11/08 Boomer AMPS 175 PMPS 326 +3 308 Allen had another seizure

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 175 shooting 2.75u
Will be testing at +1.5 before we go out the door to go to DH's appt. I really hope Boomer behaves himself today.

Boomer ate well last night and scored a bit of higher carb ff at +3 and again at +5

Allen ate ok last night. He's very quiet and still; not moving around too much. I brought him in with DH and I this morning (we always have our first coffee in bed) and he laid between us. I need to read Tanya's info on anemia today and come up with a plan because Dr Larry believes that treating the pancreatitis with fluids will resolve the anemia issue; I'm not believing it. And it may not even be the pancreatitis that is causing the anemia; CKD does it too, the pancreatic tumour could be causing it, and apparently the p-binder that we use could be causing it. Or, more than likely, a combination of all of the above.

We will be leaving in about half an hour to go to DH's appt. Hopefully we will then receive his treatment schedule.

Today's photo is of a Song Sparrow!
 

Attachments

  • Song Sparrow 06.jpg
    Song Sparrow 06.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 77
Thinking about and praying for you all, Judy :bighug:❤️ I read with interest what Lizzie has to say about anemia/Epogen and am following you and Allen... thank you for sharing , as you are helping me and civvie Chris in doing so ❤️.
 
Vines for a good appointment with DH. :bighug:

Nice to see green last night Boomer. Keep on going back to the lagoon, but you are allowed a little bounce today.

If EPO is in your future, I remember a cat dad at Neko’s IM vet clinic saying it was cheaper at Costco. He would buy it there and bring into the vet’s office. Seems cat dad and I visited the IM vet around the same times for a while. :rolleyes:
 
Vines for a good appointment with DH. :bighug:

Nice to see green last night Boomer. Keep on going back to the lagoon, but you are allowed a little bounce today.

If EPO is in your future, I remember a cat dad at Neko’s IM vet clinic saying it was cheaper at Costco. He would buy it there and bring into the vet’s office. Seems cat dad and I visited the IM vet around the same times for a while. :rolleyes:
Thanks Wendy!
 
Last edited:
We're back finally; Dr was over an hour late:rolleyes: I'll be back with info but right now feeling totally overwhelmed and more than a little shaky.

Oh....left Allen with a small buffet and he was CPC when I got home and laying near the dish. I feel bad; I totally didn't expect him to eat that much. Of course I didn't expect that we would be away as long as we were either. Obviously I fed him right away so he's eaten a bit more.

And Boomer is due for a +6 test in 40 minutes.
 
My head is just spinning. From what the urologist had said, both DH and I figured that the "plan of action" was already decided and we thought treatments would likely start next week. The urologist had said that normally it's hormones and 10 days of radiation.

Anyways, not starting treatment yet. They are sending Greg for a liver ultrasound because during the last CT scan they saw something in the liver they want to investigate further (we knew about it but they didn't think it was metastasized prostate cancer). And they’re sending him for another CT scan because they want a current one and his last one was a month ago. Then he will likely receive hormone treatments which are for 2 months (not sure of the number of them). Then 29 days of radiation. Then hormone treatments for the next 2 years. He also may qualify for a clinical trial where they imbed radioactive beads into the prostate which allow for stronger radiation treatments. And they are very concerned that it has metastasized so the Dr is speaking to a board along with the urologist so that they can decide whether they should start treating him for mestastized cancer (I really don’t know what this means as far as treatment). They sent us home with a binder (literally) filled with information. Greg is feeling very frustrated that this has been going on for about 3 months now and he still hasn’t had any type of treatment. And I'm feeling totally overwhelmed right now.
 
Sending many prayers , Judy :bighug: You are enduring what i term a “ pile on” Praying the doctors get with it and move ahead quickly . No more foot dragging . Strength and mind peace to you and DH ❤️ Not like you need more info but maybe add to your research Essiac tea. We used it successfully when DH and DM were diagnosed with cancer. Also used it with our sweet bird dog .
 
Last edited:
I am sorry Judy that you didn't get the plan yet.:( It is important for them to know exactly what they are dealing with as it may change the protocol and/or treatment plan. It is the worst part of the process - the hurry up and wait. :bighug::bighug: It was 3 weeks from discovery to ultrasound/biopsy for me. Another month until I had surgery. 6 weeks to heal and then start chemo. There were other ladies that were still doing further testing by the time I started chemo.

That said, it sounds like they are offering the latest treatment options. If you can qualify for a clinical trial - take it!!! You get way better follow up after treatment and not kicked back out to the GP again. You stay in the care of the specialists for quite a while after!


Glad to hear Allen is feeling better after his spa day yesterday. :smuggrin:
 
Well we just had a real scare. Allen was in the litter box and had a seizure. I was out of the room making a phone call, DH saw it happen. Was holding Allen when I came out (I heard the top of the litter box go flying). I took Allen but he struggled, I put him down and he started walking in circles. Then laid down, his head was shaking, he panted a bit. I told DH I didn't think Allen could see. DH and I agreed it was time and I called Dr Larry and we took him in right away. Larry agreed that Allen could not see but told us that often within a few hours sight came back. So even though we had decided to say goodbye to Allen, we brought him home. And....I offered him some food and he went right to it. Ate, turned around walked a few steps then laid down. Then turned and went right back to the food. I got him some more and put the plate in a different spot....he went right to it then to his bed by the fireplace. He can see again!
 
I can understand that they want current scan results. I hope it's scheduled quickly! You and Greg are sort of in "no man's land" right now and the waiting is truly the hardest part after receiving a cancer diagnosis. It sounds like the doctor is presenting the findings to what we call here in the US a tumor board. I have always read that prostate cancer is a very slow growing cancer so I hope this is true for Greg. I am not a patient person so I would not be able to not yell at the dr. for how slowly they seem to be acting! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well we just had a real scare. Allen was in the litter box and had a seizure. I was out of the room making a phone call, DH saw it happen. Was holding Allen when I came out (I heard the top of the litter box go flying). I took Allen but he struggled, I put him down and he started walking in circles. Then laid down, his head was shaking, he panted a bit. I told DH I didn't think Allen could see. DH and I agreed it was time and I called Dr Larry and we took him in right away. Larry agreed that Allen could not see but told us that often within a few hours sight came back. So even though we had decided to say goodbye to Allen, we brought him home. And....I offered him some food and he went right to it. Ate, turned around walked a few steps then laid down. Then turned and went right back to the food. I got him some more and put the plate in a different spot....he went right to it then to his bed by the fireplace. He can see again!
How very scary it is when they start having seizures!! I am glad that he pulled out of it quickly and seems to be better now. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Many more prayers....Trixie had a seizure once, too...very scary. For her it was a one-time event that happened about a year before she crossed. Praying it doesn’t happen with Allen again.
 
Oh Judy :bighug::bighug:

I am sure it feels like the world is closing in on you. I hope you are taking good care of yourself through all of this. I will pray for all of you. Peaceful, healing prayers :bighug:
 
(((Judy)))

I haven't been on the Board much lately, so just got caught up with all you're going through. My goodness, it's a lot! First, strong healing vines for your DH, and hugs to you. Second, more strong healing vines for Allen and more hugs for you (some for DH, too). Hang in there!!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
PMPS 326 shooting 2.75u
Allen had a tiny seizure about an hour ago and then had a big one about 30 minutes later.
DH held him until he came out of it.
Afterwards he was ravenous. Has eaten 3 helpings of food.
Dr Larry didn't think it was his hypoglycaemia because, to quote Larry, Allen's body is used to low bg so it shouldn't cause seizures.
idk. I'm not so sure. But because of his insulinoma, any higher carb food we give (or syrup) just forces the insulinoma to drop even more insulin into him.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Judy! I'm getting to the board quite late today and am terribly sorry to hear that your DH needs more tests and scans before he can begin treatment. Sending him lots of strong vines and hoping that the results of the tests will lead quickly to the right course of treatment. Courage!

I hope Allen will be OK now and that the vets will give him the meds he needs. So much uncertainty! Sending vines for Allen that there will be no more seisures.

Boomer, you have a big job to do: you have to be the rock on which your family can lean.
 
Back
Top