? 11/09 Salem AMPS 248, +4 92, +6 101

Rin & Salem

Member Since 2025
11/08 POST HERE

So today was gonna be his 18 hr curve, but I missed his alarm for +3 so just did +4.

Should I postpone the curve or just continue on as if I didn't miss his +3?

Also seeing 92 at +4 shocked me a bit. Nice green number but much different than normal.
 
Hi Rin! That +4 is promising (especially in light of those mid-blues the past few days). Looks like the1U dose is starting to do some good work for him.

I'm not sure about the curve--is it for you or the vet? Hopefully this will bump you back up to the top of the list to get some attention and get an answer.
 
Hi Rin! That +4 is promising (especially in light of those mid-blues the past few days). Looks like the1U dose is starting to do some good work for him.

I'm not sure about the curve--is it for you or the vet? Hopefully this will bump you back up to the top of the list to get some attention and get an answer.

It's for me since this is day 7 of his 1U dose. I've just been continuing on at the +3 intervals (so +9 coming up next)

I'm hoping this is good news for him. He just hit 101 at +6 and he's lounging around in the sunbeams today.
 
150 at +9.. I'm thinking he might be close to, if not under 200 around dinner time. Depending on that, I'm unsure if I should stick with the 1U or do a smaller dose. I worry just a little giving him that full dose since he got under 100 earlier.
 
When following SGLS, you stick with a dose if it's giving your cat nadirs (note the plural) in the 90-149 range. So far, 1 unit seems to be doing that.

If you are wondering about what to do at preshot, see if you can take a test at +11. That'll give us time to strategize and see if you are going to be dealing with a lower preshot than what you are used to.
 
Nice little greenie :). A couple of things to consider. He’s past nadir, and numbers are coming up, but if you’re worried about the trend, catching a test before preshot like +11 might help you have some comfort level. It’s only recently that you changed meters and speaking from experience, that takes a mental adjustment. Did you feed anything after that 92? Just wondering how the insulin and carbs are working this cycle. That too can influence his preshot, and making it an easier choice, especially if duration is fizzling out.
 
Nice little greenie :). A couple of things to consider. He’s past nadir, and numbers are coming up, but if you’re worried about the trend, catching a test before preshot like +11 might help you have some comfort level. It’s only recently that you changed meters and speaking from experience, that takes a mental adjustment. Did you feed anything after that 92? Just wondering how the insulin and carbs are working this cycle. That too can influence his preshot, and making it an easier choice, especially if duration is fizzling out.

Yes after the 92 he had about 2 tablespoons of Dr Elseys kibble and a little bit of a churu treat.

When following SGLS, you stick with a dose if it's giving your cat nadirs (note the plural) in the 90-149 range. So far, 1 unit seems to be doing that.

If you are wondering about what to do at preshot, see if you can take a test at +11. That'll give us time to strategize and see if you are going to be dealing with a lower preshot than what you are used to.

I completely forgot about that little tidbit that dosing is based more on nadirs and not just pre-shots. My brain is all jumbled lol. But I will be doing what I can to get a +11. I can tell he's already annoyed with me with all the poking today 😅
 
Did his +11, he's at 156 now so I imagine I was right that he'll likely be under 200 come PMPS and dinner.

Any advice appreciated

Edit to add: I've given insulin at slightly above 200 before with no hypo, so thinking on it, I think I would still be comfortable shooting at at LEAST 205 upwards.. but any feedback on that is welcomed.
 
Last edited:
If you see a number at PS that is outside your comfy zone, you have a couple options. One includes stalling, meaning you wait 1/2 hour so without feeding, then test again and see if he's up enough. Over time, and with data to do so, people on SLGS can shoot anything over 90. You work your way gradually down. Pick some criteria on how you work your way down. If you did 205 before, would 195 be OK? The two numbers are within meter variance, ie. allowed manufacturing margins.

Another option is a reduced dose tonight.

Can you get a second test in tonight before bed? One thing to consider, what is it that cat's commonly do after they've seen a lower number than they are used to? Hint - it starts with "b".
 
If you see a number at PS that is outside your comfy zone, you have a couple options. One includes stalling, meaning you wait 1/2 hour so without feeding, then test again and see if he's up enough. Over time, and with data to do so, people on SLGS can shoot anything over 90. You work your way gradually down. Pick some criteria on how you work your way down. If you did 205 before, would 195 be OK? The two numbers are within meter variance, ie. allowed manufacturing margins.

Another option is a reduced dose tonight.

Can you get a second test in tonight before bed? One thing to consider, what is it that cat's commonly do after they've seen a lower number than they are used to? Hint - it starts with "b".
ha! I know this! It's bounce!

I ended up giving him a reduced dose, he read 163 at his PMPS and I wasn't able to check replies here before his usual time and I had already stalled a bit. I think if he was sitting at around 190 I would have been okay shooting.

I'll definitely be doing a second test before sleeping tonight and I'll keep y'all updated.

Thank you so much!!
 
ha! I know this! It's bounce!

I ended up giving him a reduced dose, he read 163 at his PMPS and I wasn't able to check replies here before his usual time and I had already stalled a bit. I think if he was sitting at around 190 I would have been okay shooting.

I'll definitely be doing a second test before sleeping tonight and I'll keep y'all updated.

Thank you so much!!
Good job, Rin!! Safe surfing, Salem :bighug: 🌊 🏄‍♂️
 
Back
Top