11/03 Tiggy PMBG 49.. PMPS 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

Tiggy is very active and playful. However I am wondering if this is a bounce or a failed reduction. Its been over 72 hours since the 36.

I don't see any more greens by tomorrow, I think I go back to 6 units.

Wendy
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230

I have to agree Wendy. I know I'm not the most experienced eyes, but it looks like Tiggy may need a little more juice.

Maybe you should try 5.75 instead of going straight back to 6. I know if it's a failed reduction you generally go back to the last good dose, but since that 6 units took him into the 30's, it might be something you could try and see how he does.

Whatever you decide, I hope Tiggy reads his condo's and see's the dosecrease threat! Seems to work on lots of other kitties!! :-D
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

The threat of an increase seems to have worked it's magic again Wendy!!

Maybe we should all just threaten our cats once a day instead of doing all this work :lol:
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

I would take the reduction if it were me (and you know me..I'm a little more aggressive than most)

At those higher doses, I'd think it'd be even more important to pay attention to those kinds of drops. You could go down to 5.25 instead of taking the whole .5 reduction if you want to see how he'd do, or wait until he goes under 50 on 3 separate cycles since he's a long term diabetic.
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

I usually wait for three drops under 50 since one drop under 50 has typically failed in the past, but I remember Dale or Sienne saying something about a stall meaning a decrease anyway?

Wendy
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49 +.5 50 Stall

Still stalling another 30 minutes- he just went to 50... not high enough yet.

Wendy
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

This is what you're looking for I think

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir, please be aware:
Shooting an hour or two early = that of a slight dose increase.
Shooting an hour or two late = that of a slight dose reduction.

The question is, how much is a "slight" dose reduction?
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

Keep on coming up Tiggy - and we mean more than 1 pt!

From Tilley's page:
Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

Delaying a shot does act like a deduction. You are OK for the first half hour, but more delay may act like a one time reduction.
 
Up to 76. Shot 5.5.

Um. No that's not what I meant. I thought that a stall (being unable to shoot) meant a dose reduction was warranted? Or maybe I had imagined it. ...will hold 5.5 for now unless I hear otherwise

Wendy
 
I've never seen that Wendy

If you stall, you're just supposed to test frequently to catch it when the number starts to rise and then shoot

I can't find anything in either the modified protocol or the Tilly protocol that talks about stalling other than what I said earlier

Maybe Wendy will know (the other Wendy)
 
Re: 11/03 Tiggy AMPS 230 +4 180 + 11 65 PMBG 49.. Stall

Shooting late "behaves" like a reduction but doesn't in itself earn one. If fact it's often recommended to shoot the full dose after stalling because of that.

Even if he went below 40, it hasn't been 10 cycles since the last reduction, a special condition only for Tiggy for those wondering.

I'm still not convinced the last reduction is holding but this green may buy a few more cycles (for the last reduction) before increasing?

If you feel it's too low to shoot then you may reduce but I suspect that was a mistake on 8/31/13 when everyone thought that 45 at +12 meant reduce, but it didn't fit Tiggy's qualifications for a reduction. All this is keeping with the idea to run Tiggy "tighter" green, and only applies to him.
 
The stall by itself doesn't earn a dose reduction, unless you are stalling because the number is low enough to earn the reduction.
 
That makes sense now thanks. I did shoot the full dose and we will see how it goes. I don't know if the reduction is holding either, and I dont really want to reduce if I don't have to...

Thanks guys

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top