11/04 Henry PMPS 41 +1 51 +2 51 +2.5 55 +3 52 +3.5 55 +4 61 +5 72 +7 79

Golf2015

Member Since 2020
11/04 Henry AMPS 74 +5.5 73 PMPS 41 +1 51 +2 51 +2.5 55 +3 52 +3.5 55 +4 61 +5 72 + 7 79

I dropped Henry's dosage from 2.0 to 1.75 units due to the PMPS reading of 41 today

I will check in one hour PMPS +1 for next reading - Fed Henry Medium carbs wet food at PMPS

Put KARO around his gums

Henry threw up his PMPS meal

He will not be out of my sight until BG readings move up to MID normal reading and the trend indicates futures reading will be fine.

These readings of last two months and particularly the last two weeks are unprecedented for Henry I'm entering a new phase of learning with respect to this sudden change

I'm puzzle as to why the sudden drop He's been so stable for 18 months it's a bit confusing

The forum needs to get engaged as to why this is happening
 
Last edited:
It is not recommended anyone shoot a preshot that is lower than 50… even very experienced people don’t do it.
You are going to have to monitor him very closely this cycle. I would start with a +1 and a +2
What food have you given him since he vomited?
I would recommend you give him some high carb food to get him up into safe numbers. At the moment you have no wriggle room at all if he starts dropping at onset.
 
It is not recommended anyone shoot a preshot that is lower than 50… even very experienced people don’t do it.
You are going to have to monitor him very closely this cycle. I would start with a +1 and a +2
What food have you given him since he vomited?
I would recommend you give him some high carb food to get him up into safe numbers. At the moment you have no wriggle room at all if he starts dropping at onset.
Bron I was told several months back since Henry has been diabetic for over two years 40 was the new 50 Is this correct
 
Bron I was told several months back since Henry has been diabetic for over two years 40 was the new 50 Is this correct
Henry vomited the PMPS high Carb meal so a applied KARO Syrup on is gums and around the exterior of his mouth so he would lick it clean
 
Bron I was told several months back since Henry has been diabetic for over two years 40 was the new 50 Is this correct
In relation to reductions…a long term diabetic cat needs to drop under 40 to get a reduction (not 50 like a newly diagnosed cat).
But as far as shooting under 50, no…we don’t recommend anyone shoot with a preshot under 50. You would need to stall and see if the BG is rising above 50 or skip the dose.

Henry vomited the PMPS high Carb meal so a applied KARO Syrup on is gums and around the exterior of his mouth so he would lick it clean
I would get another BG now and try and get him to eat some food.
It is important that we have his BG high enough for when onset hits.
 
Henry relaxing at the current moment



IMG_20221104_191728.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221104_191728.jpg
    IMG_20221104_191728.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 176
Feed some more mc and I would check in 30 minutes.
Henry is not eating the wet food

Alternatives is karo & very high hard food tried MC wet he walk away

If you have others suggestions I'm all ears

I just laced his gums lightly with Karo
 
Good. He should be fine as long as he stays over 40 but you do want him higher as it’s early and far from nadir.
 
Henry looking out the window as I'm posting this pic


IMG_20221104_201104.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221104_201104.jpg
    IMG_20221104_201104.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 167
Now I have give him a few kibbles of the high carb and he ate those (three to four at a time)
 
Is that a recent development after he was offered dry?
I'm not sure I understand your question?

OK I understand now

NO, Henry has been eating less food in the last two weeks and this food has been wet only It's like he's burnout on the wet. The dry was offer as a last ditch effort to get something in his system I knew he has to have something to counter the insulin. (Dry was today only)
 
Has he been eating the wet food ok until this morning?
He consume most of his allotted calories @ AMPS pretty much nothing for the remaining 11 hours today. His eating habits lately to be more in sync with the other three cats they go for hours between each meal

Now at 5:30pm - 30 minutes before PMPS his poop was solid but PMPS +1 he has diarrhea
 
He looks good. Get him to eat a little more of whatever he will eat. It might be a long night.
I'm going to give you folks some idea what I think is going on lately in last two months but more specific the last three weeks.

Henry is eating with more time between each session (several hours) - more in line with the others three cats
It appears he is changing his eating habits before he was having his meals through the curve - no longer the case

My gut is telling me due to the change in his eating habits of late his change is forcing reevaluation of his insulin requirements - just a thought
 
Last edited:
Was he eating late in the cycle before? If so i think you are on to something.
  1. Henry would eat at 11:30 am & pm He been acting like he is full whereas he was faithly eating at those times now it is more miss than hits
  2. Also Henry would eat a small meal at 3:00am & pm now that is more misses than hits
  3. So, his eating has changed to twice a day maybe but maybe an occasion treat during the night or day
  4. His calories intake is down from the past
  5. I have been weighing him due to calorie intake being somewhat lower
  6. I posted his weight chart on the previous thread
  7. Henry has lost (3) ounces in the last two weeks
  8. Vet said sometime back 16 pounds was his ideal weight I have him on a 17 pound calorie diet for last 18 months but no movement until now with this change in his eating habits
  9. This has been my prevailing thought in the last three weeks
 
He seems to be surfing. See if he wants his usual lc.
No luck he does not want his low carb wet

Its like he's thinking I'm sick and I do not feel like eating the wet now

I suspect that there is some truth in the above statement
 
He seems to be surfing. See if he wants his usual lc.
In addition to my thoughts below I really think their is one more dynamic in play my sense is Henry's pancreas has tick up a notch with respect to insulin production.

So, my feeling is two events might be in play with this sudden change - just a thought but I'm not going to discount this thought it could be true.

  1. Henry would eat at 11:30 am & pm He been acting like he is full whereas he was faithly eating at those times now it is more miss than hits
  2. Also Henry would eat a small meal at 3:00am & pm now that is more misses than hits
  3. So, his eating has changed to twice a day maybe but maybe an occasion treat during the night or day
  4. His calories intake is down from the past
  5. I have been weighing him due to calorie intake being somewhat lower
  6. I posted his weight chart on the previous thread
  7. Henry has lost (3) ounces in the last two weeks
  8. Vet said sometime back 16 pounds was his ideal weight I have him on a 17 pound calorie diet for last 18 months but no movement until now with this change in his eating habits
  9. This has been my prevailing thought in the last three weeks
 
Back
Top