11/08 Sissy AMPS 188, +2 80, +3 65, +4.5 53, +5 48, +5.25 64, +5.75 64, +6 68. +7 82, +9.5 122

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
Sissy just earned a reduction. She is having no symptoms of being low. I gave her some of her regular food with a teaspoon or so of her med carb kibble that I saved for this purpose, I gave her a tiny bit of gravy from a packet I found. Will test again in 15.


This is the worst day to do it...I'm supposed to be at my moms for an outdoor cook out and her bday and I have the cake. lol Everyone is waiting. I hope Sissy can get those numbers up soon! UGh.

Just re read the guidelines on how to deal with low numbers...So I realize I'm stuck here for awhile.
 
Last edited:
Test again in 20 minutes or so to see if the food had an effect. No need for Karo just yet. If you have some MC/HC wet food rather than kibble...it is best to use that...from what I understand, kibble takes longer to digest. If Sissy does not go up, add some Karo or honey to her LC food, and test in 30 mins from feed. Looking at her SS, it looks like she is it at or very close to her Nadir, and will start to rise in the next hour or so. I hope she does. It is hard when our sweet cats interfere with our lives, especially where birthdays & cake is involved. :)

I'm sure more experienced people will chime in too. They may not agree with the no karo just yet.
 
Retest in 20-30 minutes. I won’t be home for a few hours. The reason I said you could add honey was because you don’t want to drag this out and you want to leave.
 
Retest in 20-30 minutes. I won’t be home for a few hours. The reason I said you could add honey was because you don’t want to drag this out and you want to leave.

I had given her some high carb Bisque lickable treat. I didn't see your message before that about the honey. That along with the kibble must have been like a straight shot of sugar. lol But yeah..she has been hitting nadir the last few days around now so she SHOULD be going up on her own soon.
 
I had given her some high carb Bisque lickable treat. I didn't see your message before that about the honey. That along with the kibble must have been like a straight shot of sugar. lol But yeah..she has been hitting nadir the last few days around now so she SHOULD be going up on her own soon.
HC is good too. I hope she doesn't decide to change her mind about her Nadir---Silly cats like to keep us guessing just when we don't want them to. :rolleyes:
 
HC is good too. I hope she doesn't decide to change her mind about her Nadir---Silly cats like to keep us guessing just when we don't want them to. :rolleyes:

Man, I hope not too! I had a feeling that she was going to drop again today based on what she's been doing...I was just really hoping this wouldn't happen today of all the days. lol
 
Okay, at her +6 she is 68...so she isn't falling but she's not rising fast either. She just ate several bites of her food before she went back to my daughter's room to her spot on her bed. My husband will be home in about 30 minutes...he could test her then. Do you think it would be okay to go ahead and leave??
 
Okay, at her +6 she is 68...so she isn't falling but she's not rising fast either. She just ate several bites of her food before she went back to my daughter's room to her spot on her bed. My husband will be home in about 30 minutes...he could test her then. Do you think it would be okay to go ahead and leave??
Looks like you have a good back-up tester. If you're comfortable with that, go & celebrate your Mom. Flat is good (better than dropping) Over 65 makes it better.

Congrats on the reducie! You will probably have to keep a close eye on Sissy through the night...and maybe tomorrow am...the depot is still in play. :)
 
Looks like you have a good back-up tester. If you're comfortable with that, go & celebrate your Mom. Flat is good (better than dropping) Over 65 makes it better.

Congrats on the reducie! You will probably have to keep a close eye on Sissy through the night...and maybe tomorrow am...the depot is still in play. :)

I'm happy for the reduction! Yay! I will watch her closely. Poor kitty. My husband could test her and then he could come out and eat and I could come back in...I just have to get that cake out there and some of the food.

I've put out several options of food for her...so hopefully she'll continue to munch.
 
I'm happy for the reduction! Yay! I will watch her closely. Poor kitty. My husband could test her and then he could come out and eat and I could come back in...I just have to get that cake out there and some of the food.

I've put out several options of food for her...so hopefully she'll continue to munch.
**NO JINX** I'm sure she will be fine, rise from here and let you have a bit of fun **NO JINX** (good to have food options out...they seek out food when they run too low. :) )
 
Mandy --

In situations like this, once the reduction is earned, it's OK to abort the cycle with HC. Obviously, it's not ideal but it's practical. The same would be true if you've been up for several nights monitoring and need some sleep -- you're kitty gets the reduction and you can give HC to keep your cat out of low numbers and you can get the much needed sleep.

Given that your husband is going to be home, you do have a back-up. Have you taught him how to post if he needs help?
 
Okay guys, I just got home. Thank you so much for helping me earlier. My husband got home and he tested her and she was 82. So he left and came out and had dinner and cake then he came back home. He tested her again and she was 122.

Mandy --

In situations like this, once the reduction is earned, it's OK to abort the cycle with HC. Obviously, it's not ideal but it's practical. The same would be true if you've been up for several nights monitoring and need some sleep -- you're kitty gets the reduction and you can give HC to keep your cat out of low numbers and you can get the much needed sleep.

Given that your husband is going to be home, you do have a back-up. Have you taught him how to post if he needs help?

So, you mean if it happens like this again, where I need to leave and she's earned a reduction, just to let her have high carb food out when I leave? I just want to make sure. Things like this rarely happen. She was low the other day and I was watching and my daughter had car trouble so that was somewhat nerve wracking for me...about the cat and the daughter. lol That's good to know about the ability to do that if needed for sleep. There have been times...like on a camping trip this summer where she just kept dropping and I stayed up all night and I was just exhausted. I would have chosen to sleep one of those nights. Most of the time it doesn't matter. But good to know for future reference.

I have not taught him how to post here, but I guess I should. He's so good about testing her and giving her shot if needed. My teenager that's still at home tests her but does not do shots. And, we had to be gone on a day trip a few weeks ago, so my mom learned how to test her...and she came in and did it. So that was great. I want to teach the other 3 kids to do it...so I have plenty of back ups. lol
 
Yes. That’s what Sienne meant. It’s why I suggested hc when I first saw your post. Now if the depot is super full or a cat isn’t carb sensitive it might not work. Usually it does. You have lots of back ups. That’s great and has to be a relief. Good job putting together team Sissy.
 
Back
Top