11/05 Henry AMPS 87 +3.5 86 +6 70 +10 73 PMPS 79 +3.5 84 +6 81

Henry at AMPS +7



IMG_20221105_125618.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221105_125618.jpg
    IMG_20221105_125618.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 122
@tiffmaxee

Henry has vomited at the following times last 24 hours

PMPS +1 - Yesterday

Today - AMPS +2 & AMPS + 11 For a total of three events in about 24 hours

Something has change and this feeling I have has been in my mind for about three weeks now

Do you have any thoughts?

Thank You


Current picture of him after vomit event 15 minutes ago
IMG_20221105_165126.jpg

 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221105_165126.jpg
    IMG_20221105_165126.jpg
    129.4 KB · Views: 128
With his suddenly picky appetite and now vomiting I suspect there’s a chance of pancreatitis or perhaps an intestinal issue. I’d be making a vet appointment and if it continues have labs including a SpecFPL test. When were they last done?
 
With his suddenly picky appetite and now vomiting I suspect there’s a chance of pancreatitis or perhaps an intestinal issue. I’d be making a vet appointment and if it continues have labs including a SpecFPL test. When were they last done?
Last lab 18 months or so back

Explain SpecFPL lab?

I'm going to take him to IndyVet (https://indyvet.com/) tomorrow (24 hour/7days Facility) for lab work I knew having lab work done was my next move (Must Situation)
 
The SpecfPL is an add on blood test that tests for pancreatitis. Sone vets choose to run the in house SNAP test. The only problem with it is it will register negative if in the grey zone. The one went to the lab gives a number so if in the gray zone you know pancreatitis is still possible. After about 7 years it’s good to run annual labs. Good luck tomorrow. I hope a all tests are normal. :bighug:
 
The SpecfPL is an add on blood test that tests for pancreatitis. Sone vets choose to run the in house SNAP test. The only problem with it is it will register negative if in the grey zone. The one went to the lab gives a number so if in the gray zone you know pancreatitis is still possible. After about 7 years it’s good to run annual labs. Good luck tomorrow. I hope a all tests are normal. :bighug:

Henry is not lethargic he jumps from top of the table to his favorite bench (3 feet away) and then proceeds to clean up after the meal
 
Well something is causing him to vomit. Hairballs?
Here's the run-down over the last three weeks and this feeling I have
  1. Yes several vomits in the first two weeks of the last three - and yes primarily hairballs but they were days apart
  2. But during these hairball ball events that's when he would walk away from the meals and consume lower than normal calories
  3. In between the events he was back to normal eating
  4. Now Henry was outside most of the daylight hours when this was going on and so he would proceed to eat grass which also showed up in the vomit
  5. Honestly he appears to be more engaged today than yesterday so I really do sense he's feeling better BUT I'm still going to get the lab work done tomorrow regardless of costs not a problem here
  6. Yesterday and today no hairballs just a yellowish vomit
  7. Now Henry ate about 40 calories at the PMPS preshot (bg reading 79) if he's going to throw this up it will be 2 to 3 hours later
  8. But you know never ignore your gut feeling - I could be little over reactive but tomorrow is a go
 
Here is:
A Primer On Pancreatitis

Is it possible he has become allergic to something in his food? Maybe you want to keep a food journal and see if certain foods are making him vomit.

Here's a list of various reasons for vomiting from Tanya's CKD website:
http://felinecrf.org/symptoms_treatments_index.htm#V
  1. Actually Bhooma I have been discussing that very subject of allergic reaction to food with my wife and I'll tell you why I brought that subject up we have been in panic mode for him to have some food in his system to counter the insulin injection
  2. And Yes we have tried halve of dozen food alternatives with little success and I said Kay (Wife) I think this is messing his stomach up
  3. So, I bought some Gerber baby food today (HAM) thinking this would be bland and have been spoon feeding (Little at a time) since PMPS - I figured a little at a time not to overwhelm him
  4. So far Henry is holding the that food down and his demeanor is getting better thru out the evening - it appears to be working keep fingers crossed
  5. I'm still going to have lab done on him because its been a while and it should be annual event
  6. The picture above is Henry relaxing after being fed Gerber Baby Food and still is showing the comfortable state as I write this post
  7. So glad you responded Thank You
 
@Bandit's Mom

Bhooma remember I mentioned that I thought Henry was getting tad too much insulin.
  1. I got this premonition that his insulin is too high and I mention this to my wife
  2. This led to my first reduction 12 days ago and I still thought it might be to high but was going to let it ride for a while
  3. You chimed in and said you do not have to wait for 10 days that 7 days was fine I knew that to be true
  4. Then Henry vomited again and I said I think he still might have a little to much still
  5. Then the BG of 41 happen the next day and said that's it I'm dropping another 1/4 again
  6. My fear of too much insulin has diminished some what and that started my discussion of food allergies with my wife
  7. I'm not exactly mainstream with respect to the general population I will dedicate of dozens of hours of thoughts to try solve what might confront me in the moment (Henry)
  8. I very analytical and will research in great depths for my Henry without hesitation
  9. I just checked his BG reading of 81 @PMPS +6
 
Hi Robert, I'm no expert but I'm not sure vomiting is a sign of hypoglycemia. I also don't see it listed in the sticky on hypos (https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/). Which is not to say that Henry was headed for a lower dose. I saw your previous condos with your thoughts on why you think Henry needs less insulin. Sometimes the pancreas just decides it wants to contribute more insulin and the cat needs less extraneous insulin. There is no other explanation.

As an example, if you will look at Tyler's SS below. He went into remission 2.5 years after his diagnosis! His pancreas just decided to wake up and take charge!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...fuYRd2GEbaSAQYgIZdP1MStkxlkWJt_8GYHlm/pubhtml

Maybe you are seeing something similar happen with Henry?

I hope you get answers to the vomiting question in the labs and vet visit. You are a great dad. I'm sure you will not rest till you get to the bottom of the issue. :)
 
Hi Robert, I'm no expert but I'm not sure vomiting is a sign of hypoglycemia. I also don't see it listed in the sticky on hypos (https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/). Which is not to say that Henry was headed for a lower dose. I saw your previous condos with your thoughts on why you think Henry needs less insulin. Sometimes the pancreas just decides it wants to contribute more insulin and the cat needs less extraneous insulin. There is no other explanation.

As an example, if you will look at Tyler's SS below. He went into remission 2.5 years after his diagnosis! His pancreas just decided to wake up and take charge!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...fuYRd2GEbaSAQYgIZdP1MStkxlkWJt_8GYHlm/pubhtml

Maybe you are seeing something similar happen with Henry?

I hope you get answers to the vomiting question in the labs and vet visit. You are a great dad. I'm sure you will not rest till you get to the bottom of the issue. :)

  1. Yes Hypoglycemia does in fact cause vomiting no question about it HANDS DOWN
  2. My brother-in-law is a type one and have witnessed several HYPO moments with him and in all cases he vomited and in addition to that he was incoherent
  3. At that point his wife set me down and proceeded to tell what to do with him if that were to happen again and it was just me and him
  4. I now know what to do if the hypo event were to occur in my presents
  5. So YES hypo events do lead to vomiting
 
Last edited:
IMG_20221106_003027.jpg
IMG_20221106_003010.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221106_003027.jpg
    IMG_20221106_003027.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_20221106_003010.jpg
    IMG_20221106_003010.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 99
Back
Top