11/08 Noni PMPS~360+ 6.5~229 +9~203 +11 266 (1.5U)

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
She's dropping down really quick that i'm worried , she eats normally. I give 2 spoons every couple of hours ..

seems weak today and want to stay away from me and my testing ..

PMPS 342
+2 185




What do you suggest to feed ?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82730&p=890549#p890549
 
11/08 Noni AMPS 342, +2 185

I'm sorry she seems weak, but I am hoping it is just from the anesthesia and the surgery experience. How is she acting weak? I am sending feel better today vines to her. Did the vet give you some pain medication to give to her?

I would give her something with some more carbs in it to try to get her to slow down from diving, and I would test again at +3.

I have to go to work, but someone will be around to help you, and if you get scared and really need immediate advice then put up the 911 icon.

Please change the Subject Line in your first post for today to be what I wrote in the subject line of this post, and add the new test numbers to the Subject Line of your first post as you get them today.

I wish you luck in getting her to surf in some nice low blue numbers.
 
11/08 Noni AMPS 342, +2 185, +3 117

Aseel, you might want to give her a little honey or syrup, just a drop, with her food, or rub on her gums.

Is she on pain medicine?

If she got her teeth cleaned at the vet's yesterday, she may soon need less insulin too, as teeth problems can cause higher numbers.

Right now she is dropping about 70 points per hour, and we want to slow that down. I would not feed dry food, unless it's a last resort. Do you still have some of that higher carb wet food with gravy? I would try a spoonful of that, now.

You might need to test her every 30 minutes if she keeps dropping. I'm sorry Noni. If you need to buy test strips, you should go get them now, and hurry back.

Have a good day, and I'll check your posts at my lunch hour.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342, +2 185, +3 117 +3.5 119

Dyana said:
Aseel, you might want to give her a little honey or syrup, just a drop, with her food, or rub on her gums.

Is she on pain medicine? Shes on antibiotic Betamox Tabs 40mg

If she got her teeth cleaned at the vet's yesterday, she may soon need less insulin too, as teeth problems can cause higher numbers.

Right now she is dropping about 70 points per hour, and we want to slow that down. I would not feed dry food, unless it's a last resort. Do you still have some of that higher carb wet food with gravy? I would try a spoonful of that, now.

You might need to test her every 30 minutes if she keeps dropping. I'm sorry Noni. If you need to buy test strips, you should go get them now, and hurry back.

Have a good day, and I'll check your posts at my lunch hour.



Yes she had her teeth cleaned !

I didn't know that I should lower the does :(

now shes dropping really quick .. and opss I gave 1/2 spoon of high carb and 1/2 of dry food :S already before reading that ..

Should I give honey now ???
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117

for medication yes: shes on antibiotic

Betamox Tabs 40 mg


P.S. just gave small spoon of honey and will test in 30mins
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117 +4 140.4 +4.5 178 +6 2

Aseel,
Shouldn't the vet have given her some medication for pain? It must be painful to be recuperating from that operation, don't you think? I would call the vet and ask about the pain medication if they did not give you anything.

Even though you fed dry food :-| you did a good job of stopping that dive. She may stay up for awhile after eating dry food as it takes longer to clear the system than higher carb wet food does. It also usually takes longer to bring the numbers up than wet food, and that is why we recommend using higher carb wet food to bring the numbers up as it works a lot quicker.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117 +4 140.4 +4.5 178 +6 2

Dyana said:
Aseel,
Shouldn't the vet have given her some medication for pain? It must be painful to be recuperating from that operation, don't you think? I would call the vet and ask about the pain medication if they did not give you anything.

Even though you fed dry food :-| you did a good job of stopping that dive. She may stay up for awhile after eating dry food as it takes longer to clear the system than higher carb wet food does. It also usually takes longer to bring the numbers up than wet food, and that is why we recommend using higher carb wet food to bring the numbers up as it works a lot quicker.


I did call the vet this morning asking for pain killer , unfortunately they only have injection, no tables and they asked me to come and take it and inject her myself which i'm afraid to do, as its like 2 hours trip to the vet so its stressful to take her everyday .. do you think I should go get it and inject her myself ?

he only gave antibiotics every 12 hours though

Dyana do you think I should give insulin tonight or just skip it ?
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117 +4 140.4 +4.5 178 +6 2

If she continues to increase I think it would be wise to get some insulin into her tonight. why don't you post before your shot we can see where she is.

I agree with Dyana that pain medication is important.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117 +4 140.4 +4.5 178 +6 2

Thanks Marje .. how much should I inject, she's only hight because of the HC food I believe ?
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185 +3 117+4 +10.5 277 (dose help

Please help me with the dose , she went low very quickly today -70 point in one hour

+11 277.2

+11.5 309.6 ate regular wet food FF
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+1 277(dose h

Hi Aseel-
I don't have any dosing advice. I'm wondering if you tried to PM someone as I see you are probably getting close to shot time and Noni is going up. Maybe Dyana or Marje are around on email. Just a thought as they have been in your condo and know Noni better.

Hope she is feeling better as the day has gone on. No fun when they are weak and sick.

Hang in there. I've got to get back to work. Sorry I can't stick around.
Karen
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342 +2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+1 277(dose h

Thanks Greg :( me and Noni are exhausted already

it passed her shot time by 12 min already
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342+2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+11 310(dose h

I have to post quickly because I'm at work. Today's numbers were good, so I would hold them same dose and monitor. If you would feel better shooting less that is up to you. Some people like to do that after a surgery if the cat is not eating normally.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342+2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+11 310(dose h

I'm still waiting .. hoping for someone to read and help

I might go with 1 unit of reduce to 2 units

instead of 2.5 what do you think .. ?
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342+2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+11 310(dose h

Hi Aseel, No dosing advice from me, I see Libby responded to your dose question. Just want to wish you luck with whatever dose you decided to give Noni. More post surgery healing vines for Noni, I hope the removal of her nipples gives her relief and you will be able to administer pain meds to help ease her recovery.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342+2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+11 310(dose h

FYI Tiggy is still weak right now too. It can last 24 hours.. more if they arent eating normally and it doesnt help she isn getting pain meds. Is there another vet near you that is closer that will have pain meds?

Is she eating normally?

Send a PM to Sienne but I think (in my non expert opinion) you should give her the shot at normal levels. She did come down pretty quick there but really maybe she is coming down back to her normal blue levels. I would give the same dose and just watch her. She may drop down again but this time I would watch to see how low she really goes since she may bottom out at blue or high green a +5 or +6. If it was me, I would give the normal dose and test more frequently as she heads down through blue and be ready with the honey and HC if she is trending to drop into low green.

But its up to you and your comfort levels.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni AMPS 342+2 185+3 117+4+10.5 277+11 310(dose h

Thank you Leslie, hopping for quick recovery poor thing .. she seems so weak and sad . thanks for your wishes dear.

Wendy, I shot after one hour passing her regular PM shot, can't delay longer.

PMPS is 360 so i decided to dose it at 1.5 u only .. that's safer I believe, and not an expert too :(

hope i'm doing the right thing ?

P.S. please advice for re leveling for the next shot , if i should go with 2.5 or 1.5 ? (question for the experts here- please advice )
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS 360 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Probably you will need to take her back to the original dose but lets see what Sienne says. bump.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS 360 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Aseel, please take the 911 icon off from your first post now. I meant to write to you to be sure to take it off once you have your answers. I know you had to make the decision yourself on what dose to give, but the urgency in asking for a reply is over.

I'll try to be up when you post in the morning, and I'll help you with the next dose question, once I see her AMPS, okay?
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS 360 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Thank you Dyana, It's done.

Please tell me that I took the right decision. I wanted an expert to reply as I'm so stressed deciding on the dose.

hope all goes right.


have a good one :)
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS 360 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

I'm sure you're very tired too, Aseel. I can understand. Hopefully, she'll let you get a good rest tonight.

We can call tonight's dose a BCS dose.

How many hours is 12 hours from when you shot tonight? I need to know when to set my alarm for, please.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS 360 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Dyana said:
I'm sure you're very tired too, Aseel. I can understand. Hopefully, she'll let you get a good rest tonight.

We can call tonight's dose a BCS dose.

How many hours is 12 hours from when you shot tonight? I need to know when to set my alarm for, please.


Its 1 hour plus the regular time . 10:00 to 10:15 hours left

it will be 1 PM Kuwait time
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

I don't know if you saw Libby's response to your question about dose. She posted shortly after you asked what to do:
Libby & Lucy said:
I have to post quickly because I'm at work. Today's numbers were good, so I would hold them same dose and monitor. If you would feel better shooting less that is up to you. Some people like to do that after a surgery if the cat is not eating normally.
Libby is one of the most experienced members here and someone who I go to, along with Jill/Alex, when I need help.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know if you saw Libby's response to your question about dose. She posted shortly after you asked what to do:
Libby & Lucy said:
I have to post quickly because I'm at work. Today's numbers were good, so I would hold them same dose and monitor. If you would feel better shooting less that is up to you. Some people like to do that after a surgery if the cat is not eating normally.
Libby is one of the most experienced members here and someone who I go to, along with Jill/Alex, when I need help.


I'm so sorry , thanks for letting me know , I really didn't see Libby's reply, sure she is one of the best here .. I was really worried so this post might slipped out of me while refreshing . I'm sorry really exhausted and worried.


Now Noni is breathing so fast and her tummy is moving up so quickly while breathing.. I'm afraid that should could be allergic to Betadox as it contains Amoxillin nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

If she is breathing really fast, you may need to take her to the ER. I would call them and see what they say.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Maybe you should just take her to the hospital, now, if she is still breathing fast.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

How is she doing? Is she running a fever? I dont like that they sent her home without painkillers and I wonder if this is related to that too.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Dyana said:
Maybe you should just take her to the hospital, now, if she is still breathing fast.


She just ate a little, and now licking herself i took off the cone . and watching her closely not to come near her tummy

now we don't have ER its 4:25 am all vets are closed in Kuwait at 8 pm :( that's really bad I know .
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
How is she doing? Is she running a fever? I dont like that they sent her home without painkillers and I wonder if this is related to that too.


I know , I asked for pain killer and instead he gave me antibiotic the day of the surgery
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Well licking herself and eating sounds like she isn't in too much distress, so I'm relieved to hear that.

I'll see you in the morning. Wishing Noni a good night, and some sleep for you. Don't forget to put the cone back on.
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

breathing rate is 44/per min while shes a wake
 
Re: 11/08 Noni PMPS~360 +1~331.2 (dose reduce to 1.5u)

Dyana said:
Well licking herself and eating sounds like she isn't in too much distress, so I'm relieved to hear that.

I'll see you in the morning. Wishing Noni a good night, and some sleep for you. Don't forget to put the cone back on.


thanks Dyana, this is calming me down now .. see you soon .. I wont let her and go sleep without the cone .

thanks a gain .. have a good night
 
+11 ~ 266

I'm taking her to the vet within an hour, spook to the vet about her breathing and asked me to bring her to the hospital.
 
I'm glad she is getting to the vet. I am wishing you wise vet vines to help her to breath normal, and to give you some pain meds for her. Are you planning to give the insulin at +12 in an hour?
 
Dyana said:
I'm glad she is getting to the vet. I am wishing you wise vet vines to help her to breath normal, and to give you some pain meds for her. Are you planning to give the insulin at +12 in an hour?


I was waiting for your advice ? do you think i better give 1.5 U instead of 2.5? its due in 30 mins
 
This is what I'm thinking. Normally, I would want you to stick with the protocol which would have you staying with the 2.5 dose until she earns a dosecrease by going under 40. Since she just got out of surgery and doesn't need the steep dives in BG right now along with her other conditions, and trying to keep her as calm and stable as possible. I would go with 2 units and try to stay with that dose. Hopefully that will be a good dose for her for now. What do you think?
Would you feel comfortable with that?
 
Dyana said:
This is what I'm thinking. Normally, I would want you to stick with the protocol which would have you staying with the 2.5 dose until she earns a dosecrease by going under 40. Since she just got out of surgery and doesn't need the steep dives in BG right now along with her other conditions, and trying to keep her as calm and stable as possible. I would go with 2 units and try to stay with that dose. Hopefully that will be a good dose for her for now. What do you think?
Would you feel comfortable with that?


Since shes going to the vet I believe she will get high numbers. but yet she will be taken to the oxygen case for breathing issue as vet just told me and again the pain killer, and while she's out she won't be eating much or not eating at all for few hours i hope.

so don't you think 1.5 is easier to handle now ?
 
I didn't realize she was going to be gone for awhile.
Will you have a chance to feed her before you leave, and how long will she be gone for, approximately? Is it a 2 hour drive each way?
 
Dyana said:
I didn't realize she was going to be gone for awhile.
Will you have a chance to feed her before you leave, and how long will she be gone for, approximately? Is it a 2 hour drive each way?


No its 2 hours drive both ways in total. I will try to feed her now after the shot. + the time there so maybe 3 hours I hope

so go with the 1.5 U ?
 
I meant what is her bg number now?

If you feel most comfortable with the 1.50, then go with what feels right in your gut, your instincts. We can always raise the dose later.

Please open a new condo for today, with her 11/09 Noni AMPS number and add a link to this thread from yesterday to the first post.

Let us know how she is eating, and anything else you observe about her.

Best Of Luck at the vet, and sending the wisest of vet vines. Don't forget to get some pain meds. Won't the doctor let you give them yourself, or do you have to drive 1 hour away each time?
 
Dyana said:
I meant what is her bg number now?

If you feel most comfortable with the 1.50, then go with what feels right in your gut, your instincts. We can always raise the dose later.

Please open a new condo for today, with her 11/09 Noni AMPS number and add a link to this thread from yesterday to the first post.

Let us know how she is eating, and anything else you observe about her.

Best Of Luck at the vet, and sending the wisest of vet vines. Don't forget to get some pain meds. Won't the doctor let you give them yourself, or do you have to drive 1 hour away each time?


it just dropped down to PMPS~ 207 ? 1.5 U and I have to run now cuz i'm 20 mins late
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top