11/1 Simon PMPS 165 +3.5 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
What the heck is going on here! Simon hasn't had this high of a number in a long time. Y'all know that he usually hangs out in the lower blues and greens. He is drinking a little more water, too. I am going to buy a new vial of insulin today. I have had this one for going on 3 months so maybe it is too old? Or maybe it is the dasuquin playing with his numbers? I wish Simon could tell me how he is feeling. He seems fine, eating well, purring, cuddling, lb action. I thought maybe the meter was wrong so I tested myself with 2 different meters (all normal numbers) and then tested Simon with 2 meters (both high yellow numbers). No issues with the meters, unfortunately.

Anyway, I will come home from work and check him and I'm going to try and get a vet visit for Friday afternoon after work for blood work. I can't believe it has almost been a year since Simon was first diagnosed with diabetes.

And thank you Michelle and Mannie for hosting a great Halloween party last night!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55432
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Hopefully the new insulin will help! I know what you mean, though...I've seen non-Trixie numbers coming from Trixie lately, and it's always a bit nerve-wracking!

Have a great day...and Simon, no more yellow!

Amy
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

My guess would be the insulin. I just had to replace mine after 2 months. Hope he comes down for you soon!
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Good luck with new insulin!

Simon, what's up, besides bg? You know we all count on see those nice greens and blues for you.
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Morning! it could be the insulin.... When I used the vial I'd change it out after 2 months. Though in all honesty I have heard from a few that have used a vial for close to 4/5 months. It would think it would be safe to assume that if you are getting whacking inconsistent numbers that it is the insulin. I hope the new vial will bring Simon back to more normal numbers for him.

Come down Simon - you are worrying your bean.... Good luck Georgia. I hope he comes down soon.

it does sound like all eh kits had a great party. :-D
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Thanks y'all for calming me down a little. I sure hope it is the insulin that is making his numbers wacky. Just in case, I went ahead and scheduled an appointment for Simon to have bloodwork and urinalysis done today. The vet is not in today but the techs can draw the blood and do the other stuff. Simon is due for everything anyhow. I'll let you know what I find out after the results come back.
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Hi guys .. yep, yellow is certainly not simons color! I bet it is your insulin as well .. We could never get more then about 28 days with mocha and her numbers .. but a blood work check up is never a bad idea .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Simonizer...this is not a "You" number!

best of luck with the vetty...and the new insulin!
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268!

Hi Georgia & Simon,
It could well be the insulin, but it's always a good idea to get the various tests done. Rusty has had a lot of higher numbers in recent months, too. I tried new insulin, I had the bloodwork and urinalysis and a dental done, I tested my meters and strips on myself. And I was advised to raise his dose. That seems to be having an effect. But I know and share your frustration. Lisa (Do Lou) made a great comment in Rusty's condo: the biggest variable in FD is FD itself (how true)!

Wishing you good luck with the tests and the new vial.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/1 Simon AMPS 268 PMPS 165

Simon's PMPS is so much better than this morning. I almost had a heart attack seeing his AMPS. the 165 is only 30 minutes after we got back from the vet visit. Simon was such a good kitty, as always. He is such a sweetie and lets the techs handle him without any problem. One of the techs even said that Simon was his favorite patient! Of course, he probably says that about lots of kitties! His blood pressure was good and I will get the results from the complete blood panel and urinalysis tomorrow afternoon. Since the last time he was there 2 months ago, he has lost 2 oz., which isn't much, right?. Probably had to do with him not eating for a few hours.

I wasn't able to get his new insulin this evening but will pick it up in the AM.
 
Much better number tonight! Especially for going to the vet. 2 oz for 2 months isn't much at all. Hope the report is good tomorrow.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top