jldnvjld
Member Since 2010
Yesterday was my first attempt at a BG curve. Junga certainly got tired of my messing with his ear.
At the a.m. +2 mark he had a 58; that was the lowest measured all day, most likely because I fed him some HC at that point.
Our HC issues:
Junga has a presumed wheat/corn/? allergy, with throwing up and itchy rashes as symptoms. As I don't want him to throw up when his blood glucose is low, and I don't want him to get so itchy that I have to give him cortisone (steroid) baths, I am experimenting with grain-free HC alternatives. Laurie says the Wellness pouches (MC) are grain-free; I'm going to look for them.
Now that I have some numbers on Junga's SS, I'm fishing for some numbers:
1. What would be a good 'no-shot' PS number? I've been skipping lots of his shots, and I really don't know what's best. I just don't want him to have a low when I'm not there to monitor him. I work and so I'm away from the house during weekdays, and not always home all day on the weekends.
2. Dosage suggestions? I gather that since I didn't let his BG go below 50 that he didn't 'earn' a reduction, but he clearly felt crummy at 58, and as of yesterday I didn't have a good way of bringing his BG back up, so I was worried when I saw that 58. I hope the experts will forgive the truncated nadir this time.
Thanks,
Yesterday's conversation:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29252
J.
At the a.m. +2 mark he had a 58; that was the lowest measured all day, most likely because I fed him some HC at that point.
Our HC issues:
Junga has a presumed wheat/corn/? allergy, with throwing up and itchy rashes as symptoms. As I don't want him to throw up when his blood glucose is low, and I don't want him to get so itchy that I have to give him cortisone (steroid) baths, I am experimenting with grain-free HC alternatives. Laurie says the Wellness pouches (MC) are grain-free; I'm going to look for them.
Now that I have some numbers on Junga's SS, I'm fishing for some numbers:
1. What would be a good 'no-shot' PS number? I've been skipping lots of his shots, and I really don't know what's best. I just don't want him to have a low when I'm not there to monitor him. I work and so I'm away from the house during weekdays, and not always home all day on the weekends.
2. Dosage suggestions? I gather that since I didn't let his BG go below 50 that he didn't 'earn' a reduction, but he clearly felt crummy at 58, and as of yesterday I didn't have a good way of bringing his BG back up, so I was worried when I saw that 58. I hope the experts will forgive the truncated nadir this time.
Thanks,
Yesterday's conversation:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29252
J.