? 11/05 Eddie AMPS 304 +8 313 PMPS 322 +8 256

Dear Eddie, let’s both try to see blue numbers today and get rid of stinky pinkies, ok? Love, Ivy :bighug::bighug:
Have a nice Sunday, Jodey :)
 
@Wendy&Neko The IM vet had a question for me based on what we were discussing re: retest for IGF-1 (because I'm seeing him on Tuesday to talk about the test and the possibility of Cabergoline on the horizon):

He says, "If it true that 'It is known that SRT may not reduce production of IGF-1, though it does impact GH'. then how would we know what it does except MRI and clinical response? What would remeasuring the IGF-1 test tell us, if there may not be a correlation?"

It's a fair question and I guess it speaks to the fact that there is so much still unknown about acromegaly and the endocrine system. So many vets, IM vets, pituitary surgery, neurologists, etc do not agree on any one thing...
 
And also speaks to the advice I was given which was, don't bother getting additional IGF-1 tests done. The results don't tell you anything actionable. The vast majority of people here (maybe all?) have not gotten additional IGF-1 tests done before starting cabergoline. Only in research studies were they testing IGF-1. It only makes sense to test it if being done for the first time. Reducing GH reduces some acro symptoms and insulin dose. Don't bother with MRI either. Besides requiring anaesthesia, highly not recommended!!, it also won't tell you anything actionable. Reduced output of IGF-1 would be a good thing. Increased IGF-1 still has side effects in their bodies, such as soft tissue growth.

You are so right, there are so many unknowns about acromegalic cats, and sadly, little research being done.
 
And also speaks to the advice I was given which was, don't bother getting additional IGF-1 tests done. The results don't tell you anything actionable. The vast majority of people here (maybe all?) have not gotten additional IGF-1 tests done before starting cabergoline. Only in research studies were they testing IGF-1. It only makes sense to test it if being done for the first time. Reducing GH reduces some acro symptoms and insulin dose. Don't bother with MRI either. Besides requiring anaesthesia, highly not recommended!!, it also won't tell you anything actionable. Reduced output of IGF-1 would be a good thing. Increased IGF-1 still has side effects in their bodies, such as soft tissue growth.

You are so right, there are so many unknowns about acromegalic cats, and sadly, little research being done.
I've not heard this anywhere but I'm wondering if there is not some (numerical?) ratio existing between IGF-1 and GH that might be discoverable? able to be hypothesized at least?
Anyway, going to speak with IM vet tomorrow about his BG, his IGF-1 and if/when Cabergoline. Is it time? If not, because of SRT working in the background, how long?
 
Back
Top