11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102, +6.5-110 (HELP needed)

Status
Not open for further replies.

iBkoryD

Member Since 2011
I am new and have little data but need suggestions. I leave for work very soon and can't take a +1 or +2. I will be at work for the next 10-11 hours so I can't test or watch him for the next 10-11 hours. I am thinking skip the AM shot? He is on a 22% carb wet food diet that is crap I have been told but he is on it because of crystals in his urine.

Thanks
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

I would suggest skipping. It's your safest route especially since you don't have very much data and you won't be home to test. This has been a great cycle since yesterday!!
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

Agree-Skip the shot! Keeping your kitty safe is also important! Have a good day & no worries.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

Just stopping in to say "Welcome", too - this is great place to before support and knowledge!!

Amy & Trixie
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

Thanks folks.. I am skipping. Assuming I come home and his PMBS is close to 150 should I stick with 1u or drop it down?
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

Let's see what the numbers tell you. If you can get a test when you walk in the door, preferably a bit before shot time, and post, that will give us some lead time.

Thanks for getting your SS up.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Smokey AMPS-102 (HELP needed)

Hi guys .. just wanted to drop in and say welcome from us! Glad you got the advice you were looking for .. nice number by the way! Have a great day!
 
WOW!! Smokey...you are a ROCK STAR!!

truly lovely numbers, guys! :-D

celi & binks

lean_wit_it_rock_wit_it_cat.jpg
 
WOW!!!! Nice job today, Smokey.

BTW, if you didn't shoot this morning, please show it as "AMBG" in your subject line so we know you didn't shoot. Then your +6.5 number of 110 is actually going to be the number of hours since you last SHOT....which was last night.

Smokey is rethinking this whole diabetes thing...
 
Well.....

I stupidly shot in the 40s. Do NOT do that!! However, I will shoot in the 50s. However -- and this is a very big "however" -- I have a ton of data, I know my cat and how she responds to high carb food, I have a lot of experience in managing her numbers when they drop, etc. There's a huge difference in shooting low numbers when you have data behind you vs. shooting when you don't know that you don't yet have the data.

We suggest that you do not shoot below 150 until you have some data -- you need to know when Lantus onset and nadir fall. Once you have those data, you can begin to shoot progressively lower numbers. I think I would get general agreement that the first time you test and see that your cat is in the 40s, you're heart rate kicks up, your hands shake, and you start shoveling large quantities of food into your cat (not always the best idea -- the large quantities part, that is) because you're convinced that your cat will die from a hypoglycemic crisis. We've all stood in those shoes and learned how to steer the numbers to keep our cat safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top