11.03.13 Shadow AMBG~65/60 +3.5~58 PMPS~108 +5~73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steven & Shadow

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Shadow's numbers were lower than they have been recently at AMPS. A retest 30 minutes later showed a lower number. Since I have family commitments this morning and cannot monitor him I decided not to give him his drop or two of insulin and fed him some LC wet food.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG 65/60

Morning Steven. Maybe this is a trial run of a trial? :lol: :lol:

those 2 numbers are basically the same number (especially given meter variance). You have to do what you are comfortable with. Can you do +2 or +3 after feeding to see if Shadow has brought himself down from the food? This will give you a chance to see what his body can do on its own without assistance...

.I am sure you will also leave some LC out for him when you leave. This is where those catsicles can come in handy.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG 65/60

I am not comfortable with giving Shadow insulin in the low 60's when I haven't done it before. Even so, if I couldn't be here to catch a real low number I wouldn't go there. Even though the second number was the same it wasn't rising so...no shot.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG 65/60

Absolutely you have to be comfortable. Shooting even a drop into a 60-something can be scary, I get it. You saw the +2, +3 referenced was a food test...to see if his little pancreas will bring him down on his own, yes?

This is what you would do if you started an official trial. You test a couple hours or so after they eat to see where numbers are going. It may take a little more/less time depending on cat..but if it is doing its job, numbers will of course still be lower with no insulin on board. You will get a peek at how he is doing on his own.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG 65/60 +3.5 58

I was able to drop by and test Shadow at AM+3.5 with no food since AMPS and no insulin this morning....58. Essentially unchanged since AMPS.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG 65/60 +3.5 58

Well you can't complain about these numbers no matter what!! :mrgreen:
Beautiful!!

See how things look when you are back or at PMPS
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG~65/60 +3.5~58 PMPS~108

Not too bad at all Steven for having skipped this morning. Still all great numbers.
I see you shot the .10 tonight. Keeping him with a little more support for awhile cannot hurt. If he earns a reduction then the timing dictates itself.
Otherwise would be great to get some more eyes and feedback on timing and proceeding.

Do you think you have 2 drops in this dose and could reduce to 1 or shave for a reduction if needed?

Another awesome day for Shadow!
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG~65/60 +3.5~58 PMPS~108

Beautiful surf in the green lagoon today Steven, especially without shooting!!

Shadow is doing so great..now you just have to keep him away from the treats and the syrup :lol:
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG~65/60 +3.5~58 PMPS~108

Shadow's 0.1u dose amounts to two smallish drops at best, although it does seem to does seem to keep him in the mid to high greens. Until I started the home testing, starting at his diagnosis I was giving him from one to two units twice a day, depending on what his infrequent tests at the vet looked like. I also used the Glucotest squares as a check so he doesn't get hyperglycemic which these squares can catch if you use them all the time. One time the vet told me to knock it down to one unit once a day for awhile, but a few months of this ended abruptly when his sugar started to rise again big time due to a bout with pancreatitis and mild, if there is such a thing, DKA. It is clear that home testing seems to be the only way real way to warn of possible hypoglycemia, which is how I got here, and it will of course warn of hyperglycemia too. Even if Shadow eventually goes OTJ, I will still test regularly because of the possibility of a recurrence of his pancreatitis issues.
 
Re: 11.03.13 Shadow AMBG~65/60 +3.5~58 PMPS~108

I didn't realize you had a DKA scare. :o
Wonder why the test squares (i never used these) didn't catch the lows..you were never signaled the dose being too high per those?
From that to this. Clearly he has come a long way. Yes he would be a great poster child for home testing.
He sure has responded beautifully once the doses were lowered. He didn't need much.

We still home test but not as often as we once did. I need to remind myself. It really is a great way to catch things in the early stage.

Exciting times. I bet your Mom is ecstatic with with what you have accomplished.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top