dose syringes, bulb syringes, etc

I am ready for this :smile: And I am good to pull an all nighter. Lotsa coffee in the house and fresh jammies.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126

Looking good so far!!

And yeah, I figured you were ready after that first time! I always have a spare box of strips and at least 5 cans of gravy food in the house...as well as syrup just in case
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126

Nice +1, looks like a surf going on. +2 will be telling.

I figured you were ready too, just wanted to let you know what we ask in these situation. Coffee and/or chocolate for the bean are also important items to have on hand. :-D I've seen times when people have all the supplies but have to leave or can't monitor for some reason so it's all good data to know to decide about shooting low.
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126

I appreciate that everyone is so thorough. I have and will take days off to be home with Twice (any of them) if something is going on or I am uncomfortable leaving for some reason. I had actually intended to do the increase last night, but got nervous that the Halloween hubbub outside might just be too much for him (on top of an increase). I probably worry too much, but these guys are my children :lol:
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149

Looks like that surf is coming to an end. Now you have some good data about what Twice will do when you delay a shot. Back to 1.25 tomorrow?

For future reference, a delay acts like a dose reduction. We recommend shooting the regular dose if you delay. There's always next time. :-D It's OK what you did, it's all a part of gathering data so you have a better idea of what to expect next time.

If you are a chronic worrier about your furkids, you are amongst equals. ;-)
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for that info. It just all needs to get hammered into my noodle. Thanks also for checking in on me. I will be checking Twice a couple more times tonight, but he probably would love a couple hours without the pokie. Yes I will stay at the 1.25u for tomorrow. Have a great night :smile:
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149

Good shooting Kim! Hope Twice settles now and just surfs :-D Maybe you will be able to get some sleep after all ;-) Have a good night!
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149

Sorry I missed yours Kim! Good job tonight, and next time (and there WILL be a "next time") you'll be better prepared to shoot when the numbers are low. First time I shot China when she was in the 80's I was hovering over her for hours...now I can shoot when she's in the 60's and (hardly) bat an eye

China decided to have a PJ party but it looks like Twice doesn't want to come!!
 
Re: 11/1 Twice PMPS 122 +1 126 +2 124 +3 149

I will be asking him in a couple hours to see if he changes his mind :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top