11/02 Alska AMPS=349 +4=396 +6=420 PMPS=328

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Guess he is working through a bounce. He had some gloppy poop this morning.

I was all geared up to get a +6 last night but when I got up the civvies spotted something outside from the windows next to the bed and they all went scurrying. It scared Alska so he went under the bed which is unusual. The only way to get him out is to prod him so I left him. I made everything calm again so he could eventually come back on the bed.

I did notice that the Wellness Core chicken, turkey and liver is 8% carbs so I wonder if he needs to be below 5. I am going to feed him something else for a snack for a couple of days to see if there is any affect.
 
Re: 11/02 Alska AMPS=349 +4=396 +6=420

So I guess he just bounces through any insulin kicking in?
And I guess I don't base a dosage increase on bouncing numbers.
No reason to keep testing him today. Maybe tomorrow or next weekend he can tell me whether to go up to 2u.
 
Re: 11/02 Alska AMPS=349 +4=396

Robin,

I've been looking at his spreadsheet and yes he looks like you have a mini bounce and if you want to hold at 1.75 u for a full 2 weeks just to let him stop bouncing some that fine but I wouldn't hold it any longer than that.

While it was his last best dose he was still having as many yellows as he was greens on it he, So I think you are still going to have to increase his dose.

You don't want him to hang up there above the renal threshold any longer than necessary. That's where organ damage can occur.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and the Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/02 Alska AMPS=349 +4=396 +6=420

Yeah I don't like him hanging up there either. I do think that the difference between this time and the last time he was on 1.75u was his weight. He's a good heavy cat now (not overweight) and before he was still considered too skinny.

I really only want to wait ten days but I hate increasing his dose during the week when I am not home to watch him so I may just wait until next weekend. That would be 13 days I think. So I guess the meter on that decision would be to see how low he surfs after this bounce. Is that a good way to navigate it? I don't know... it just seems that he needs more insulin to get him down to those bragging numbers again.

They keep us dancing!

Thanks Mel for all of your great advice!
 
Re: 11/02 Alska AMPS=349 +4=396 +6=420

Now granted my girls were on Levemir so their curves were a little different than what you see with Lantus, but basically I watch from their curves to go flat before figuring the numbers were as good as they were going to get on a particular dose. The run a curve and based on that nadir decide how much to raise either fatten, .25 or .50

The other would be to pick Deb's brain on using a touch of R to take the edge off so the Lantus can get a hold but that might be fairly risky given your work schedule.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and the Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top