? 11/08 Eddie AMPS 290 +3 347 +5 283 +8 180 PMPS 58 @+12, 87 @+12.25, 95@12.5 +3.5 83 +4.5 77 +8 171

So, @ AM +8 we have a blue: 180. It's good timing because it's also larger snack time which will keep him going over into PM.
 
So, @ AM +8 we have a blue: 180. It's good timing because it's also larger snack time which will keep him going over into PM.
It matches the one blue from October 31st which was PM +8 which carried over in AMPS97, Nov 1. I'm thinking this is a healthier blue although perhaps a bounce is to come...Anyway, he's a happy boy today. Much improved.
 
@Wendy&Neko
Well, this is both surprising and not. But anyway here we are.

PMPS 58. Stalling. Sticky: "if your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)"

I'll test Blue and then test again. Should I give HC gravy now?
 
Here is the bit from Handling Lower Preshot Numbers Sticky (note, I'm considering the 58 AT to be sort of 40's human meter):

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
 
Here is the bit from Handling Lower Preshot Numbers Sticky (note, I'm considering the 58 AT to be sort of 40's human meter):

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
test often. Yes, about to do that. "Catch the rise the minute it starts": let's say it does. Do I give full dose? A reminder: we just increased to 16u this morning.
 
Here is the bit from Handling Lower Preshot Numbers Sticky (note, I'm considering the 58 AT to be sort of 40's human meter):

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Ok, we've got 87 now. Can I feed and shoot?
@Wendy&Neko
I'll be monitoring.
 
Hi Jodey, he rose from 58 to 87 without food, right? And you're using an AT2?
I think you can shoot the full dose, but he has earned a reduction with that drop to 58.
 
Hi Jodey, he rose from 58 to 87 without food, right? And you're using an AT2?
I think you can shoot the full dose, but he has earned a reduction with that drop to 58.
Hi Bhooma, I took the plunge and shot the full dose. It's weird if he's earned a reduction because it was only this morning that I did the increase. He was on 14u and this morning we went to 16u (you might recall prior to his radiation therapy he was on 27u. He had radiation two weeks ago).
Thanks so much, Bhooma.
I'll be monitoring him for sure tonight.
And, yes, he went to 87 without food.
 
Never a dull moment with a sugarcat, huh?! :smuggrin:

How much did you shoot? 14U? Looks like he responded to the increase in the very first cycle.
 
Never a dull moment with a sugarcat, huh?! :smuggrin:

How much did you shoot? 14U? Looks like he responded to the increase in the very first cycle.
I increased this morning to 16u so I took that shot. I'll monitor him overnight and see where we are at AMPS.

And right you are about the lack of dull moments. :rolleyes::cat:
 
Am waiting to hear. Not sure where you went.
Sorry, but I don't hang out on FDMB full time. I posted the part from the Sticky Notes so you'd have something to refer to. I'm glad you shot, but as Bhooma said, that 58 earned a reduction back to 14 units.

Today showed you a pretty classic Levemir cycle, with a later nadir.
 
Sorry, but I don't hang out on FDMB full time. I posted the part from the Sticky Notes so you'd have something to refer to. I'm glad you shot, but as Bhooma said, that 58 earned a reduction back to 14 units.

Today showed you a pretty classic Levemir cycle, with a later nadir.
I had already taken the shot at the new dose. Does this mean that tomorrow take the reduction??? Have I put Eddie in danger by not taking a reduction?
 
Hi Jodey, did you get a +2? As long as you are monitoring, you have the means to keep him safe.
And yes, tomorrow you would go down to 14U.
Hi Bhooma, I just got PM +3.5. Because Eddie's on Levemir and not Lantus, it always takes at least +3.5 or even +4 to register and even then it's usually higher than pre-shot.
But obviously tonight is not like any other night. So, @ 3.5 83 and to keep safe, I have given him 3.5 TBSP LC. I'll test again at +4.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom Ok, it's PM +4.5 77. I've given 2TBSP LC + 1/2 TSP HC because he seems to be dropping even though he ate @PM+3.5

What do you think, Bhooma?? this is making me a bit nervous since he has been reaching nadirs around +11 or even +12...as we see tonight.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom Bhooma!! I set the alarm for PM +7 and just woke with a start at +8!! I had set the alarm for PM rather than AM. Anyway, I jumped up and tested Eddie! Phew. @PM +8 171. So gave some LC.
What a shock! Thanks, Bhooma, always, for being there!! I'll do earned reduction this morning.
 
Back
Top